1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 27 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(181897 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by e-file you say efing accepted but no debitting in the bank account now after 10 days. April 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Title Always enjoy the ease and accuracy of the Turbo Tax software. Thanks for keeping it simple. April 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by anesthesia for the pain I am self employed and thus pay taxes quarterly. Unfortunately, I post pone paying my taxes as long as possible. This year it was about 10 PM on April 15. I expected the site to be bogged down by other last minute types, but was surprised to find that the program worked rapidly right up to the deadline. There was no long delay from the web site and no last minute panic. I guess we need to pay taxes. Our world is much better than it would be without a government.. The Turbo Tax web site made the experience much easier than I feared, even in a last minute panic and much faster than I expected. April 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by State Taxes The state tax return for MO lacks the explanations and questions of the federal return. I almost missed a tax credit from a K-1 because of this. Thankfully, I knew enough about taxes to look up the credit. I decided not to purchase the second state and prepared the return on my own because I seemed to know more about state returns than TurboTax did. April 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax I have used TurboTax for the past 10+ years and have had favorable returns each and every year. It's worth my time to go through the process. April 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very satisfied. Overall I'm very impressed. I did it all on my own using my iPhone. Sweet! April 21, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Problems with Turbo Tax I have tried to file using my iPad at least 8x and all I get is that it has been rejected. I finally printed the forms to send them in. This has been one of the most frustrating experiences. April 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made it happen Thank you thank you thank you. Last year my state return was rejected and I gave up. The directions seemed convoluted to fix the issues but it was exactly what needed to happen to make work. Took me 15 minutes. Awesome! Back in business with efiling! April 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grateful for Turbo Tax Although it is not yet perfect Turbo Tax is a great way to do taxes and be part of your own process. Also the resources give you confidence to plow ahead. April 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME will forever use turbotax. April 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very thorough The directions are very simple and the information is very thorough. It helped me get the most on my refund. I will suggest and use TurboTax in the future. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really did a amazing job with my refund!!!! April 20, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Didn't make any of the complicated stuff easy Not so great this year. All of the complicated, messy stuff that you really want this kind of software to help make easy is exactly the stuff it handled poorly: - The input section for HUD-1 closing/escrow fees *for a rental property* was confusing and ambiguous, and guidance was non-existent. It doesn't simply provide box number inputs from the form and categorize them appropriately. Even now I'm not 100% sure what it intends for one to put in certain boxes. - The mechanism for inputting amortized mortgage expenses on a rental property was buried and obscurely labeled. This is an obvious deduction for rental properties and ought to be right in the main supposed "step-by-step" workflow. Similarly for certain types of fees/improvements that should be capitalized as added cost basis. - It simply did not handle a return-of-capital portion of a stock dividend reported on a 1099-DIV. Didn't notice it and didn't flag it for any special action at all. (One is supposed to adjust the cost basis of the shares on which a dividend with a ROC is paid). It appears that this error would cause an *under-reporting* of income, which could cause underpayment and penalties! - It provided no mechanism for entering a return of capital (from dividends) adjustment on RSU shares -- basically there was no mechanism for reporting an incorrect 1099-B cost basis on these types of shares at all. Had to enter them as a normal stock sale instead. Even more bizarre when one considers that it *was* possible to report the correct adjusted cost basis on ESPP shares. - Nonetheless, its workflow for inputting ESPP sales was horribly obfuscated compared to prior versions of the product. Previously when entering investment sales, it would simply ask in the step-by-step workflow whether they were ESPP (or RSU, options, etc.) sales and then take you through the appropriate steps accordingly. Now you have to enter them generically, then click a little checkbox stuck in the middle of the ledger, then a button, and then select from a slew of options. - The handling of K-1s was clear as mud. Again the input flow didn't simply map a substantial majority of the numbered boxes on the K-1 documents to entries in TurboTax, making it tedious to figure out what is supposed to go where. It did a very poor job of handling the process for entering ordinary income versus other types of income, etc. - The handling of publicly traded partnership units resulting in K-1 reporting (e.g. MLP) was just plain broken. It tried to report the sale twice: once from when it imported the 1099-B from my broker and again from the data I had entered in the K-1 workflow. I only caught that it was going to cause me to pay tax twice on the transaction when I reviewed the final tax forms generated at the end for printout and filing. The workaround was very poorly documented and rather bizarre (though apparently in accordance with IRS guidance). Overall, it didn't make dealing with any of the complex parts of my tax situation easier, other than knowing what forms need to be filled out and providing for the data entry. A pretty high price for a glorified form generator -- I'm paying for this to help make things easier. Disappointing compared to past years. April 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by not free for deductions It's actually a great way to file return, especially for those who have not done it themselves. The instructions guide you every step of the way and there are windows for extra explanations if one is curious about something or has questions. However, in previous years, it had more features that were complimentary. This year the deductions that were included ended up costing me money to do a return which was disappointing considering all the time spent entering the info in, only to learn I had to pay to keep those itemized monies (and bigger return). I liked how it was offered a few years back. Will be looking for other ways to file next year. