1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 55 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(181922 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mostly Rocked my Refund! Entering most things is a breeze. And carrying over information from year to year and federal to state automatically is a huge time-saver. I used a CPA one year, when things got complicated. The CPA messed my taxes up, and argued with me about the details. Had to amend my return, and go thru an audit (I eventually prevailed, 3 years later) to get it all straightened out. I went back to turbo-tax, and never looked back. Employee stocks seem to be the bane of tax-time. And while I was pleasantly surprised that Turbotax figured out a number of things automatically, I did run into a snag here. The IRS seems bent on preventing employers from providing accurate information to Brokers. And my employer reports some stock profits as regular income, so there's always a lot of cross-referencing and squinting at tea-leaves to come up with the right cost-basis adjustments. Every...single...year. This year, the numbers from ETrade just didn't add up. After some consultation with them, and revised numbers, I got things very close. But still off by 3 cents on several entries. Unfortunately, this triggered one of the automated checks in TurboTax, and it wouldn't let me E-File. At 11:30PM. On April 15th. Fortunately, I was able to get ahold of a consultant at TurboTax (at 11:30PM!), and she helped me get thru it. Disaster averted. Refund on the way. Thanks, Intuit! April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hidden Fees The over all experience was god. Turbo tax walked me through the process, I didn't have to worry about missing anything. It saved me time by pulling information into their application, instead of me having to manually input all the information. I didn't like the fact that Turbo Tax charged me an extra $39, just to have the option of having my fees taken out of my refund. It seems excessive, and it turned me off. April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Could not eFILE I spent 30 minutes trying to delete a schedule K1 which kept preventing me from efiling my federal return. Finally, I entered random numbers for trust number and "Void" on the name of the trust for the blank Schedule K1 that TT would not let me efile and it accepted it. What a waste of my time TT. I ended up submitting my return at 12:05 a.m. on 4/16/2015. If I end up with a late penalty for TT I am going to ask for my money back. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast & Easy Overall I was very leased with the efficiency of the service. Everything was straight forward. Anything I didn't understand there was a help tool explaining everything. I wish I have begun using this service years ago. It saved me a lot of money. It also helped me avoiding additional tax preparation fees. I definitely will be e-filing via TurboTax again next year. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Thanks you Turbo Tax for improving each year to make filing easier and more manageable. The options to catch all income, deductions and credits, plus the Its deductible software, make it easier to file and avoid mistakes. I have filed my income taxes through TurboTax and have been please with the ease and time spent doing our income taxes. Two satisfied customers for over 15 years! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Tax Time This is always a good experience. Next year I may have a more detailed return. I am confident that it will be just as concise and straightforward as this year's to complete. Thank you for making filing my 2014 taxes a positive experience. I recommend Turbo Tax to my friends and colleagues every year. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth every penny If you are very good at doing your own taxes and you enjoy doing them, then stick with that method, otherwise do this. TurboTax is approachable and streamlined. Considering the alternative, it's worth the fee you pay, in my opinion. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just very straight forward and no guess work Awesome program, good for peace of mind April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Glitchy state return! This is the first time TurboTax has let me down. Due to a glitch in their California return "Smart Check," it wouldn't let me e-file and of course I waited until the last minute. I would do the "Fix It" screen, fix the error (that a field should be blank), and it would take me right back to the "Would you like to fix the error page?" in an endless loop and then wouldn't let me e-file. April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Taken by surprise by not being able to file a 1040 I don't like surprises and I don't think they advertised their changes to the basic program well, I'll be looking around for better alternatives next year. April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Frustrated by the time waste I cannot believe I had to delete all of my information and re-input EVERYTHING all over again when I decided to switch from home and business to premier. That was AWFUL. April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Plus sale without notice I did not like how you tried to sell turbo tax plus by asking if i like to deduct my turbo tax payment from my federal and bill me for turbo tax plus without explicitly indicating i will be charged an extra $29.99 and i had to jump hoops to find where I might have agreed to pay without knowing because thats what happened. At the end it almost looks like a point of no return and forced to pay. Really Disliked this. Last year same thing happened and not knowing why and how I paid it to get my taxes filed on time. This year same thing happened and I was annoyed as I was careful in not agreeing to any more payments than $29.99 to file for state. This should be stated clearly that if u want to deduct your turbo tax fee from your Federal we will charge you an extra $29.99 for Turbo Tax plus. April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Problems and Failings of Turbo Tax 2014 I've been a Turbo Tax user for 11 years, and until this year, it's been great. This year (2014) was was a deep disapointment. The primary difficultly was that the importation of the previous year's return. Although the import seemed to occur correctly, and did bring in some of the textual information correctly, it brought in completely wrong numeric information. For example, the previous year's state tax refund was off by a factor of 100. My Roth Basis tracking has disappeared, previous year's donation carryover's dissapeared. Etc. I pointed TurboTax to all the previous years returns, locted in the TurboTax directory, and imported them, but all to no avail. