1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 1713 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(181055 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Breezy Easy program to use. Very informative. Cost :( March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product Have been using Turbotax for the last ten years. I keep coming back because it is extremely user-friendly. It produces a complete return and the maximum refund. I look forward to using it well into the future. March 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy refund I am the person who hates having to go to the accountants office during this time of the year. I always put it off until last minute. So I decided to try turbo tax. I do not know what took me so long to try this. Its easy, fast and affordable. The search bar has tons of questions that had great answer. If you do not know what a question means specifically there are "explain this" options which are very helpful. I am happy with my return and with how easy it was March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love turbo tax I really love turbo tax, I can do it sitting at home on my computer without having to leave the house March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by thumbs up! Turbo Tax is easy to use & has great explanations. They use layman's terms. What I like most is that I can "play around" with hypothetical numbers to see how it effects the amount of my tax refund (i.e. charitable donations, retirement contributions, homeowner deductions, etc.) March 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by simple and understandable I've used turbotax for the last 7 years and I've always been happy with all my returns. My only gripe would be the time it takes and I wish it just "magically" knew all of the answers I have to go through. March 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Guided me through quickly Everything was great until the end. The NetSpend Card didn't bring over the address I entered on the tax form but entered a street I didn't recognize as my address and there was no way for me to correct the error. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excelent Product I have used turbo tax now for 5 years and i love everything about it. I have zero stress when doing my taxes and it covers so much stuff in such a way that it is not overwhelming to me. I only had one problem this year and i still cannot figure out what it was. when i saved my return and had to come back to it i tried to open it and i kept getting an error(539 i think). it was driving me crazy. Finally i got so frustrated and just uninstalled turbo tax and reinstalled it and it worked like a champ. Breezed through the rest of the return and filed it no problem. I LOVE THIS PRODUCT. March 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by All appears OK Will continue to use Turbo tax in the future because it does the job. March 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by i didn't expect. . . The first half of 2014, I was still receiving severance pay from my last job. In 2014 I started receiving SSI for being unable to work. I am not sure if Turbo Tax correctly used this information. When I first started my return, it looked like my return was going to be several thousand dollars. When I put in the SSI, I OWED money! I'm hoping that 2015 will be better, as SSI will be my only source of income. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Customer Service I had trouble getting the program to continue past the payment section while e-filing my state return. My bank account showed that I had paid the $27.99, but TurboTax wouldn't let me continue. I called their help line, and one of their representatives worked through the problem and upgraded me for free. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Refund I'll use TurboTax again next year. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome It was really easy to use, very helpful, great tips and covered all major issues/topics. March 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too expensive for the time investment. I might go back to my tax accountant after this year. I pay him $180 to do my taxes and spend about 1 hour with him. I used turbo tax last year and it was $59.99, this year it was $129.99, for that price I just as well save the time and have the accountant do it next year. 1 hour with him at $180 instead of 4 hours on line and paying $129.99, for 50 bucks I can save myself 3 hours. Probably worth the extra time and not use Turbo Tax next year. Worth it at around $50 buck, but not at $130 bucks. March 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by $10k too much tax; code not fixed for >12 months I have two sons in college. I took distributions from two 529 plans to pay for tuition and room and board. When I entered the expenses in TurboTax, by default it set aside (that is, subtracted from Form 1099Q Line 18) $10k for each son to try to qualify for the various education deductions. Then it checked whether I qualified for any of the education deductions, and concluded my income was too high. But, after concluding I wasn't eligible for any education deductions, it didn't add the $20k back to Line 18 on Form 1099Q, so it calculated that I had $20k of "excess" 529 distributions, taxable at my 39.5% marginal tax rate plus a 10% penalty, thereby erroneously increasing my taxes by nearly $10k. I caught this by reviewing the actual tax forms and recognizing that something was wrong. Then I searched on the TurboTax discussion forum and found that this problem has been known for at least one year but never fixed. Exceedingly disappointing. March 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Product but losing confidence in Intuit I've used Turbo Tax for as long as it's been on the market and felt I got an excellent product at a fair price. This year I bought my usual package and found that it didn't handle my tax situation any longer. I upgraded (fortunately free by the time I encountered this change# and then found my upgrade was not adequate requiring another upgrade #also free#. I don't know what to expect next year. In addition, notice that Turbo Tax is heavily discounted to the general public #such as in Costco) but automatic renewals pay the full price. Not the best way to generate loyalty. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks TurboTax! I would highly recommend this to anyone! March 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by hsa distribution After I realized by having someone check mine after filing, that I filed that I received money from my HSA account, I never did. Would like to see a message after selecting the distribution that you ask are you sure you received a payment from your hsa account. or a ? that says what this means, not in legalese terms either. something simple like if you received this money you will be taxed as income. I would have realized my mistake then March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply the Best! Turbo Tax is the way to go. Saves time and money. It is cheaper than any other Tax places. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Peazy!!! I'm a banker by day. I was very impressed with how easy it was to follow and very through without feeling tedious. That is really hard thing to do with dealing with financial information I have used an accountant for the last 14 years and was determined to do this "on my own." TurboTax is the perfect balance of professional help and independence. I'm very pleased. March 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, it was helpful to me, I am the one who doesn't know the accounting well. But I did it. Thanks turbo March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Times This is my first time filing my taxes without my dad's help and I was a little worried that I would be overwhelmed with financial jargon. Turbo Tax made it very simple, easy and fast to file my taxes. Now I can check off "doing my own taxes" from my grown up to-do list! March 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy in TN Like being able to save my work and come back as time allows. Tax returns are handy anywhere you have internet. Had a small issue where I could not get the Startup Expense sheet to go away... had to pass an $0 expense along with an incurred date. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The first My dad keep asking me to go with him to make his taxes and spend $70 just to get it done. I couldn't find the time because we have different schedules and also I didn't want to spend $70. I am greatly happy that I could finish it on my terms and it was easy like really easy. March 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by beats doing by hand beats taking it to tax service and paying big bucks March 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Generic Would like to see more personal/ intuitive selections. Feel like you should be well versed and prepared in tax benefits, deductions, payments ect.. in order to feel confident after filing with TurboTax. TurboTax is very thorough and does a decent attempt at explaining the many terms, however, you feel like you're on your own to figure them out. TurboTax could go the extra mile that many personal tax preppers go to make you feel more confident about the information you enter. March 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not so good trying to find my 2013 on Turbotax Disgusted with Turbotax website inability to bring up or locate my 2013 return tax files. Would have been very helpful to have the 2014 copy info from the 2013. Although all the help pages provided instructions that appeared logical, nothing worked. Having used Turbotax for many years, I am very disappointed. March 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by This service has always been a (10) This year I was very disappointed. Their checking system missed that my SS# was wrong and my tax forms were rejected. It was a small error but it makes me wonder if they missed anything else... March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Thank you for making Tax season easy and less stressful. I have used Turbo Tax for several years now and continue to be very happy with this program!! March 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easy to use - but I was bitten by version changes I still like the 2014 TT software, but I was surprised when I needed to enter Schedule E information, and I was asked to upgrade (it was no longer part of Deluxe). This delayed my ability to complete my taxes because I was unwilling to pay for something "extra" which should have been part of the original purchase. TT wrote an apology, but there is no indication that next year I won't have a similar problem. We'll have to wait and see. (Customer service reaction was fairly quick and appropriate, so they have not lost a customer yet). March 11, 2015
  • 2015-04-26T13:06:38.143-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1713, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_180968, tr_180968
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 1711 1712 1713 1714 1715 ... 3780 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.