1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 24 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184772 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184773 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Came Up Short I've apparently reached a stage where TT is not up to doing the complete job. I would like 1)ability to adjust qualified dividends for Form 1116 2)ability to test whether $ could be saved by not claiming children as dependents so that they could take tuition tax breaks. 3)ability to retrieve numbers from other returns for Form 8615 purposes. On NY return, I had a problem with TT not allowing tuition credit and checking the determining box for it incorrectly. A long session with knowledgeable TT agent on the phone admitted that it was a "limitation". On the bright side, kudos to TT for restoring expected forms to various versions of TT. They're listening. Finally, I'd like more up-front transparency re: State Return cost, state e-filing cost. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 Could not tell also from Turbo Tax for situations where extension was filed, and final tax differed (owed less than original projection) if there was a need to file only the final return or if we needed to file an amended return. Suspect the former, but not certain! My return in turbo tax didnt note that I had filed for an extension by mail -- The IRS had cashed my check. so I was certain they had noted my extension! Generally love Turbo Tax!!! Have used it for years! October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice again TurboTax once again made filing easy. The tax code is tremendously complicated for an individual but this program makes it so much easier. What I'd like to see added is a more thorough, but simple, explanation of the return as you go through it. It's very good now but I always have that nagging feeling that I'm missing something because it is so difficult to understand all the deductions. It would help to better compare the details from the previous year's return as opposed to just a total of what was deducted last year, and what caused the differences. All-in-all a great program. Thank you. October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Complicated Taxes - Made Easy or Am I Oblivious? We have a fairly complicated return that has gotten more complicated each year - W-2s, 1099-R, investments, dividends, small business, rental properties, etc. I put an awful lot of trust into Turbo Tax, since I end up paying lots of Alternative Minimum Tax and since some of my deductions are reduced due to income levels. I hope and pray that my faith is valued. There was quite a problem at the start of the 2014 return process - I had to get additional disks sent to me, and while the associates were very helpful, I still don't quite know if all of it was correct. I'm most disturbed that I used the software for filing my extension, and then I had to fat-finger in the amount "again" when I actually filed my return. Thank goodness I "caught" that software mistake. I'm filing my taxes but I'm considering taking all of my printouts to a CPA to see if I actually did it all correctly or if I missed anything. I didn't used to feel that way. I look forward to getting back to that point with Turbo Tax... October 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I will use another tax program next year. I was in the middle of doing my return and tried to update information, such as simple oil and gas royalties from last years return. I wouldn't let me, and directed me to upgrade to Turbotax business to continue. Very irritating, especially since time was of the essence. Next year, I will be using a different product. October 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by cant believe it didnt include all forms Can't believe that I had to pay $30 extra to get rental forms and that they hadn't fixed this for the updates (I filed an extension). Incredible, given the horrible press Intuit received this past year for this. October 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Frustrated I started using TurboTax Deluxe in 2002, and have used it every year since. I have always purchased TurboTax Deluxe. I have several rental properties, and I keep track of rental expenses using Quicken Essentials on my Apple Mac. I use spreadsheets to itemize all rental expenses, and spreadsheets for large purchase house improvement items that need to be depreciated. In past years, I only entered rental income and total rental expenses into TurboTax Deluxe so it could process Schedule E. I attached a copy of the rental expenses spreadsheet (for each property) to Schedule E when mailed to IRS. TurboTax Deluxe for 2014 would not allow me to make the two entries I needed (for each rental property) so I could printout Schedule E. I was forced to upgrade to TurboTax Premier and pay an extra $30. Really FRUSTRATED with TurboTax this year. October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Finished in Time This is my first time using Turbo Tax. I was really surprised at how easy it was. It was also very helpful when I needed questions answered even directing me to IRS and state contact information. October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Helpful Been using TurboTax for many years, every once in a while come up with a wrinkle, but it all works out in the end. October 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Frustrated Grabbed Basic as has been my experience in previous years, only to find out that in 2014, it does not allow certain things I needed. I was prompted to buy Deluxe, which I did. 45 minutes later, I was told my Deluxe version would not accommodate my Sch C needs, and I needed to buy Home Office. I was frustrated. Sherrie in Customer Service was quite helpful when I called, and she did not charge me for the last upgrade to Home Office. In addition, I understand that the negative changes to Basic in 2014 will be changed for 2015. In 2014, the changes were not for the better . . . not as user friendly. And I'm a numbers guy ! October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid -- But Room for Improvement Had to go into forms frequently to erase duplicative expense items and correct balance sheet items. Rounding error not easily entered as asset or liability. If your customer is expecting step-by-step will do it all, they are going to be frustrated. October 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty good, but ... Just finished preparing my returns, and found Turbo Tax both easy to use and frustrating. I was especially frustrated with the rollover from the previous year. It didn't include some items, such as business vehicle depreciation, that I input the year before. I had to locate the same information from last year and that slowed down the progress. It also used some terms unfamiliar to me, such as AMT, and gave no definition or suggestion as to where I might find the information (such as what form or line on the previous year's return). I will likely use Turbo Tax next year, but if I run into the same issues, that will be the last. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great As Usual! Been using Turbo Tax for 5 years now! Never disappointed with it! October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still rocks after 30 years This is my 30th tax return in TurboTax. Shouldn't need to say much more than that. If your return is easy, you don't need to pay for software. If your return is complicated, you can pay an accountant/tax preparer or you can pay TurboTax. The tax preparer will just walk you through the same interview, or ask you for forms that are just as complicated. This year: employment in two states, main residence rented out. Lots of unusual complications. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally did my Taxes Easy to use by anyone. Great Job TT October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Rolling Refund I loved how easy it was to use. Free electronic filing quickly set up. I am a repeat customer and I will continue to remain with turbo tax. I love Turbo Tax. Thank you! October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Needed Help To Succeed I have used TurboTax several years...this was more complicated, but I filed successfully. Thanks! October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hard to keep back-up of return file I did my taxes on a laptop, but need to archive on desktop. It is backed up regularly. The tax return file permissions would not let me transfer by CD. I had to email the file and drag it to the 2015 TT folder on my desktop. New security a bother - but not all that secure either. I keep a CD backup of files in filing cabinet. I can see that that is now useless. October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by First time with TurboTax Sometimes I knew just where I wanted to go, but it was necessary to go through several screens one by one to get where I needed to be. October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by E-filing Users should be able to E-file year round. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax Evaluatiom Always a great servive. Thanks again for all the years through 2014. Not anxious to start 2015 but glad you are here for me. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Tax Software I've been using TT for a long time. It's the best. October 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Form 3800 and Form 6765 Foreign Tax Credits not easily linked to K-1 form input. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Great product that saved me time and money. October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tedious, but easy and awesome! Honestly, this is the best and easiest way to file your taxes. It also saves you the cost of having to pay a "tax professional" when this software does it. In fact, I'm pretty sure they probably use the exact same software...they probably just rebrand it and label their software after whatever their company's called (i.e., "INSERT TAX PREP COMPANY'S NAME" Tax Software). Seriously, do yourself a major favor and use TurboTax to get an awesome return by filing your taxes yourself. October 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Online Frustration I do not want to use your product On-line. I still want to download to my computer and spend as much time on it as I want (months)... But trying to go On-line to purchase is 1 big pain in the ..neck. I just finished my 2014 Return and saw where you could sign up for next years Turbo Tax at a discount. I have just spent twenty minutes trying to purchase and am giving up. Kept adding TT 2014 to the shopping list, like 2015 is not available..... I also remember the huge pain it was to purchase TT 2014 online.... Finally found where someone else had complained to find the solution on how to get the download. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historic Review and Comments Over the years TurboTax has been getting easier to use and provides better explanations on individual entries --- if called up (also good, they can be enlarged --- for "aged eyes" (but had to do some "scouting" to find the "boxed A" to do so). Most obvious problem: could not find the correct entries for pre-payments of taxes of Fed and State Taxes in the earlier request for "Extensions"; may be "available" but did not "obviously" come up in "surfing" through the "help-systems". System was excellent in allowing "back-stepping" many screens without problems and relatively easy return to last position in the preparation sequence without data losses. Same if by error or on purpose one left TurboTax --- one always got back to the last spot, by clicking on the red circle in the lower page margin --- ABSOLUTELY MARVELOUS! --- but I would suggest a feature TurboTax had in "older" issues: a prominent button to SPECIFICALLY SAFE all prior work --- to activate (AND BE CERTAIN) when one "calls it a day" / when one did enough of Taxes --- or just wants "to be certain": a "comfort button" --- even though your program seems to have this feature already automatically "built-in"! It was with a sigh of relief, when I clicked on the "red circle" that the last, old screen came up again --- never certain that I did not do a stupid thing, that "wiped out" all the prior work! Bottom Line: would not know how I would get along with the IRS without your ever improving program! THANKS! October 12, 2015
  • 2016-02-08 T06:56:07.237-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-24, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184773, tr_184773
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 22 23 24 25 26 ... 3861 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.