1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 57 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182854 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 182852 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Software...couple of glitches If you list your home office business use as less than 100%, the TurboTax worksheet for IRS Form 8829 incorrectly calculates the depreciation limit and makes the allowable depreciation artificially low by not allowing the full net income from your schedule C, plus or minus appropriate adjustments. TTax calculation worksheet needs to be rewritten for this to correctly calculate the allowable depreciation limit for the home office deduction. Turbo tax will NOT allow you to efile your taxes if you make any manual override corrections on any of the tax forms, so I could not initially efile my taxes and had to get a tax professional to efile an extension request (because Turbo Tax will not even allow efiling an extension request if you have an entry that is manually overridden on a tax form)-- VERY FRUSTRATING! Otherwise, I've had pretty good success with the software, other than a couple of times where the data from a correction did not carry through to make corrections on all necessary data fields, until I went back through and figured another way to work through the problem and get it fixed. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and quick! As always, simple to use and quick! I'm only bummed I didn't get a refund, but I can't blame that on Turbo Tax. =) April 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Next year may need something more expen$ive TT Deluxe used to do everything I needed. Standard forms 1040, Sch ABCD. It asked me to upgrade to premier for rental and stocks? Deluxe used to handle it just fine. Good thing people complained, and I got the free upgrade after patching TT. I'll be checking a little closer next year, because I know it will cost closer to $100, instead of $50. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by they made it really easy with their explanations, FAQs and other info! April 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not happy I was very disappointed. Previously I bought turbotax and downloaded CD to my computer. This way you payed for federal return and got a free state return. This year I decided to prepare my taxes on line and after I filled out everything I was charged for both federal and state returns even though I could not e-file state. My only options were to pay and file or erase all information put into my state return and begin over. I will not do this again and probably won't use turbotax next year because of this. I have used TurboTax for several years but I was very dissatisfied this year. April 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easypeasy It's my first time using TurboTax and filing taxes. I was a bit nervous to be honest but once I took a deep breath and started I found it easy to use and quick as well. But make sure you read everything because I almost paid an extra fee but I caught it and the fault was my own. I'll definitely be using TurboTax again and my mom even saw how easy it was and is now going to be using TurboTax to do her taxes! April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Turbo Tax. Use it every year since 1995! April 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple Love the software. Thought it was too expensive. Paid much less last year. April 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I'm a big fan of TurboTax. I've been using it for decades. Once you start using it it's easy to get "hooked" because you get familiar with the process (i.e. the software), and also it "auto populates" a lot of your data from the previous year which makes it easier to fill out the forms, and provides automatic current-to-previous year comparisons. Now the bad news. (1) The software "auto-populated" my AGI from 2013 as a means of identifying me and doing the electronic signature at the end of the return, right before filing. It entered the wrong number, and my return got rejected. I did not check the number before filing because I have learned to trust the software to get it right. If you can't trust your tax software to do math right, and move data between locations, what can you trust? (2) I chose to NOT e-file a State return. TurboTax's instructions for paper filing a State return were lousy. They gave the impression of being intentionally confusing. I can only presume the intention because their instructions everywhere else are quite clear. Are they trying to drive business to e-filing state in order to collect the $25 fee? (3) A mailing address in the State return instructions was wrong. Fortunately I caught it by reading the State return before mailing. I will use TurboTax again, but it should be better than this by now. These problems are bush league stuff. April 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by H&R block is a way better product and has more support. I will be returning to their product next year. April 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Well, not so sure I did my taxes on April 135h, then found they had not filed. So I refiled on April 17th and both Fed and state were rejected. They said the Payer's Federal ID numbers were wrong. So I rechecked my print out and found I had the right ID numbers. What happened? I don't know. Anyway, I am refiling now. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Did It Myself!!! April 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by really you force to have the business now Maybe it is time to start looking at other options. I can have a professional prepare my taxes and file them for what it cost to buy turbotax and pay the state e-file. I think turbotax is is over stepping it's value and I would not recommend anyone not using turbotax to start! For those of us that have used it... well it depends how painful it is. