1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 57 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184773 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184773 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a winner I live in a foreign country. The first 2 years we hired a tax attorney in the US to complete our federal return. Then I found I could do the same using TurboTax since all the forms were included as well as instructions on how to complete them. This is my eighth year using TurboTax for a foreign country return and probably my 20th year using TurboTax. It means I could complete the return in less than 3 hours which included getting all the numbers from Quicken first. June 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by I have been pleased with Turbo Tax for a number of years but I just had what could have been a serious problem. I received a letter from the IRS saying I underpaid my taxes and when I tried to use my file from Turbotax it wouldn't let me access it until I downloaded an update. When I downloaded the update it did not retain my individual entries on the taxes. It did have the totals. I was able to deduce the problem from my individual paper records. June 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I get nervous when I find a month later that my return was rejected again and then again. June 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome People, Awesome Product We have been using Turbo Tax for more than 10yrs now and have never had any significant problem that either the help files or the helpdesk wasn't able to resolve quickly. It's well worth the cost and it keeps the prying eyes of an accounting firm out of your personal business. My only issue (and it's not really an issue) is that if you do owe money to the IRS, the folks at Turbo Tax won't pay it for you. :) All kidding aside, it's a great product with a great support team. Thank you!!! June 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great as usual, pullilng and entering data as needed. AWFUL in trying to print mail-in forms, es tax forms. Could not directly print the forms from turboTax! June 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Filing Taxes doesn't require a degree I have used Turbo Tax for my family and business income tax filing for the past 10years and absolutely love it. It is simple, easy, and very accurate. I have been tempted to move to a "tax professional" after the birth of our three children, turning our primary home into a rental property, managing a small at home based business, and being a military member overseas with a dependent that has overseas non-taxable income...but in the end I felt confident going step-by-step with Turbo Tax that made things easy for me to ensure I was getting the biggest and most accurate tax refund time and time again! Thank you, N&A June 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by missing and crashing this sw is for windows. therefore it is assumed it will crash. how come the ppl in intuit do notknow that and do not provide setting for autosave. my system window 7. June 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT REFUNDS Turbo Tax is very easy to use and understand. Turbo Tax walks you through every step of the tax return. June 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Kind of Frustrating I have used Turbo Tax for several years, but I have only had to pay $49.99 for the Deluxe and the State tax was free. This year I had to pay $39.99 for the State tax filing in addition to the $49.99 for the Federal. I was not aware of this change until I got to the end when I was ready to send my taxes. As a result, I am disappointed as I was not expecting to spend another forty dollars. June 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Used for many years June 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long time user I do find it a little pricey...!!!! June 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Had only one glitch June 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by pretty good I have a very small business. Turbotax is very helpful in general. I feel confident using it. This year I was confused as to why it wouldn't let me deduct for my home office. It stated my profit was 0 or less, but I had a modest net and business tax to go with it. Would have rated five stars otherwise. June 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Refund I went back to change the old email address to the new one and it changed it in that particular section, however, when the return was completed, the email address displayed in the area to provide feedback on whether the return was received by the IRS was the old one; it did not save the new one. The good thing is that I still have access to my old email address. June 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worked fine, but issue with foreign tax credit.... I really just have one brief comment. I bought TurboTax Home & Business Desktop edition (got a very good price on it on eBay buying it in the middle of June), and breezed through importing my investment data, and then just needed to enter my tutoring income from a 1099-MISC. Everything was fine, but TurboTax kind of insisted on me doing the foreign tax credit. The value in the box exceeded $300 (I paid more than $300 in foreign tax -- it was $415.60), and so that meant form 1116 goes into effect. My experience with form 1116 is that in my case if that is triggered the credit is much smaller, and the preparation time is larger. When form 1116 goes into effect the credit is limited by the percentage of income that is foreign. I think for me (and perhaps also for many other people) the percentage of foreign income is small so the credit is limited. I initially just wanted to skip that entirely, but then when I got to transmit TurboTax said that there was a problem. In any event, Morgan Stanley prepared a nice summary for the foreign tax credit in the 1099 so I started seeking to go through it using TurboTax, but then ran into problems again. It let me enter the foreign income for Brazil, but then I couldn't enter it for the rest of the countries. So what I finally did is to just go back to the 1099-DIV screen for Morgan Stanley for TurboTax and changed the $415.60 to $0.00, and then deleted the form 1116. Then it went through okay. I was a little worried that maybe there would then be some discrepancy, but the return itself doesn't have that figure anyway. You have to report the income that's on the 1099-DIV but the Schedule B doesn't speak about the foreign tax. I guess the law was structured around the idea that people shouldn't necessarily pay tax twice on the same income. Anyway....I can't imagine they would be upset if the person doesn't worry about that. One thought would be to provide three options instead of two if somebody had more than $300 in foreign tax paid. The third option would be to just take neither a deduction nor a credit, but to just continue on to save preparation time. A number of people might fall into this category if their foreign