1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 26 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(181055 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by More work this year April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxes for Dummies I love the fact that I can do my taxes by myself and know that all subjects are covered. This is the third year in a row that I did taxes on my own. I feel good about it. If there is anything I did not understand, there was a box to click to learn more. It did a good job of telling me what I need to do. Luckily, I only have to worry about w-2's and school stuff. Turbotax is a great way to file taxes. April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by 2014 return One week later I check on my return. It seems that it never was sent. We are devastated. April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 Filing late cost money April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Tax Refund Rocked! Turbo Tax makes filing your taxes so simplified, that an 8th grader could do it! Why spend a ton of fees through H & R Block, when Turbo Tax walks you through filing your taxes as simple as 1, 2. 3.? April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax is a godsend. Thank you for making tax time a max time --- maximum refund, minimum taxes! April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I survived paying taxes again this year! As has been the case every year, the little stuff was the problem to be surmounted. $200 worth of oil royalties took FOREVER to figure out. Medical expenses had to be laboriously accounted for ...and then could not be deducted. Etc. But when I needed help, I called for it and got it. Overall it was a decent experience and quite survivable. I'll no doubt do it again next year. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Simple So Fast Very simple and fast. Easiest tax returns I've ever filed. April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor help with deductions Your guidance of how to take a deduction for multiple meals contributed and provided for homeless families of the Family Promise of Lawton, Inc., and multiple meals we provided and contributed for ministry events at the Cameron Campus Ministry, Inc., and multiple meals we contributed and provided for church events at Centenary United Methodist Church for your and ministry events there was no effective and reasonable way to take that deduction. We have receipts for purchase of food and supplies for several contributions in each instance. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Ex[eroemce As usual it was very easy to use and near as I can tell was very accurate. I have used Turbo Tax for years and have never had any real problems with it. Much better experience than with CPA,s or tax attorneys I have used a few times. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by rejected state return turbo tax is my preferred software, it is easy and very helpful. I recommend it to others. This is the first time I missed some payer boxes. The state rejected it for this reason. Was surprized that Turbo tax did not pick up on it. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty easy Still not sure if my e-file will go through, but I am hoping it goes through this time. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Confusion I am a long time user of TT, but this time I came across a couple of confusing issues when I went to file and print my CA return that I intended to mail. I filed my fed return electronically, and chose not to file the state electronically. I printed out the "Return Only" for both federal and state at that point. When I came back to file my CA return (by mail), I pulled up the state return again and noted that it had certain pages (Side 2 CA (540) 2014 and (Side 3 Form 540 2014) that had electronic markings at the bottom. These markings did not show up on the forms that I had printed earlier. I had no idea which should be sent in to the state. I guessed and chose to file those pages with the electronic markings (RSQ?). Second issue - I generally refer to the first page printed out with instructions, in order to find the mailing address. In this case it showed zip as 94267-0009. My husband noted when signing the return, that instructions on the Form 540 showed that return with payment due should be mailed to zip code of 94267-0001. I verified that the latter was correct by going online at state website, but shouldn't have to take those extra steps to find out what is correct. It appears that your instructions were incorrect on the form printed with general instructions at beginning of the return. Thirdly, I thought that I had electronically submitted my parents' fed return on 3/25, but found out today that it was not submitted. I don't know what happened. Maybe I didn't complete all the steps. Don't recall, but remember submitting it. Submitted it late today. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Waaay Easier than I thought It's like tax filing for dummies. Its more detailed and easier to understand than any Tax pro I've ever met. Well worth the payment. I may never file with anyone else again. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest, most accurate return you'll ever complete I've been using Turbo-tax for several years. It is the easiest, most accurate way to complete a tax return. When finished with the federal it is just a few more steps to complete a state tax return. E-filing allows for automatic fund deposits of a refund or withdrawal of a tax payment balance due. I usually file my return several weeks before the April 15 deadline, but the amount I owe can be delayed until April 15. When I'm due a refund it is usually deposited within 7-10 days. There is immediate feedback when the filed return has been accepted. There are several methods of backup either paper or electronic formats. April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Awful for part year residency I used turbo tax for state part year residency for my husband and I for Virginia and Pennsylvania. I moved to Pennsylvania partway through the year while my husband stayed in VA. Even though I entered my move date and no move date for my husband. Turbo tax could not get it right when it came to attributing my husbands and my income to the right state. Even though I kept checking for an error. I eventually gave up and filed PA return by hand. Also, it would be nice if it had a box to check if you wanted all of a particular income entry attributed to just one state. In addition, for both federal and state, any time I needed to make changes/updates, I had to go through questions irrelevant to the change. You could rarely select just the page you need to change without needing to re-answer questions in that section, which was a real time sink. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014-1040 review I am retired low income citizen, hence no payment for both Fed and State Tax report. then you charge ~$30 for state report, seems too much for the poor. Hope you may provide a exception class for the retired low income people. April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Could not efile due to filing status but no option Unclear instructions: At end of filing, was prompted with the following: "Cannot efile because 'You have claimed your spouse's exemption on a return with a married filing separate status.' " The autofill form must have entered that I was CLAIMING my husband, but I did not claim him. The form must have automatically given the exemption for him. FURTHER, tried to efile State but required a credit card. I used my mother's credit card, THEN was prompted that I could NOT efile State, AFTER CHARGES WENT THROUGH!! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Turbo Tax program I have used Turbo Tax for the past few years and will continue to use year after year. It is easy and tells you where to find the information needed. If you have a question or get stuck, no worries they will help you. I can do my taxes in the privacy of my home and then e-file both my State and Federal when finished. I absolutely love this and have recommended it to several friends. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost perfect record, not this year thou I am a long time (10 yrs+) of TurboTax...never had a glitch, but if I did you could always go to the forms, even using the online version, and make any manual corrections required. Not this year, form access is only available on desktop version. As it turned out, this was the one year were form access would have saved me headaches and having to file for extension. I mistakenly put tutor income my wife earned on miscellaneous instead of starting a business form. When I tried to "clear out" the miscellaneous income fields TurboTax wouldn't respond. Eventually, I had to file for a tax extension, clear out all the data on my tax return...hours wasted...and start again. >:-( I will continue to be a loyal TurboTax customer, but I was extremely disappointed with having such a difficult time correcting a simple error...certainly a fail on that department. April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Over Charged After completing everything, I was able to determine that Home and Business section had zero inputs for my situation. I could have used a less costly version of the software, however the only way to change to a less costly version is to completely delete my original return and start all over. Amazing, TurboTax can transfer all y data when upgrading me to a software version that is higher, but doesn't have the capability to transfer my data to a lower version. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lived through another one! Understand that next year we'll have to use premier, not deluxe? April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome I liked the process it was smooth and simple to use I appreciate turbo tax April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excelent Service Thanks to Turbo tax for helping me out with my tax return. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by little things that keep it from being great Almost a great program. Here are the shortcomings, none of which are big enough for me to use another program. To e-file you need to leave the program and log on to the turbotax website. There is no link for this in the program, I had to find out about it on the help forum. The program just prepares a paper filing of the 4868. A real pain if you are trying to get extended at the last minute. When you go online to extend you have to put all your info in again. Although you can do several returns in the program, online you can only extend one. You have to open a new account to do another. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better Late Than Never Love TT and have used it for years! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've used Turbo Tax for years nough said Note on questions below: "Your Faimiy" I have a son, he is an adult not living with us. The answers to the questions don't include this possibiliy "Student Status" I was a student in 2014 and graduated To say "I'm not a student" is not enough April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I purchased TurboTax Home and Business version to file taxes for a lawn care business is started last year. When I installed it, for some reason, it thought I had the Premier version and wouldn't let me fill out the section for self-employment. After about 30 minutes on the phone with customer service, they finally resolved this issue. Then when I got to my State return, the program wouldn't download the correct paperwork for my state return. After about an hour on the phone, customer service was finally able to resolve this problem as well. These glitches seem totally unnecessary for a program that has been around this long. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by ENCRYPTION PASSWORD DUD April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Easy Thank you Turbo Tax for all the reminders to file on time AND with the click of one button I was ready to start. Quick & Easy. Almost a no-brainer. April 16, 2015
  • 2015-04-26T13:04:17.318-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-26, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_180968, tr_180968
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 24 25 26 27 28 ... 3780 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.