TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.4 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The tax file was not started in a tax directory, I could not begin by clicking Turbo Tax always wanted to start a new return. I always had to go to a directory and click on the tax file
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Excellent
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from how eays it was to use! i enjoyed using this product immensely, mainly due to the fact that it was very user friendly and easy to use, i will defiantly be using this more for next years tax's.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Saving Federal and State Tax to CD I have used TurboTax for years and I have had very few problems. There are a few pitfalls along the way, especially if at the end of the review and some errors are found. TTax will point out the error, but will give you very little information on how to correct it........in this regard you will have to use your own ideas, or go to online help. I think that at the very end when TTax asks you if you want to save the to a PDF file, it should also ask you if you would like to burn a CD copy for your records, just in case your hard drive crashes irrecoverably and you would lose all electronic copies of your return.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Somewhat awkward I like to address the issues I know apply first, then go back for the rest of the required information. Turbotax is great for that. It was a let-down, however, when printing my return to have the bottom of each page cut off AND to have no ability to shrink the pages on TT's print menu. Especially since so many people are e-filing, it's important to be able to get a good copy.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Question I have been troubled for years using TurboTax that you do not list a worksheet for the Simplified Method in your list of forms. There is one lost under Schedule A but it lacks adequate instructions i.e. Line 7 in the form says "Age Factor." It is not clear what this means. Please place a worksheet in the idex of forms and rework the complete instrutions .
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Program
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax is intuitive and straightforward. It gives information that is understandable to feel comfortable about inputting the correct figures.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Got my refund Put my disc in and it wouldn't load went to web site and got my free download. This was easy to do was well pleased.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could not do this without Turbotax Can't image doing my taxes without TurboTax. It guides me through a lot of stuff I can only barely begin to understand. I also like to use it to do some what if analysis and plan for the next year.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from glad it is done Turbo tax walks you through most every situation to make sure you don't leave anything out.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Great Many thanks for a really easy and complete way for us to file our income tax. Be Blessed!
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from what a way to pay taxes the business side of the tax forms are not very easy.
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Major problem Traditional IRA data did not transfer from previous year; consequently no form 8606 was generated. ???? Had to go into worksheet and manually enter previous year info to get it to work.
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great and Simple If you dont have complicated taxes and you are paying someone to do them for you, then you are making a massive mistake. Turbo Tax is cheap and easy and will get you just as much in your refund as any expensive accountant.
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quickest filing ever! Finished my Federal 1040 in just 1 hour! My fastest filing yet!
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User Friendly! This is my second year using TurboTax. Before, I had someone else file for me, and the fees cut significantly into my refund. I need easy, simple, and user friendly or I will get stressed out and upset. The folks at TurboTax couldn't have made it any easier and the language is so pleasant and casual. You are guided easily each and every step of the way. Even though tax time is "official" businesss and not such a fun time for many, they really take that seriousness and unpleasant tone of taxes out of it. I appreciate that and highly recommend!
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Filing from overseas I live in France not in the US yet the forms require me to pick a State - I pick one at random - and a US telephone number - I make one up just to pass to the next form. Luckily I still have a US driving licence for the final ID check. However, it's a VA licence that doesn't have an issue date. Hitting the radio button for no issue date doesn't work. So I entered a fictitious date (1888). Hope the IRS doesn't catch that. Once I have entered the information for filing from overseas you shouldn't ask any more questions as though I was filing from the US. And I don't have a non-swearing nickname!
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better each year Have been using TT for more than 10 years for self and family (I am the official family tax preparer). Have always found your system to be fast efficient and accurate. Your CD is the first item on my Xmas list each year. Keep up the great work!
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PRODUCT This is truly an amazing product. So easy to follow and understand. It is so easy, even I can file my own taxes.
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Done! It would be easier to assemble and order the paperwork if there were an ordered list of topics and paperwork required at the beginning of the process.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once again TurboTax makes it easy! For several years, I have used TurboTax and have always been very satisfied.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Right On the Money - Turbo Tax I have re-checked my tax return with a certified accountant two separate years now to make sure that Turbo Tax is correctly doing my taxes and I am happy to confirm that each time Turbo Tax was "Right on the money".
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rough but resolved Had a little trouble with the download for a previous tax year. But, it was resolved rather quickly by the support team. Did my previous tax year just as quickly as the current year. Much thanks!
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Returns Have used turbo tax since it was introduced. Have found it the best amongst all the tax software (and I have used a couple of your competitors). I like downloads from past year returns that makes it so easy to enter this year returns. I also like the pop up explanations that helps me to understand if a certain item is applicable to me or not.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast N' Easy Refund! Turbo Tax is great! You don't have to be a tax professional; it is very simple. The hardest part is doing it for the first time, and easily done the years that follow. Try it!
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good steady reliable software I have used for 10 or so years and find it acceptable and can see no reason to change.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got It Done We have used TurboTax for several years and find it is comfortable to use. Mentioning the need for financial institution accounts to be on line would be a help.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A ok like the ability to move between screens and not lose data
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The year was complicated but not my taxes With inherited property and income, personal book sales, tour guide work, stocks, investment losses, and major purchases, this tax year would have been a nightmare (or an expensive year for outside tax form preparation). However, it was rather easy with TurboTax's intuitive software.
Date published: 2017-03-30
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_121, tr_294
  • loc_, sid_600_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 40ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.