1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 60 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184763 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184762 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by always easy and thorough I'm not a business person, but recently I've inherited some securities, wound up renting my old house, etc. I have no idea what is a deduction, expense, etc. TurboTax just asks me easy-to-understand questions, and if you've saved all your receipts for everything through the year, tells you exactly which ones have value and need to be sorted out versus which you can throw away. Soooo easy. June 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I'd like to be able to correct some of the errors I see on my TT returns by changing the entries on specific lines of the tax returns. Or at least TT cud tell me how the entry on a specific line was determined so I could go back to the right questions and change the answers as needed. I have a fairly complicated tax situation, with income and expenses from partnerships, LLCs, trusts, self-employment and employers, and I own property and pay taxes in more than one state. TT makes it relatively easy to input information but I frequently see entries on the returns that need to be double checked (often because TT's instructions are not clear or may or may not apply to my situation) and TT doesn't let me change the entry or tell me where to go back to so I can review the inputs. And it's very difficult to talk to a live person or get my specific question answered. I use a tax professional for the returns for entities like trusts and LLCs but have been preparing my own personal returns. But I'm about to give up on TT and have all my returns prepared professionally. June 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Group I always use TurboTax, however I do not like the locking of files stored with you. I will continue to use your products but will purchase them locally. June 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good with minor issue This year, I withdrew some money from an IRA, but ended up putting it back before the 60 days was over. It wasn't clear how to enter a rollover from an IRA back to an IRA. Instead there is just an entry of the amount withdrawn on the 1040 form, and the entry form for the 1098 doesn't help. It says the full amount is taxable, which of course it is not. June 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Quick and easy I could not find the Business/Corporate Turbo Tax software at Costco. I bought it at Office Max but felt I could have gotten a better deal at Costco, after all we pay a membership fee to get the best deal we can on products. June 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo-Tax-2014 Difficult to go back and make changes items needing to be change, difficult to do June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome and Easy Love Turbo Tax! I would definitely use them again! June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Customer I use TurboTax every year to file taxes. Very happy with the product. I buy the Tax Software, I do not use the online product. June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good tool! June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by teckyd1/review peace of mind comes knowing that Turbo Tax experts are working for you. June 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not to Late I Hope. Working great so far. June 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor experience this year Found several blanks where figures should have transferred over from prior year's returns. For instance info on vehicle expenses used every year did not transfer over so had to research again date of purchase, etc. Did not want "Personal/Small Business Edition" but had to buy as advice on Basic edition said it no longer would work for my rentals, Farm, & other incomes. I have always been able to use the Basic edition & did not need the extra advice from more expensive versions. Will look for cheaper version from another software company for next year. June 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some how we looked like we submitted and didn't. There is a hole in the program logic that someone who is stressed by the data entry can fall through. We had a friend looking over our shoulders, but even they didn't catch the fact that the return wasn't successfully filed. Everything printed like the return was filed, but the only hint that an error happened was when nothing was deducted by the IRS. It would help to get a warning that the filing part wasn't carried out correctly, even though the correct data was in all the right fields. This also indicates to me that we got right to the verge of submitting or broke transmission during the actual attempt. Late fees don't make me happy, of course. June 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Did the job! A good program that I've trusted for years. They do try to up-sell you to more advanced versions. June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still easy I had some questions about definitions of certain things related to taxes and could not easily find answers to them, so I had to google them. Also I wish they kept the Q&A separate business from personal, so one does not have to go through a ton of personal questions before actually finding the business one needed to proceed with the returns. June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extra fields requirement Application is excellent from the user perspective. However, like to see provisions for foreign countries Zip codes and allow for inclusion for the foreign pension. Some foreign countries do not have government payer's ID number; please recommend alternative. Thanks for allowing to express some of the improvements. Addi June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Very friendly user software June 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by MrTim's 2014 Taxes Good program Unable too print copy for my file! June 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by