1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 60 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182329 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sweet Tax I have never used special deductions before myself. Had others do for me. I prefer simple stupid. But Turbo Tax made the process a million times simpler. Thanks! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply fantastic EVERY year! I love turbo tax! I got tired of paying HR Block hundreds of dollars to file my simple return so I switched and I've never been happier. TT covers every possible tax situation, even when it doesn't apply to me, which is great because sometimes it has applied to me and I just didn't know it. I also love that you provide audit support and think it's a GREAT value! Although, I've never had to use it, it's wonderful to have the peace of mind that I'm represented if I need it. Thank you for servicing my tax needs for 7 years now! I will never use anyone else! April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by After all these years... I make the assumption when I put down my hard-earned money to use TurboTax to file my taxes, that there isn't going to be some bonehead problem with a filing #. As far as I know, I have no control over what # TurboTax uses to electronically file my taxes and now my taxes ended up getting filed late as there was a duplicate # used! May second-think using TurboTax next year. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Way to go turbo tax For the record we will return again to do our 2015 taxes here with turbo tax, The online set up turbo tax has is so simple to follow our six year old nephew could sit and file a return , The support you have is great we will also say the fee to prepare our taxes was reasonable we want to say thank you and we look foward to doing our taxes with you next year. Thomas & Victoria April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by not happy State was rejected, told me we would fix this together, but never showed me where to fix the problem. I could see the issue, but everytime I tried to correct - I could not get to the problem. Embedded in something, pulled from Federal - I could not tell. You market your product for the unintelligent, but when the intelligent try to use it, you have us set up for failure. Not very happy with turbotax. Also, I corrected items on Federal, final printout does not reflect corrections. Now it is accepted - thanks for nothing. You may not see me next year! April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thanks for making taxes easier! I noticed some improvements as opposed to previous years. The program is getting more user friendly. The language is more casual and easy to follow. I enjoy the transitional phrases and especially the ones where you try to be a little funny without being overly corny. It is refreshing because obviously doing my taxes is NOT at the top of my list of most enjoyable tasks however, you made it as painless as I think it could be. I think the icons are very clear and appropriate. I did have an issue with the clear the return function when trying to remove my husband's w-2 info from the previous year and I also had an issue importing my MFS information so I had to do it manually. Otherwise, everything went very smoothly. Thank you April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Persistent Support Staff I am a long time user of TT with a return of medium difficulty. I used the desktop Windows Premium version of the software. I consider TT a good product, however it seems that it is released with more errors each year diminishing my trust in the product. This year on my return (1) tax exempt interest initially did not transfer to line 8b, (2) the ABT interest adjustment did not calculate correctly (and did not show how the calculation was done), and (3) the federal tax-exempt interest that was taxable in NY did not transfer net of the bond premium amortization. The 1st was updated while the other two required me to contact the support staff at TT. The support staff spent considerable time helping to make sure the return was corrected to properly reflect my taxes. This required changes in how the downloaded 1099 was recorded in TT. I will probably purchase TT again next year because it helps ensure that I haven't missed reporting anything. However, I will not blindly assume that TT has done enough testing to ensure proper recording of tax amounts. I consider it a good starting point, but you still need to do your due diligence to ensure that your return is done properly. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Straight forward, stress free, efficient I've probably used TT for perhaps 10 years now, maybe more, and this was first year I bumped up to version that includes home business. This version stepped me through the Schedule C and provided clear explanations when I needed them. I would use this version of TT next year for certain. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes my life easier overall, a positive experience; would recommend Turbo Tax to family and friends April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick, Easy and Fun I enjoyed using your program to file my taxes. The graphics and organization made it very easy to navigate. When I had a question about a particular topic, I always had help available throughout the filing process. I didn't have to go around hunting for answers to my questions. The e-file was quick, easy. April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Meh When I got to end of my taxes TurboTax was so busy pushing an Amazon gift card on me that I made a mistake and didn't actually submit my taxes. I realized this error in the nick of time, but then, because of my own error, my taxes were rejected. Now, it's the morning of the 16th and for the first time in my life I have been late on my taxes. Thanks, TurboTax. I feel like it was over $100 well spent (sarcasm). I will be finding another method next year. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by painless Dear Turbo, you're a good time April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes taxes almost easy Each year gets easier and easier as it carries forward your tax info. Love how it walks me through everything without having to look at ugly tax forms. And I'm a CPA! April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nothing is for free! thought this was a free svc. wasn't till the very end on the 15th of April that I was asked to pay prior to filling. I had to otherwise I would have been late. As it turns out after review of what I submitted it was late anyway. didn't realize I needed to put a 0 for AGI. Not using this again April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by turbotastic! great experience it walks you through each step to help you get your max refund. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rock my refund Awesome will use it again April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Love Turbo Tax! I have been filing with TurboTax for three years now and it seems to get easier ever year. The way the system holds my hand through the process and the casual phrasing of the questions makes filing almost fun. My only con is being forced to either pay $30 to import last year's information or start over from scratch. It would be fine if I received enough of a refund to cover it but this year I actually owed money. However, I still greatly enjoy this system and will continue to use it for tax filing purposes for the foreseeable future. