1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 18 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(183887 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 183753 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by The save to PDF is very convenient. September 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helped me file a very complicated review I have a very complicated return, and I've used TurboTax for several years and trust it to help complete the return completely and accurately. When I used a tax preparer I still had to gather all of the data and analyze it, this saves me that fee. I used a CPA once and very expensive. TurboTax will even represent me if audited by the IRS. Worth the money. Great tool. September 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by "Enjoy" the Process Have used TurboTax 10 plus years. Makes an important process manageable and bearable. Saving previous year's info. to build into current year's return is a big help. September 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by SC Hickup September 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still a pain to fix errors I had some duplicate entries. It was pain to find them individually and fix them. The files being created should have a search capability to find specific entries and fix them. I saved mine as An adobe file to search for any duplicates. Then I went back to the software and removed one entry at a time. Filling schedule k-1 is a pain. It makes no sense for me to split each k-1s into two after entering all the information and being told at the point of review that since I had entries in Boxs 1 and 2, I need to file separate K-1s. If that is the case, why does the software not point it out at the time of entry? Going back and fixing k-1s is a pain. Guys, do something about these. September 7, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Frustrated in Florida I have used Turbo Tax for years . Unfortunately, each year the program is becoming more difficult and giving me more reason to look for another product that is ore IRS explainable user friendly . September 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tool for doing taxes. I think it is a great tax software. The price is high but if you would include one state e-file, it would seem more fair. September 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbotax Business pros - Work well and asked questions that helped guide me through filing for our small S-corp. Could use some more detailed helps or examples without going to the forums. cons- -- How about a splash screen right at the start that warns to turn off all fire walls, etc. Warn of any "normal" issues before installation so the user can handle issues with out resorting to online help (which is slow). -- Make it easier to find!!! Once I log into my account there should be a place to get ALL turbo tax products somewhere on the screen. Most people with a business have to file more that one return. I had to go out on the internet to find TurboTax Business - frustrating and bad marketing, I might find something else. September 7, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Multiple Shutdowns I experienced 10-12 shutdowns when I tried to delete or edit assets on my Schedule C. The cost to e-File is too expensive. It really shouldn't cost anything since this is an electronic transaction and since I encountered numerous issues with the software. September 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by big improvements this has really come a long way and makes tax prep very speedy September 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works for me I have used TT business for so many years I have forgotten when I started. Makes it easy to transfer information and prompts for entries made in prior years so as to promote consistency. May be other programs, that taken in isolation, would be less expensive or some reviewers might think work better but as a repeat user I am satisfied. September 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Now have to pay for Schedule C? I absolutely love TurboTax, but was bothered by the fact that it was an additional $10 this year to finish a Schedule C. I have a full time job and a sideline business, and in previous years this was part of the individual filing plan. Feels like a way to get a few bucks more out of folks ... I paid it, but was grumpy. September 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too many online issues. I've used TT now for 10-15 years, but my overall satisfaction has bee decreasing over the last few years. The chages they've made for educating filers has changed dramatically and leaves me feeling a little less confident in my return every year. I think overall TT continues to do a good job with federal returns, however I've always felt that their support for WI-state returns was weak. There are too many cases where they ask the filer if adjustments in WI calculations are necessary, instead of advising the filer as I would expect. For the 2014 return I had lots of online issues. It started with my initial online purchase of TT Deluxe. After making the purchase TT started me with the online filing instead of downloading the software as I've always done. I was actually 30 minutes into it before I even realized that they were doing an online file. From there it took me an hour or more to use their online help to find out how to get a downloadable version. Then I had to deal with the special allowance they made for long-term Deluxe users to not require an upgrade to Premier. I ended up filing an extension and came back to my taxes a few months after April. However, I had a new computer and had to re-download the software. 1-2 hours of getting through their online help to figure out how to do that. But, it got worse. The newly downloaded software now required I pay the $30 for an upgrade to Premier and it also wanted me to pay $39+ for the free state download. 3-4 hours later going through their online help I figured out how to talk to a real person. 