1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 2 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184766 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184764 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience...only problems were with my inep Great way to prepare your taxes! We've used Turbo Tax for at least 10 years and have had no problems except the ones we created. We had to place a call to the help line and the tech stayed on the phone with my husband for over an hour trying to solve the computer problem created when we went beyond the October 15th deadline. Word to the wise.....DON'T EVER DO THAT!!!!! November 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by updates and erros November 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Time Disappointment I have used Turbo Tax since it was first introduced and have recommended it everyone I know. However, this year I was very disappointed when I first bought Turbo Tax Deluxe, then, secondly had to return it for a refund and purchase Turbo Tax Premier, and then, thirdly when I failed to get the $25 rebate because I did not file my taxes until October 15, at which time I read that I had missed the deadline by a bunch. Very disappointed!! November 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very thorough with supporting information and prompts. I am very confident in using this product and will continue to use it in the years to come November 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Expat Tax Filing Living abroad, I've spent a lot of money on online tax agencies specialized in handling expat returns. With the soaring exchange rate between the peso and the dollar, last year the cost was simply ridiculous and I posted on an American Expat Facebook Community asking for suggestions. The #1 recommendation I received was Turbo Tax and for the first time in my life, I actually had fun doing my taxes. The step-by-step windows turned this despised task into a relatively simple exercise. All the relevant rules applying to expats (e.g., foreign income exemptions, FATCA, etc.) are already incorporated into the software, so I didn't have to go fishing around the internet looking for answers. I finished my filing by myself in just one sitting which is pretty amazing. I give this product my highest recommendation. November 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Filed 2014 but no record of filing No matter what I do when I sign into Turbo Tax it will always say on the tax timeline in an orange box "complete a 2014 return". I have already did that with Turbo Tax and both Federal and State accepted and gave me refunds. November 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made it simpler! Seems to get easier year as taxes get more complicated. November 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by great product , easy y use, affordable November 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Why doesn't it offer to e-file Louisiana taxes? Even though the period for e-filing federal returns is closed, the period for efiling in our state (with extensions) is open. BUt TT does notoffer to efile (and I do not believe it has in past years, when I was within the period when federal e-filing was open). I could file on line with the state without TurboTax, but it requires going through all the questions again (by the state) and figuring out what form goes where, etc. I can print the return from Turbo Tax and mail it in & did. But this required figuring out what forms the state requires be attached to mailed returns--Turbo Tax did not identify the need to attach homeowner policy declaration. TurboTax seems to want me to attach the federal 1040 though I seem to be below the threshold for this, but I will do it in case I missed something. Because TT does not offer to efile the state taxes I am left figuring things out, reading state instructions (not just one page, since instructions about attachments are interspersed throughout the state Instructions) and assembling. Less than a satisfactory solution. November 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Efile unexceptable I have a fiscal year 2015 company and file a 2014 return with a filing deadline of November 15, 2015. The program will not let me efile as it is saying it is after the due date. November 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I love Turbo Tax. I ran my own company and last year I paid a CPA to do my taxes at a steep cost. This year I decided to try Turbo Tax and I was amazed how easy it was to follow. Great software. Now can we talk about the cost??? November 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Business Turbo Tax Review Turbo-Tax software is easy to follow and makes filing our corporate tax return an easy process. November 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Initial corporate tax return Orderly progression of details, followed by complete filing instructions and online payment of taxes due. Additional forms for state filing and vouchers for next years installment payments. Plan to use again next year and anticipate all historical data to be populated automatically into next year's return, without re-entry of basic data and accumulations. November 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as good as last year Resolved when I found the phone number for Intuit, and received help from Linda. Went smoothly after that November 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inadequate capabilities The program cannot handle refunds from bankrupt investments like Lehman Brothers Trying to find my tax rate for 2015 following filing the 2014 returns your search engine could not provide any relevant hits for the search. November 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Like it alot-alot!!! Turbo Tax is easy to use. I like that I can easily get just a little explanation or very detailed about the different tax subjects. November 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by RETURN WAS REJECTED November 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by 2014 Turbotax Deluxe is poor this year Unlike years past, Turbotax