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great and easy...got it done in about 1.5 hours. I think it is worth it. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly Good, 1 bug, Amazon Card Too Hard I have been using TurboTax for quite a few years and find it does what I want. There seemed to be a bug that asked for a 2nd entry of a Capital Gain that I had fixed once which resulted in the same gain twice. Later it popped up again even though I hadn't changed that entry after fixing (removed the 2nd entry). I just ignored the error the 2nd time and it didn't pop up as an error until filing preparations were complete and a final check was made. After all the work to get there I just redid the entry 1 of 3 times I was asked (second 2 I put in zeros). This resulted in a duplicate $87 gain being added, which wasn't there when I reviewed the printout of the form before filing. Thus this cost me some money. I was wishing I hadn't started the Amazon card thing after all the work it took. I had forgotten that I felt the same way last year. I won't make that mistake again. April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by poor,poor,poor. I only made 48 dollars on my federal return and instead of taking my entire federal return and having me pay the difference from my bank account, you had me pay 60 dollars and i only made 48 in federal, I wanted the free edition im never using turbo tax again April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic This is a fantastic way of doing your taxes especially if you don't have much time and just want to get it done quickly and easily. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Helpful As with most people I was hoping for a big return, however the service ran smooth and kept it simple. I would consider using this tax institution again. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Made filing fun Years ago I used TurboTax, then I switched to H&R Block because I liked it better. I am glad I switched back to TurboTax April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and thorough This is my third year using TurboTax Online for my tax preparation. As usual, I found the process easy to understand and the questions thorough. I do wish I didn't need to pay for the full cost of the business tax prep for my minimal 1099 income with no business deductions. But if the IRS requires the form, I understand they must charge to complete the form thoroughly. I liked that when using the search/question bar, one option was to jump to the area in question. Also, the ItsDeductible import feature is excellent. It was simple to input donations and to import the info to TurboTax. It would be nice if TurboTax would be able to automatically fill in the amount I paid them for tax prep last year; that info was a little hard to find. They know everything else I entered last year, seems like it should be simple to plug in that piece as well. Overall, excellent product. I will be back next year. Maybe I won't wait until April 15th for once! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent help for a common man Very easy to use, I had always heard about Turbo Tax, but was apprehensive to use a 'self' guided product (I'm more comfortable when someone else does it for me) This is such an easy to use self guided product. Besides, it addresses the needs of a beginner like me. April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I love using Turbo Tax but i hate feeling like they are trying to grab money out of my pocket at every turn, If i say NO to the Turbo Tax PLUS once that should be the end of it. Once i reach the end of the Forms its too late to back out... April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Tax Service! I can't believe how fast and easy that was! Turbo Tax got me a refund too! I was afraid to file because I thought I would owe some monies because of the amount I earned last year, but Turbo Tax found me some deductions from college and car registration and I got some money coming back. Thanks Turbo Tax! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple as pie! It was very simple and made sure by asking questions that I understand. Plus I really liked the helpful links that I could click on. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tax Refund Review Very good experience. simple and thorough April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Efficient service! Love using TurbTax every year. Makes it a cinch to get my taxes done without worrying about whether or not I got the most out of my tax refund. Thanks, TurboTax! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use! I used to use the business Turbo Tax program. I no longer have my business and so I used the Premier one and I like it. The transition was generally smooth. Less screens to go through, but also it always took you back to the overall view of the return. I only struggled with a royalties income that I had to work a lot to see where it was suppose to be. Eventually, I got it in the right place. I really like the review. Errors were easy to fix because it took you right to the form and not through many pages of questions again. That is better. I would for sure get this one again in the future. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Got it done on time April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy I was very pleased with the online process - especially my 1st time using. I was intimidated in the past when it came time to file my taxes. This process helped me feel confident submitting on my own. Thank you. April 16, 2015
  • 2015-05-27T13:33:05.335-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-55, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_181915, tr_181915
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 53 54 55 56 57 ... 3800 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.