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy until the heart attack! I do recommend this for someone with limited experience and knowledge of taxes. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Confused My 1st attempt was easy had things on it that were not there last year. It was rejected. Was unable to reopen so I had to do another one by manually entering everything. Stuff on the 1st return were not on the second. The first return I was supposed to get 164 back on the second I owe 174. I am still paying last year and quite frankly I don not have the money. I have been up for over 24 hrs in tears because the reject made me late in filing. I would love to know why the difference in the 2 returns and why I could not open the 1st one. April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing The "step-by-step" interview process could be condensed onto fewer screens without making it any harder to use. In fact, it would easier to understand some of the questions if they provided more context. As with the actual IRS forms (but for different reasons), many of the questions are ambiguous, and being able to see how and where my answers are going to be used would make it easier to understand what is really being asked. Also, the MA state health form in particular is really poor. It asks if I was covered for the whole year, and if my provider also "offered" coverage for my spouse -- but this is not asking whether my plan *included* my spouse! In other words, there's no checkbox to say "My spouse was covered by the exact same plan that I was, and with the same ID information". No -- you actually have to enter all of the information for you and your spouse twice. That's absurd. April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The positives are that it's user friendly and it remembers last years information, so that's nice. It also picks up where you left off and allows you to be guided through the process or choose what to work on. Those are some of the positives. There are also a few things I don't like: 1) Seems like it tries to up-sell you to a more expensive version that you don't need. And when my wife selected the wrong version and attempted to move down to a less expensive version, it didn't allow her to do so easily. 2) It doesn't allow you to enter childcare expenses prior to entering your income (claims that you don't have enough income to claim them). It is usually the case that one knows their childcare expenses long before they receive their W2s. 3) No reminder that taxes haven't been submitted. I thought I had submitted my taxes and set up the money transfer etc. and April 15th came and went and there was no withdrawal from my account (I owed money). I can only guess that I failed to hit enough "Submit" and "Continue" buttons. It would be nice if TurboTax would have emailed me a reminder on April 15th that my return had not been submitted. 4) The turbo tax estimate for what I owe in state tax is far higher than what I end up paying by using the (free) state tax website. April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by what happened?! I filed my taxes 2/12/15 and told Turbo Tax to deduct Fed owed on 4/14/15. As of today, 4/16/15 it still wasn't deducted so I SENT IT AGAIN! I hope I'm not fined for late payment by the IRS. Turbo Tax was paid by my credit card on 2/12/15, I have proof. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2015 Turbo Tax I like how Turbo Tax walked me through everything and knew things to look for that I didn't. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Product / Stand-Out Company I have used different products over the years but now stick with Intuit's TurboTax. It makes filing my taxes very simple and convenient. I can store and access prior years' filings easily. However, the main reason I am now loyal to TurboTax is that the company provides equal benefits to its LGBT employees, unlike its competitors (see HRC's Buying for Workplace Equality Guide 2015). April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Delux instead of Premier I have used TurboTax quite a few times in the past and I usually use the Premier version because I have Investments. This year I did not have any investments to enter but I needed to carryover Capital Gain Loses from last year (which is just entering two numbers), but I still needed to upgrade to Premier adding another $25.00. I was also charged for my State (more than last year) and possibly e-filing. Finally TurboTax did not try to import my records from last year even though it asks me if I used it, which I did. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed Feelings I have used TurboTax consistently since 2000. The product has become more refined and easier to use over time. Overall, I am satisfied with it. But... I returned to school in 2013 to pursue a graduate degree. I have no income to speak of, and live off of student loans. Last year, I had a paid internship for a few months and earned $4200. I planned to use the EZ. Unfortunately, if I'd chosen it, my information for this year wouldn't have carried over to next year and I wouldn't have "unlimited access" to previous years' records. You have to buy the next package up in order to get a core feature. So, I upgraded, even though this meant I would have to be $39.99. Then, when it came time to enter my paid internship income, I discovered that because I was paid via 1099, instead W-2, I had to upgrade AGAIN. So, for a year when my income was $4200, I had to pay $54.99 to prepare and file my federal taxes?!? The state filing fee was $39.99. This just feels really excessive for a full time student... Even more so because the bulk of what's available in that higher package does not apply to me. I think it is silly to force the upgrade based upon 1099 vs. W-2. Oh! And I meant to mention that had I wanted to name the items I had to purchase and supply for my internship, I would have had to upgrade AGAIN and pay for a package that cost more than I owed in taxed! I'm pretty dismayed. It is likely that next year, I will seek a different way/process to file. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best tax software to prepare tax returns TurboTax online is simply the best and I have been using it for 15 years ....I have tried others to get a feel just don't get the comfortable feeling I get from TurboTax... I always jump into it cold and always complete my tax prep in one sitting ...TurboTax team ... Keep up the excellent work ... you rock !! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazingly Easy I didn't think I could file on my own, but Turbo Tax makes it so easy. It is very thorough and guides you every step of the way. If you have a question, you can do a search for more information. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by turbo tax was great! I knew I just needed to do the standard deduction and turbo tax made it easy to let me enter me w2 info and roll! On top of that I made an error when putting in my PIN (AGI) from the last years tax return and turbo tax sent me an email very quickly stating that the filing was rejected because of that error, but I was able to go through the steps to correct it with turbo tax and re-file just a few hours later. April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs work If the software KNOWS that you must put a 0 in a field for e-filing purposes, then it should prompt you or do it. April 16, 2015
  • 2015-07-04T11:46:39.120-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-60, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182328, tr_182328
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 58 59 60 61 62 ... 3809 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.