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Regular User I've used Turbo Tax to do my tax returns the past 5 yrs or so. I've used tax accountants in the past due to deductions, but feel like Turbo Tax is a more honest, efficient, cost-effective way to file my returns. I can rely on the Turbo Tax to be up-to-date on current tax credits, etc. This year I adopted a child and had some changes and new credits to apply. Always happy with my experience and will continue to use their services. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Saved My Tax Returns Being Filed on Time I appreciate Turbo Tax always keeping up with all the necessary changes and I trust them to take care of that. I am 100% disabled and had a few healthcare issues that prevented me from starting our taxes until April 14, 2015. I was able to finish our taxes using Turbo Tax, e-filing at 11:00PM on April 15, 2015. Thanks for being so user friendly and enabling me to finish. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Service, Awesome Return! I LOVE Turbotax. I've been filing with TurboTax for the last four years and I always get great service, my returns get through quick and I see it in my bank account, usually in less than a month. Their walk-thrus are easy; anyone can do it as long as you have your forms with you. They always know what to ask, and they really do seem to flip through pages to see what you may qualify for. The only thing I'd watch out for is that sometimes TurboTax says that you can skip certain sections because they think you might no have anything to input there; I purchased a new car this year and they advised that I could skip through the Sales Tax portion given my tax history with them-- which means they're at least getting to know how I file! Superb, awesome service. I highly recommend TurboTax to anyone. If you have any questions, there's always someone on Chat to help you right away! April 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by DIVORCED, HAD A STROKE AND NOW OWE UNCLE SAM! I don't keep up with tax laws and whats new each year, so if you could maybe have pop-ups to indicate new rules or just indicate it in a (option...........#. Example: I deliver newspapers, use my own car and in 2013 I think #not sure ex-wife filed for us# that I had two separate deductions I was able to use #and even if that's not true a pop up would have saved hours of frustration); which was #1 mileage AND #2 gas; however this year it was an option of EITHER but not both.....I looked ever where numerous times for a place to enter my gas expenses, then said forget it. Only to find out on turbotax.com that it was one or the other, but took numerous questions until I asked it the right way... Don't make the user search for something the IRS made "a cCHOICE" if there's an option; ask the user which way they "WANT" to file in tax year. I hope that made sense. :-) April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by SO SO EASY! Super easy and great! I will totally use your product in the future! April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax was a very good alternative to a much more expensive tax accountant, which I've uses because I have a bit of a complicated return. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Easy!!! TurboTax is very easy to use. It walks you through step by step. A 5th grader could follow these instructions. It's that easy! April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by PatHReview Pretty good experience. I was unable to file on time as I've been ill, and having trouble finding the right dosage of blood pressure medicine. My son and daughter-in-law are too busy to help me and I don't ask. Turbo Tax made it easy this year. I'm getting enough money back to cover a trip to AZ to visit my grandchildren and two great-grandchildren. Thank you. April 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disapointment this year Needed upgrade and was charged, auto upgrade did not work, so needed a person to person exchange which took extra time(she was great and helpful), 2014 did not pull data from 2013 so had to type all data again, why not put up an outline of areas to be covered and catagory so I could organize data ahead of time? April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good North American integration Used this to do USA taxes, while a resident of Canada. Worked pretty well! Would love it if better integrated with TurboTax Canada! April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to understand April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by quick painless and empowering I did my taxes in 15 minutes April 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Removed All of the Data I had to redo my taxes THREE times because your TurboTax Premier Program kept removing the data that I had entered. I would save after I finished entering my data and later when I tried to open the program I would get the Program but there would be NO DATA.. Also, in previous years it was much easier to check where the entries came from by double clicking on an entry.Not so much now. I miss the IRS instructions that used to be included in the Program. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax filing with ease I should have used this service last year. I appreciate the ease of which, It went step by step. Thank you. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long-time User Great product, but be careful not to alienate long-time users like me by switching out the functionality of the Deluxe product. I'll stay with you forever if you provide the same consistently good product, but will balk if you remove features that I've grown accustomed to. April 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Learned a lot from Turbo tax,actually looking to16 Im in a extremely small town with nothing close to me. I was able to do my taxes from the privacy of my own home, without the stress of trying to get out of town, having someone to wait and all that goes with it. The Big thing it was all free. Thanks Turbo Tax for keeping my blood pressure down. April 17, 2015
  • 2015-08-29T11:28:21.591-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-57, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182852, tr_182852
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 55 56 57 58 59 ... 3819 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.