worse version ever This is the worse version yet. I have seen error after error. I have forms listed which I never even worked on, I input information such as health insurance premiums paid while entering a K1, and the information never transfers, on and on and on. I have lost faith in Turbo Tax, I really have. I also used the business version for a Corporation and it too was a nightmare importing data from QuickBooks, data that was properly mapped and coded. I will probably be looking for different software next year. June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by fire refund very specific wit the details in thequestions that helped a lot in how t o answer them best without getting confused June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was easy June 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Premier 2014 CD version I was frustrated this year with ambiguity of some questions and lack of references to previous tax year (i.e. 'last year this info was found on line __ of your Federal return"). In addition, I did not get as many answers to the questions I posted to the community and those there were not entirely relevant. This year also lacked the ability to review certain figures ahead of time that would be used on the final result (i.e. NYS amount vs Federal) If I were an expert I wouldn't need T.T. This was my 3rd year using the product. Year 1 was new and confusing; year 2 I sailed along because there were so many references to where the info was 'found last year' so I had a frame of reference. This year started to wear me out: i.e. 'Do they mean the amount of money I paid in 2014 for 2013 or do they mean the amount of 2013 taxes paid? - which can only be determined in 2014 when you complete your taxes" Please do a better job next year in design, clarifying what info you need and where to find it, and finally, in your accountant people answering community questions. Thank you. May 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amending return Ark. state sent us a corrected 1099 G and that's when it got difficult. May 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best experience ever I hadn't done my own taxes in years. Then I read an article that said I could probably do a better job doing my own taxes with software than my accountant. To my surprise I believe I did. Thank you TurboTax. Could not have done it without you. May 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by need alternate payment please provide an alternate to US credit card. I do not live in US. I have been using Turbo tax for a long time (I think 12-15 years). May 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A bit of frustration Things were great until near the end. Correctly linking a 1099-misc to Schedule C or E was required, but having to go through the interview process again and again must have taken 2 or 3 hours before it passed muster. Not being able to directly jump to the form made it difficult, and not being clearly given a path to the problem page meant a lot of hunting and guessing. It's done, but at the moment I am not as happy with the product as I was earlier today. May 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo tax stumbles over Schedule K-1 The software insists on getting details that are unavailable from the general partnership on the Schedule K-1. This details over a few dollars surely would not be interesting to IRS! I spent a lot of time entering the medical/dental/glasses expense only to take the standard deduction. I should have been warded that only total expenses beyond a threshold lead to higher deduction than the standard. May 30, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Please think about us 6 million overseas! I have been using TurboTax for over 20 years, but this was the hardest year ever. 1. There seemed to be less continuity among the interview screens; and I had to frequently hunt and peck to relocate an important interview. Many were buried within other sections, albeit logical; but I would not have imagined that major items like home office costs would be so remotely located. 2. The Home Office interview was particularly hard to find; and I had to pass through several interview steps that were not totally intuitive to locate it. I nearly drew myself a site map so I could return to key screens! 3. The different business deductions were not clear in places; and I had to be extremely careful not to enter expenses twice in the business and then the home office sections. 4. Depreciation guidance changed significantly concerning Section 179 for us abroad; but it took me one full day of hunting and pecking and checking Community Q+A to finally figure out how to change this to Straight Line depreciation within TurboTax. 5. There is an error in Form 2555 that sends us to the smart worksheet for additional child tax credit even when it is not warranted; and it is a bear to escape out of it! If I had not been as experienced as I am--and learned my lesson to carefully review every form following a glitch in the 2555 that cost me one full year of aggravation with IRS--I would not have been able to complete my taxes this year. I'd propose that TurboTax carefully review the logic of the interview screens, assuring that major interviews are easily located; and that it consider having a small, sub-interview set for US citizens abroad. May 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value I've only used Turbo Tax, so it's hard to compare it to other packages. It appears that it's probably the best overall package for the money. It's a bit awkward, however, to search and find areas and topics. May 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wasted Time Program would not let me send return as presented. Would always review and ask me to fill forms that were not required. May 30, 2015
  • 2015-11-27 T12:25:51.513-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-60, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184762, tr_184762
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 58 59 60 61 62 ... 3860 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.