income is small in comparison to their total income. TurboTax would have more information to work with if the tax payer has a rough estimate of the percentage of their income that is foreign. That could perhaps be the first screen (they would just need to make a ball park estimate). If that percentage is low then it might not make sense to bother with trying to get through the form. The preparation time will depend on whether the person already has records of the amount of income paid to each country. And as I said it didn't seem to work for some reason. I could enter the income for Brazil, but then I couldn't enter it for the other countries. Maybe TurboTax figured that it didn't make sense to go further since the credit would be $0 anyway. I suppose the person could still take a deduction; however, if they are taking the standard deduction then that doesn't apply either. As a final comment my line 44 was $0 anyway (I only had to pay self-employment tax), so looking at form 1116 line 20 I couldn't get any credit anyway. I think less people fall into this category than fall into the category of domestic income being much more than foreign income. People who fall into that larger second category would be people who work in the U.S. but have a mutual fund with foreign investments and/or who own ADR's of foreign companies. And it could take a bit of time for people who have multiple mutual funds because then even if their mutual fund provides some data they'll need to combine the income for the different countries. Maybe it's okay if you just combine it all, and put RIC, but I think I saw something about how you are supposed to do it for each country. June 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A couple of screens suggest the return will not be accurate if you do not upgrade. THIS IS BALONEY!!!!! The calculations are still done correctly behind the scene. Also...please show me in detail how the tax is calculated, ie how much at regular rate, how much (Cap gain for instance) at reduced rate. June 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great product, but expensive to file Great product, ease of use, just awful expensive to use.... June 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ease of use All around easier than doing by hand. Was by far the worst Turbo Tax I've used so far. Quality seem to be going down June 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by There was a way to find everything I needed. Thank you June 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have always like Turbo Tax and I recommend it in every conversation relevant to this. It makes life easy. June 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I am a paid tax preparer with a well known company but wanted to use Turbo tax for my personal tax return and the final numbers agreed both ways except for one instance where 1099R for 2014 with a PJ code had a Box 4 amount. This was added to total federal tax held in 2014 ( line 64 form 1040). another issue was in calculating penalty in form 2210. I had for line 62, entries from Form 8960 and UT both, But Form 2210 Part1 Line 2 included only the entry from 8960. I had to override this entry, as well as zero out the 1099 R Box 4 amount, s. Other than these two issues, its a good product.ince I will be amending the 2013 return June 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by x much harder to use no explanations for categories. step by step harder to use. go back to original make us all happy June 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by My Experince Just Cons here: -Leave you alone when you need help in slightly complicated situation -I have a W2 showing STATE1 income while I am STATE2 resident, Turbo TAX as default put zero for my STATE1 income, and when asking STATE1 income no hint , help etc... so I realized I had to correct it -Similarly allowed me to put a rental loss in my STATE1 investment while my allowable was already zero , and federal allowable was zero I guess was wrong....! -When you search for answers you have to rely on peoples opinion which usually is not right -I realized IRS document although lengthy more useful than turbo tax to explain...bottom line I have to spend time digg into my answer -When I t comes to AMT it asks questions which I do not know what they mean!! It should be simpler way or at least a good help...Other than that I have used turbo TAX every year you should know all answers , why I am been asked all different question from my previous year and even asking me to re run previous year TAX !!!! When calculating main TAX number (Line 44) there is no work sheet what so ever to explain how it was calculated, while part of it was capital gain...etc... how can we trust this IF i have to spend a time to recalculate all to confirm no mistake -No Progress on Turbo TAX performance and quality on yearly base... like you have computer from 1995 running it at 2015!!!!! Why do not use previous year number more efficiently! Sotware is not smart. June 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refund made easy Over all very easy, have your financial reports printed up. File the extension and take your time, learned things I did know before. June 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by needs better way to trace steps, undo, redo Instead of asking users to input foreign income in descending order from highest to lowest category, Turbo Tax should put forms 1116 in the correct order automatically by itself. June 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wouldn't file my taxes any other way I have been filing my taxes using TurboTax for a number of years. It facilitates the process so much I can't even think of doing it any other way. It is flexible, detailed, well-supported, and adaptable to my changing personal and business situations. Things I like the most: Transfers from last year's return (makes everything so easy); step-by-step process; the reviews and suggestions; e-filing, audit protection. I could go on. Best tax program I have used. June 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tax Product It's a great secure product - i give it 5 stars out of 5 June 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Internal search for topics I realized as I was finishing my return, that I had never entered rental property expenses. I had to go back and review each topic to find it. A search feature for topics or, "where do I enter ......" would be a time-saver June 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made my year (come out better than I thought!) I found Turbo Tax very helpful and when I reviewed my return and took advantage of the business tax breaks I saved $1500 by carefully reviewing all of my options. Well worth the cost of the application June 12, 2015
  • 2016-02-06 T07:27:02.795-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-57, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184773, tr_184773
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 55 56 57 58 59 ... 3861 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.