1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 51 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184772 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184773 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bueno It gets better and better every year...best thing I ever did was to do it myself. July 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super-Duper! I have used Turbo Tax for many years, and every year the entire application is better than last year's product. July 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but only for returns that aren't complex I have used TurboTax for about 20 years and have come to rely on it. It has always been very helpful and we had common situations: wages and salaries, home mortgage, charitable deductions, interest, dividends and capital gains and losses. We also had a home that we rented out, and even with all the above, TurboTax was easy to use and I felt confident in the results. But then my husband and a partner started a business (LLC taxed as an S Corporation), requiring us to file individual tax returns in 3 states, and he more recently started selling some of his shares to his partner. I was worried that I might not understand the taxes anymore, so I had the company accountants review the returns that I had prepared on TurboTax. And, was I glad that I did! The accountant found 2 things I had missed, and the savings were over $4,000! Using the accountant's advice, I tried to find the 2 issues in the step-by-step process, and they just weren't there. I had to go directly to the forms and still did not see good explanation of these issues. I just filed taxes today and TurboTax had not included the forms required to be filed due to a recent change in Maryland law about other state tax credits. I downloaded those directly from the Maryland tax site. I guess the lesson that I have learned is that TurboTax is really good with the common tax situations, but caveat emptor if you have complex tax issues. It might be time to have taxes done professionally, or at least to have them reviewed as I did. July 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reassuring Guidance Also received very helpful technical assistance by telephone from staff (Linda) walking through process to transfer previous years tax information from one computer to more up-to-date computer with more advanced Operating System. Reassuring to be able on my own to handle complexity of death of spouse plus sale of second home. July 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quick and easy Overall, I highly recommend this software for preparing your taxes. I own a small business, and, it is simple! Been using tax software on a PC for as long as I can remember...at least 20-25 years. Prices really have been held "in-check", and the additional services are nice, plus all the integration into QuickBooks. Thanks! July 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Domestic Production is Back In all, this program helped me prepare my own tax return again this year. I purchased the program initially to prepare W-2 and 1099 forms in January. And eventually to complete the tax return. I purchased Quickbooks 2015 this year. To make life easier I will now modify my accounts to match the deduction categories in Turbotax and on the tax return. July 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I did it! This is the first time in over a decade that I did not use an Accounting Firm to handle my taxes (previously self-employed). I was very nervous to do this on my own, but using Turbo-Tax was actually very easy and walked me through the process in manageable steps. I liked that I could get more detailed explanations about different things if I was feeling confused. I feel pretty confident that everything has been filed properly. I also liked that I can do it all online. July 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Notch Tax Program July 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trading in an old vehicle for q new All went well for entering the data. When I was at the Final Review it said I needed to make a couple of entries related to my trading in an older truck for a new one (these were both used in my business). No explanation of what the requested info was. Just an empty box labeled "Like kind" or similar). I went to Search Help and got an answer to one box but a was stumped on the other. I had to make my best guess. Don't know if it helped or hurt my taxes "bottom line" and not comfortably sure it was done correctly. Needed help in this but there was none to be found in TT. July 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Finally finished At some points, difficult to understand how to enter investment-related info July 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TRUST FILED The program allows a person to prepare a trust required federal tax return with out having a Th.tax program is simple to use. The program allows a person with general business knowledge to prepare the required trust tax forms and K1's without using a CPA. The program needs to improved in down loading mutual funds directly from the financial sites. It would be nice to transfer E1's data from the Turbo tax program to the Turbo tax business program. July 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Support for a Complicated Return As a non-resident of Calif, I sold an investment condo I had owned for 19 years. I had taken deprecation on the condo and furnishings all this time, and then completely refurbished the unit including new windows, flooring, entire kitchen and bathrooms in order to sell. It sold. Then the tax consequences hit me. Wow, the adding of all the depreciation taken back into the equation, was a shock. It added about $90,000 income for the year. TurboTax was excellent in guiding me through all this. Next time I think I won't take depreciation each year as the credit/reduction in rental income and its off-set to that year's taxes didn't work out for me. July 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Who needs a CPA I understand numbers, my financial reports and the ins and outs of my business so who better then me to file my taxes. However I detest taxes but understand completing your taxes should never be postponed but planned for. Turbo tax business is easy as long as you have your income statement and balance sheet up to date and your taxes from last year. I highly recommend small business owners to stop paying outrages CPA costs and invest that money in a good bookkeeper they after all are how you arrive at accurate numbers. July 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by love using turbo tax. this is like my 20th year. July 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved using TurboTax Excellent product that I've been using for 15 plus years July 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredibly Helpful Even without a background in taxes this program makes it very reasonable for the average person to tackle their taxes. July 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Saved my sanity! I prepare returns for myself and some family members. This is the easiest way to accomplish that. However, the more important thing is that the enormity of my filing would overwhelm me without this tool. July 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by turbotax personal and business I have used TurboTax for years, this year it was difficult to work with. On my state return I could not go back to worksheets and make changes. The error messages did not make any sense. Your help pages did not answer my questions, I could see that other people had the same problems as I. The answer did not make any sense. July 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sixteen Plus Years Still Satisfied I have been using Turbo Tax for at least sixteen years and I have been satisfied with the results. My wife suggested I get our taxes professional prepared a few years back just to double check; the tax preparer said I knew more about my tax needs than he did. I gave him all of the details of our special circumstances and explained what I thought was the approach to doing my taxes. He took a few days to verify the tax law then he came back with an answer that I was accurate and it would be less expensive for me if I continued to do my own taxes. His advice only cost $125. Most everything I know about taxes I learned from Turbo Tax; I have been doing my own taxes for forty-eight years, Turbo Tax has made it easier. Electronic filing has made it better and safer. July 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love TurboTax I love using TurboTax. It saves previous returns so I can compare information and helps all along the way. July 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by too many clicks and too many hoops to jump thru -cannot go directly to input without having to go thru too many screens of questions, there should be a section index so you can jump back to the input page that you need without having to go thru all the questions once you have already answered them -too many clicks needed, why cant the "next" button on a step by step page be fitted to the screen? instead you have to go to the side bar, scroll down, and then click it July 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy Turbo tax is great. It makes giving that pond of flesh a bit easier.... July 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Tax State Returns For $50/each, I would expect Turbo Tax state return modules to provide me with the same, excellent step-by-step Q & A as it does on the Federal return. I'm an out of state filer and don't know the rules of each state I'm required to file in. I was very disappointed to see how much of the input requirement was left to me to figure out. July 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Whew !!!! Even though I am indebted to the IRS...the ease in which I filed my taxes took away a lot of the stress regarding the repayment process etc., Turbo Tax helped me to just get the ball rolling towards resolution. Thanks ! July 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Foreign Income Be back next year!! July 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by What happened ??? After printing my copy it shows a Business income on Line 12 of $1,299. I had no business and entered NO business information. Did you just make me pay tax on this amount ??? July 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by overpriced for small returns Prices should be based on complexity of return and ease of completing July 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used Turbo Tax for a long time, easy, fast and safe July 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 File storage .txf/.pfd ect. File saving used to be done automatically now it is very confusing . I'm given the option to save as a pdf but not a .txf im also not given a save to option were i would select .txf . As a result I couldn't get the previous years return to down load. I use an I mac running 10.7 software. The previous software was saved using the save option but this some how didn't save it correctly for 2014 turbo tax to recognize . This should be all automatically . Thanks July 14, 2015
  • 2016-02-07 T07:51:36.580-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-51, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184773, tr_184773
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 49 50 51 52 53 ... 3861 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.