1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 1480 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182320 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Way to do Taxes This was my first time filing taxes not using a tax attorney, and it was super easy! I'd recommend this to any first-time tax filers. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My friend TurboTax I have used TurboTax for several years, finding it easy to use and straightforward -- except for two problems: 1. New York State taxes interest on municipal bonds from other states. If the bond pays interest directly to you, the information is easy to enter. But if you have 0% coupon bonds, interest falls under the "Original Issue Discount" (OID) category; your broker will tell you the amount, but it is not reported to IRS and therefore not a direct entry to the system. I finally figured out the answer: treat the OID as if it were a direct payment. TurboTax didn't explain this; I had to figure it out. 2. There is no way with TurboTax to enter the charitable gift portion of a Deferred Gift Annuity. In my case, the gift was through stock transfer; which can easily be entered into the system; but the amount of the deduction is less than the amount transferred. When I made the gift I was given a sheet of calculations to attach to my tax return; but there's no way to attach that to an e-filed return. I called the TurboTax Help line for advice; we finally figured out that if I reduced the transfer values proportionate to the amount I was entitled to claim, the practical result would be the correct amount. In this case, I was entitled to claim 71% of the totaltransferred; by adjusting share amounts by 71% I was able to generate a result within 12 cents of the number I needed! So the Help desk and I were able to make TurboTax do the job. March 21, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by 2014 I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS PROBLEM WITH TURBO TAX BEFORE BUT THIS YEAR TURBO TAX KEPT FREEZING UP WOULD HAVE TO END WHAT I WAS DOING & GO BACK INTO TURBO TAX & START OVER March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by very easy to use. great hints when you're not sure March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home and office made it easy to file! This year preparing my taxes was the easiest ever. Thanks to whatever bad thing happened to TurboTax, when I answered an interview question about my home office I got an upgrade to the Home and Office product - I guess I should have been buying that the past few years. Wow. Simple questions, answer them and my taxes were correct (as far as I can tell) for the first time in a few years. I've always had the problem where some number appears on the wrong line or the wrong form, and I had to make a few long phone calls and long internet searches to figure out how to get those things to move to the right place. Not this time - everything was where it was supposed to be the first time! I don't have complicated taxes but I do have a consulting business (with very little income) so a few times I gave up trying to get the deduction I knew I could have just because it was so complicated to figure out how to get it. This year I know I got it. I am very satisfied with the product, the interview questions, and the easy e-filing. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Turbo Tax I have been using Turbo Tax for over 10 years and I've never had any problems. I've told many friends about this product and it works! March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recognizing the manner and code used by employers to report HSA deductions on the W-2....government, banking institutions and and Intuit could do a better job leading individuals through the HSA reporting and accounting processes. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and easy Simple and easy to enter data and keeps a historical record of previous tax returns. March 21, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cost for the cost of turbo tax I can get an accountant and make sure its done even better March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rocked My Refund This was my first time filing taxes and it was pretty easy no thanks to turbotax March 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very helpful easy to understand March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Tax Return Our tax return is very simple and I don't feel the cost is appropriate for the complexity of our return. March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stuggled with filing status Changed filing status on Federal and it didn't transfer to State. May have to file an Amendment for State but I am not positive. March 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Only "fair" carry over automation Average tax platform. Completely confused when, after using Turbo Tax for the past 7 years and all copies remain loaded on my computer, why I should ever be directed to go manually look up information or carry over amounts from previous years returns to see if I can enter information on the current return. Turbo tax should be able to go retrieve that information without asking for me to manually look it up. Ditto on state returns and having to look up state and local tax refund information when Turbo Tax did the previous years filing electronically. At least Turbo Tax should pull up the refund amounts from last years filing and ask for confirmation that the information is correct.. March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo fast This is a good site. The visuals help to make it easy to understand and its very intuitive. March 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easy Used Turbo tax every year Easy to use March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Right on Right on the money! March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Understand, Pop up explanations great Turbo tax gets better and easier every year. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Confidence and convienence Excellent tool for filing Fed and State. Keeps you data from previous years, and imports for quick start. Guides you by asking questions, and reviewing last return. Convienient in that you can start and stop and your data is saved and safe until next time. Can access it from multiple computers and locations. Thanks TurboTax! March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Helpful Makes the process smooth and easy. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by wow I was terrified of doing my taxes. Was thinking of using a profession tax adviser until my mother informed me of this service. After, buckling down and trying this service I will no longer use a professional. This is the way to go! So totally awesome! Loved how easy the process was. It walked me through each and every step. Kudos to the developer and/or designer! March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by turbo tax is the best way to go I am going to use turbo tax and till all my friends and family to use turbo tax to March 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by found it cumbersome to correct information previously entered. Will probably try a different service next year. March 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some problems encountered this year. I've used Turbo Tax to my taxes for the past 10 years, maybe longer. I've been very satisfied with the program until this year. At various points during filling out the returns, the program would just stop randomly and would not allow me to enter information in to the fields. I would have to save and close out of the program, then log back in and pickup where I left off. That made the process take longer and was quite annoying. Sometimes when I would come back to continue my returns it would NOT pickup where I left off and had to go through all the same questions again. That was quite annoying too. The thing I'm not happy with is the price. It went up a huge amount from $80 to $105! I didn't mind an increase, but I wasn't expecting that much!!! I may look at other options next year. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by got it done We have always used an accountant since John has a business. He is mostly retired now, and the accountant hadn't gotten any cheaper, so we tried this. It gave us every write off he did. I have alot of confidence I got as much money back as he would have found for lots less money March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Refund made me HAPPY! This is a great way for people to do their own taxes without the extra $$$ going to companies to do the work! I wish I would have tried Turbo Tax when I was refered several years ago! March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Thank you for all the work you do to make an unwelcome task easy. I've been using Turbo Tax for several years now and I'll be using it well into the future. Thanks again! March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product I have used TurboTax for years and have been very satisfied. Occasionally I have problems with specific issues (E.g. sale of land -not primary residence). I also found the audit support to be weak. I used it once and would probably not purchase it again. Overall, I think TurboTax is a great product and I plan to use it in the future. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Deductible 2013 instructions on transferring "It's Deductible" were user friendly and easy to follow. 2014 was a mess! March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved Days of Time and Tons of Worry I have not used any sort of tax filer before and always just slogged through the IRS forms. This is because I live away from the US and didn't thought I had to file paper forms. I finished our taxes in two hours and feel certain that I did not make a mistake like I did last year. I am more confident in my returns and feel so relieved to have them done without any difficulties. I also appreciate the ability to pay be deduction from my US bank account. That is very convenient. March 21, 2015
  • 2015-07-01T11:24:44.323-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1480, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182317, tr_182317
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 1478 1479 1480 1481 1482 ... 3808 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.