deluxe didn't support even simple schedule E calculations so I had to pay to upgrade to "premier" - which was in fact less useful than Duluxe of prior years. Further, the NC state tax never asked if my pension was a military pension, which is tax exempt in NC. Had I not double checked and figured out how to modify the return in forms mode , I would have had to overpay by thousands of dollars. (There was no guidance for this in "help") November 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by review COuldn't enter the date for amazon bonus and could not go back to remove the fact that we didn't have a dependent care provider for my daughter not sure why. November 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Useless Upgrade to Home & Business I am unhappy that Turbo Tax forced me to upgrade to Home & Business. I have a very small uncomplicated business that requires the Schedule C. The Home & Business version promised more tax guidance, but it actually was exactly the same for me, except for some annoying mandatory itemizations that were completely unnecessary for me because I always do better with the Standard Deduction. COMPLETE WASTE OF MONEY. I will go with freeware next year. Fix this problem TURBO TAX or say goodbye to a loyal customer of 10+ years. November 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I'm Back Returned to Turbo Tax due to retirement. No need to hire experts when I know my returns are going to be much simpler. I am astute enough to continue on my own. November 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Non-resident State I updated turbotax before doing my 2014 yet I still had to locate information that was not where stated. Ex. It would say "line 38 or your Hawaii return" but line 38 did not exist. It was line 39. It happened again when I had to indicate the ratio, which was on a line different from what Turbotax stated. Very annoying. The other problem is: I don't understand why if I used Turbotax for last year's return I still have to go calculate the portion of a state refund that is now taxable. In fact, none of the information seems to be pulled from the prior return. Why am I being asked for what I got in child & dependent care credits or what my state itemized deductions were for last year. Shouldn't all that info be transferred over? Again annoying and time consuming. November 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by helped greatly November 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by frustrated I have been trying to figure out for 3 weeks how to go back & add more business deductions to my return. Without knowing it wasn't able to do that, I went ahead and did the review which then went to file. I am very frustrated & obviously VERY late getting my taxes in after the extension date passed. November 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I have been using TurboTax for several years and have always found it very helpful, but this year I had a number of frustrations: - Getting delayed and having to pay extra just to complete a one-page Schedule C - I know Schedule D is getting more complex, but the screens had difficulties and line items kept getting deleted. I would suggest looking at whether there are issues that can be fixed. - Your program doesn't do a good job a explaining why a state credit is not being received, only that I wasn't receiving it which was confusing. I had to do a lot of trial and error with the numbers to figure out why. November 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this program!! Have used Turbo Tax for years. Great easy to use program but a little sad that they offer the free options to some, taking income away from tax preparers November 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No one needs to know my business but the IRS! I have filed my own taxes for years, it is not that difficult as long as you keep your records in one place. Using Turbo Tax makes it so much easier, just enter the requested info, and it guides you through the process. I've found out about credits I didn't realize I qualified for, which decreased the amount of taxes I paid. The best part is I don't have to go to any of those Tax Filing Services and discuss my finances in public. Those places remind me of car dealerships. No Thank You! I much prefer doing it on my own time in my own home and having the benefit of the TurboTax Review. Gives me added peace of mind before filing. Thanks TurboTax! November 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't live without Turbo Tax! I have been using Turbo Tax since it first arrived for myself and my business, and my daughters' taxes. Intuit and their Turbo Tax products have proven to be thorough, stable, and secure. I appreciate that the software is current on tax law and that each year I am educated on what to do. I feel the price is an excellent value, given what it would cost me to have some outside firm perform the work. Thank you for creating an understandable, thorough, coherent, easy-to-use program for the Everyman! November 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by State CA K-1 form (568) vs. CA K-1 Form 565-HoBis Had Fed Schedule K-1 form 1065 and TurboTax Home and Bisiness would only generate CA K-1 Form 565 when we had a CA K-1 form 568. Tried to use CA K-1 (568) and TT would not use the input data! Please fix! November 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Rules Meets Need for Home and Business I've used Turbo Tax for Home and Business for over five years. Each year, the software helps me to have confidence that my taxes have been prepared accurately while ensuring that I receive the deductions for which I am entitled. I like the ease in entering information and the prompts that answer questions that I might have about different tax terms and forms. I'm a loyal Turbo Tax and Intuit customer. I'll be buying the 2015 edition as soon as it becomes available. November 5, 2015
  • 2015-11-29 T09:55:49.505-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184764, tr_184764
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 3860 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.