1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.7/5 | 294440 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thanks for the Help Thanks for helping remove some of the fear from the process.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always clutch Many years using it and it's always clutch. My returns are always great. I just finished my taxes, in the last minute. So, I'm felling pretty good and happy with Turbo Tax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as Good/Easy as it used to be Comprehensive and accurate (I trust ), but you cannot get to the forms screen to look at your return in progress as easily as in previous years, and the color and contrast on the screen is not as easily read as I previous years.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a relief! It's done!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super easy and clear Overall easy to use and file tax return! thanks!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It gets easier every year. Turbo Tax is perfect for self employed people like myself with multiple small businesses. I have been using this for the past 5 years and every year it becomes easier to use. I prefer the online version because I don't need to worry about OS requirements and software updates. This is really easy to use. The software will walk you through a series of questions which is easy to understand. If you get bogged down with a question, help links really helps. If someone like me who is bad with computers is able to use this then anyone can. :-)
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NO last years data pre-populated Every year I do my taxes with you and it was always easy because all my data from the previous year was already loaded into the current year. I just needed to edit a few things and I was finished. I never saved anything because I never needed to. This year there was NO saved info from the prior years data. I had to input everything from scratch. I doubt I will use Turbo Tax again next year because of this!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth sail to file returnd It great software but its slow specially while filing investment income (security transactions)
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from money in my pocket It's very easy to use turbo tax and all my information from the years prior are all ready to go.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loyal user My taxes keep getting more and more complicated as I get older, but TurboTax always manages to guide me through with a minimum of pain. :-)
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never a disappointment I have used turbo tax for the past 10 years and I have never been disappointed. I only regret that next year I am going to have to use an actual accountant because of how complicated my work like has gotten. I refer you to everyone. You are the best!!!! This should be could...Trust us..we've got you.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy peasy easy to do taxes in your house. no need to go anywhere. fill in the blanks and your done.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elementary filing I waited till the last minute, because I was afraid of not doing it right. Turbo tax took that fear away and I got in done in an hour. Thank you turbo tax!!!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from grateful just when I needed it, glad for the convenience
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from correct correct correct File taxes one year and because I had started a business, I took all paper work to my accountant after I had complete refund with Turbo Tax..... Was charged 540.00 for her to get the same exact refund total, I had already gotten. So I tell everyone......You can do taxes your self and save money. Both business and personal.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent reliable service I really like this service and will continue using it. Nothing like feeling like i'm in charge of my taxes though you guys are doing all the heavy work. Thanks for making it easy to understand.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO REFUND & NO TAX GOT IT DONE W/O ERRORS. THANKS!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from They charged me even when I used the free edition! I've been using Turbo tax and they've been helpful but this year they charged me for my federal return and I have no way of by passing it. The site didn't even give me an option. I tried to chat or call a representative but no one was available and today is my last day to file. Had to pay almost 50 dollars for the same free version that I've been using for the past years. I've always used the military edition but for some reason it wouldnt let me this year.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to use overall, very happy and use every year. It's surprisingly easy.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax gets it done 12 year customer and counting! TurboTax is central to how I manage my finances, handles my fairly complex situation with three K-1 Partnerships + salary + stocks very well.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from rocked the taxes I like turbo tax I would like to do the state taxes for free like some of the other tax sites.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommending TurboTax I've used TurboTax for >10 yrs now. It's been great. Fast, easy, and reliable.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great job My daughter persuaded me to us this Thanks for this awesome tool.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from going downhill It was very hard to find some of the things I needed. Even with the search bar. Every time you go back you have to go through the same questions over again. I've used this product for many years, but this year will be my last. It also kept freezing on the drop down boxes!! Such a pain!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from weight off my shoulders
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tedious I have used turbotax many times and have been very happy with their service. This year, I don’t know what happened, but the questions kept repeating. I was forced to go over the same sections over and over again. I will be considering another option next year
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASE AND FAST GREAT SPEEDY ACCURATE SERVICE THAT I USE EVERY YEAR!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as smooth as last year I've used TurboTax for several years. Past years were MUCH smoother - the UI flowed so easily and was super helpful. Whatever changes they made for 2017 made things less intuitive and a little more complicated. There were bugs, too. And we only had one real tax change we had to handle. I hope they fix this for next year...
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy! Not sure why I used a tax service last Thanks so much last year I used a tax service and didn't get nearly the deductions I deserved. I'm never going back!
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_125172, tr_169268
  • loc_, sid_TT_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.