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellant This is something that everyone should use. The program walks you through every scenario possible, and even give you the option for representation if you get audited. Just great and easy to use April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is finished! I was desperate to get it done as soon as I could after the deadline! April 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 taxes was able to follow the steps but had some questions but answers were too generic. I'm just crossing my fingers to see if all is okay. I feel like I may not have gotten back everything I should have and would do a better job with going to someone. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellant program great program and easy to file April 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Online version good, purchased version better I have been using the purchased and installed version for many years. I like the way you can go from the questions to the forms now with ease. You can't seem to be able to do this with the online version and I don't like that. Sometimes I want to see where I am on the actual form. There are much too many questions when figuring the deduction for auto mileage for business if you want to just use the mileage method which is simple and not bother to put in information about the actual expenses method. I hate doing this - very time consuming and a waste if you know you are going to use the mileage method. You should be able to indicate that and just answer questions so you can use the mileage method. When you trade in one car for another there are also a lot of unnecessary questions about that which could be avoided in the mileage method. I also found the contributions part dealing with in-kind contributions rather burdensome. I would have liked to simply have used the form directly instead of answering all the questions -- too many. You have to be very careful how you answer some of the questions -- for example, if you are a full-time resident of a state, even if you actually live in two different states. You almost have to be a lawyer to answer some of these picky questions. One of the examples on allocating income or deductions between the federal and state had a mistake in figuring the percentage (in converting a percentage such as 44.05% to 0.44 (it said 0.45 incorrectly in the example). This needs to be changed because the example was wrong. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Software I have used Turbotax home & business for all my tax needs for a few years now. Love it! April 20, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Disappointed. Very hard to change or delete information once entered. Didn't catch errors that prevented me from filing or that got rejected in state returns. Didn't direct me to how to fix the errors rejected by the state, even though it has a button that says "help me fix this" I paid $65 for an extra state return and e-filing, which I couldn't e-file. Some of the questions aren't clear. I'm also disappointed they pushed the business tax capability from the Deluxe version up to a higher priced product. I'm seriously considering hiring a human next year even though it costs more. It will lower my frustration level. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by delay to finish It would be nice to get an E Mail for a follow up to find out why the income Tax wasn't completed after payment! Something should continue the prompts ! Its confusing cause it asked all those questions, then you don't think that you need to repeat after your payed gosh so i lost money for penalty : ( The only reason I checked was my husband asking about the money WOW I should have received an notification .really April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread I have used TurboTax for decades or at least since 1991. It had made it so easy to reach the bottom line. Also, I can see how future decisions will impact my tax liability for the following year. I can file my return without leaving my chair. Info from last year is imported into the current year. April 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not filed I paid for my filing fees and thought I had filed an electronic return on April 2nd. I was concerned that my state payment due had still not hit my checking account as of today--so I went to turbotax and was not happy to see that the return had not been filed. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made it easy Turbo tax is my friend. The walk throughs make sure I am filing a correct return. April 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by let us search for forms and go directly to the form. April 20, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fixing Mistakes Basic with non intuitive correction interface. April 20, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Confusing! I thought I had my return completed and submitted, when come to find out on 4/20 it wasn't filed. Now it's late. I hope next year's isn't as confusing or you've lost us as customers. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surfed my taxes My income is very simple, so I think turbo tax was the best program, easy to use, very friendly language, and they're little informative "learn more" notes in every section really saved me!!! I learned a lot about tax stuff, which I truly had no idea about. Thanks for a great online affordable tax filing system. April 20, 2015
  • 2015-05-25T13:17:49.377-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-27, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_181894, tr_181894
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 25 26 27 28 29 ... 3799 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.