3 calls and 90 minutes later I had my state software. And to TT's credit, they refunded my $30 for the upgrade. We'll see what happens next year, but at the momment I think I'm paying someone to do my returns from here on out. It has been a good run. September 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by easy to use, but cryptic erros and QB import - lol The Q&A format is pretty good, and seems thorough, and the annoyuances (see below) I can live with so in over 10- years of using QB and TT, I've never had the import form QB feuter work. muche asier to just ahve my P&L on the screen and tyypoe the numbers in. Doesn't seem to matter if the tax lines are in QB properly, still don't get matched. And there is always a random errors message somewhere " "An error occurred" is one of my favorites from this year. Also, even thought where were no errors, the save as PDF dialog said there were errors on the return. I hope they can get QBonline integration running for 2015. And the questions below about me personally are none of your business. If you want a review fine, but if you are really trying to sharpen your demographic understanding of your customers, too bad. September 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greatest invention since Accountants Overall, I am very happy with it. Been using it for 10 years. Although it is compatible with QB, I have not tried importing my figures. It seems to take a long time to import it, so I give up. My next obstacle to overcome will be using TurboTax on my MAC computer. September 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best thing going for personal taxes All in all still the best way to do simple to moderately complex personal taxes without having to pay for an accountant. The only draw back is a certain amount of "trust me" when it announces that after putting in a bunch of details (education expenses for example) that your deduction is -0- ... the answer was correct but you have to go to forms and read the limitations to understand why. A mid-level explanation is also given but in the case of education expenses I didn't find that very helpful. None the less I highly recommend this product for anyone who's comfortable doing their own taxes. It makes an onerous task much easier and greatly reduces the chance to make mistakes. September 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks for helping get a refund While you are working on one area it should show you other optional forms where your date might be used. eg rental income has two places for mortgage interest if you have a multiple dwelling. September 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but no cigar September 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very thorough The process was long, but necessary as our tax code is so complicated. I am very happy with TurboTax. September 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Home & Business AS I said above, I have used Turbo Tax for our business since the beginning. It has always been very helpful in filing our taxes as well as our children's taxes. As of the middle of last year we have retired and closed our business. This will be the last time we have to file business taxes. Thank You for all your help. I am also a Quick Books Pro user. I love that program also. September 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Serious but not fatal problems One needs to be connected to the internet to print. This is absolutely nuts. I am not always connected. When I did electronic filing it found more "errors" (simply empty boxes). It should have found these during its normal error checking. If not it should not have me go through the entire efile process again. Also, charitable donations should be in alphabetical order! September 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by This version of the software is awful The program would not properly download my free state edition and it took three separate tries and even then it took special handling. As a result I was forced to file for extensions. When it was time to file my taxers after getting the state edition to work, the program would not connect to Intuit in order to file the return electronically forcing me to file by mail. I will need to really think long and hard about ever using this program again and do not recommend it. September 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some Improvement Over Last Year Each year the process of preparing return seems to become more complicated. 2014 was no different. However, there was improvement over previous year & to TurboTax credit, there were more necessary forms & complications due to medical insurance business. Found this year, a certain portion of my income couldn't be covered with Premier program, it was necessary to upgrade to the home & business, or whatever it's called in order to complete the return. Overall, this is still the best way of preparing ones return, without paying a fortune to accounting professional, if one is capable of handling the stress. I would suggest those with more complicated returns, pay the little extra, to obtain advice from the TurboTax professionals & allow them to personally guide you. Was noticing some of the questions & they were confusing to me, those individuals need to be speaking with the professionals. Hope to continue to see vast improvements in TT program, although it would be easier if IRS didn't throw monkey wrench into the mix changing everything up every year. Thanks for the opportunity to voice opinion that this is still the best self-prepare tax program around!!! Shall continue using it, just must upgrade to higher level for 2015. September 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by simplified my taxes turbo tax needs to be able to update forms when information is changed. At times during the review forms have information that they should not have because you used the section and then realized you did not need it. This needs fixing. September 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The state tax calculations are very opaque. September 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2013 no ability to do taxes last and still add to turbo tax September 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Adequate I've used turbotax for years. most of the sections are straightforward and easy. unfortunately, the section regarding the balance sheet is tricky. September 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but needs tweeks See Con's. September 3, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Slow Slow to load, slow to uninstall, slow to update. Even this review took over 3 minutes to load. Update caused errors. Shut down computer and had to reload TT14. 4 days after reload had to do again because more errors kept me from accessing my tax file. Repair is ineffectual. Iv'e used TT before without problems. September 3, 2015
  • 2015-10-13T11:33:24.013-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-18, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_183753, tr_183753
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 16 17 18 19 20 ... 3837 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.