TurboTax is up-to-date for your 2017 taxes, start now!

Learn more about Tax Reform here tax reform information.

  1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.7/5 | 294517 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and True Really look forward to relying on TurboTax each year in helping me with my return. I could NEVER do it without it. Thank you!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Program Great program. Good value with Max protection. Looking forward to another trouble free year of tax returns.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Good and The Glitch This is my first time using TurboTax. I found it streamlined my strategy for filing taxes, helped me organize data, and informed me of considerations I had not made - such as filing income from out of state, even if small or renter's credit in the State of California. All of these positives resulted in momentum I have not had before when filing taxes. As much momentum as the positives created, there were some glitches that threatened to prevent me from being able to file the return at all. Momentum Kill. As a result, I have some "fixes" of my own for TurboTax (TT). FIX #1: when recommending a fix PLEASE provide a link back to the page and/or section on the site where that issue can be found. At least list the location of the fix somewhere obvious on the same window as the fix. This would have saved me HOURS and huge frustration. FIX #2 - Form 3544. In a nutshell, users beware of a list of questions in the State Return section for self-employeed filers that mentions something like "credit raptures". AVOID answering any questions in this section unless it does apply to you. DO NOT put in a number "0" as an answer. BIG MISTAKE. You cannot un-do this once you enter "0". It will show up as a fix when you go to review your return. The fix will mention FORM 3544. You will have no idea what that is or where to find it on the site to "fix" this issue. You will then turn to the help center and read a very dooming answer stating once you enter a "0", you cannot un-do the damage. It gets worse! Answering questions regarding Form 3544 even with the number "0" will increase your tax liability. Help Center will let you know that the only way to undo the damage done is deleting your state return. However, you cannot delete your state return if you have "already registered it or purchased it" according to the help center. I had not done either and there was still no option to edit or delete my CA state return. SOLUTION: Fortunately, a friend of mine suggested looking through "forms" and to attempt deleting Form 3544. VOILA! I would have missed the filing deadline if it were not for my friend. TurboTax was no friend to me here. Also prior to the Form 3544 glitch, one of the fixes required that I add a pin number, my birthdate and today's date in order to file. When I did so, TT would not accept today's date. After I figured out the Form 3544 problem, TT accepted today's date. Not sure what the issue was there. In all, there were 4 fixes recommended where I found it next to impossible to fix the issues and this almost prevented me from filing by the deadline. In these 4 instances, there was either insufficient information to fix the issues - such as where to go to fix issues I had not heard of or encountered anywhere on the site previously - OR there was simply a glitch in the TurboTax system such as not accepting today's date. On the whole, TurboTax is brilliantly laid out and has taken an immense amount of factors into consideration. It also has a quick response time technically to all entries. Please Fix the Fixes! The feedback here would be such a simple way to make it significantly more user friendly than it already is. Thanks.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All The Details I have used TurboTax for several years. It is thorough and takes you through the process in a logical way. I only wish they gave you a worksheet so that you can gather all your materials together before you start.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick, relatively painless, do not know why I put this off Thank you
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worksheet review slows down filing My filing could have been before the deadline if it wasn't for some of the ads and worksheet review that was already answer long before the review. This isn't the first year where I've had to deal with reviewing worksheets when I've already filled out all the necessary info earlier...
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Thorough!!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a little more user friendly would be great since i am an independent contractor my taxes are a little more taxing than the run of the mill 9 to 5er. It would help to have a box to skip mileage entry if done by expenses previously, a lot. also, being able to enter w-2s before 1099s and expenses would also be more helpful. its easy to get discouraged when bombarded with a million things you have to figure out than a form you have accessible that you just have to plug in numbers from.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from extra last minute delays caused late filing Everything seemed OK, all was done, reviewed, ready to file; so at 11:30 I went to file, and there were several unexpected final steps for filing that took too long so it was filed late; will have to pay late filing fees/penalties. Why were there extra steps? Why did I have to re-enter data that was already entered? Why was I charged an additional fee for filing state, when it was supposed to be included? Having to deal with all this last minute was totally unacceptable. Everything was done and all ready to file; it should have only taken a couple of minutes.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ushered Me Right Through My Procrastination! Literally spoon feeds you the information you need to get the maximum refund possible!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you for developing this software
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Paying for TurboTax from refund too expensive I have high regard for TurboTax and has used the services for several years. Today for some reason, one of my credit card to pay for the turbotax software for strange reasons did not go through. So I finally decided to pay it off from refund. But later in the work flow it showed $34.95. Given how nicely, UI is done by Turbo Tax, charge shouyld have been shown upfront. Anyway, I went back and used one of other credit card and things worked. So I am giving 3 Star in place of otherwise 5.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bang for your 11th Hour Buck TurboTax is a great product. What do you do when your accountant ends up in the ER the week of your filings? Grab your 1099's and get to work! A real stress reliever, knowing I've overpaid and proactively handled it. And I can have him double-check the final numbers for any discrepancies later. Bonus!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Procrastinator's Delight some of the income items did not allow for federal tax withholding. don't know where any federal taxes already paid such as estimated taxes were supposed to be entered. i may have overpaid and will have to determine a refund later.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax Makes the Painful Painless Although I absolutely hate doing our taxes each year, TurboTax takes the pain out of it – for the most part. It's such a thorough program and I really like the fact that I can consult with a tax professional if need be. I used to have my taxes done by a CPA, but I never really understood the process until I started using TurboTax. Thanks so much for this great service.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy a caveman could do it! I love how quickly the interface efficiently guides you through all of the relevant issues specific to each individual, without wasting time on the irrelevant issues.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very helpful Requiring prior year agi is hard if I don't remember where I put the form or if I don't remember what it was or who I did the returns though.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eases a Painful Experience I have been with Turbo Tax since it's inception. It gets better each year. They have won my business over the years, and I am not tempted to cash in on the new free versions.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I have nothing bad to say about TurboTax. No hate zone.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally finished! Overall a great experience. TurboTax tracks the amount you owe or that is due to you as you go. It also helps suggest tax breaks that might be available to you.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from not as painless but I was told today was the last day to file taxes and turbo tax took a lot of the stress away.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from TurboTax lost my work!! Turbotax promises to save your info, but it lost the work I did for my 2016 return. I know I used the right email/username because the confirmation of tax extension filing (back in April) was emailed to me. I also logged in with every possible username and email in case I somehow logged in to the wrong account (unlikely). This is the account I've had for many years and multiple prior tax returns were completely missing (status in tax timeline says it's started, but not filed) I had to re-do my complicated taxes and it was extremely painful. Also, Intuit needs to fix its account databases, because having multiple usernames per email is ridiculous.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy advice and guidance
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always a Joy Never had a single bad experience with TT. Every year the system is even better than the year before. People say "I have a guy, he's a wizard, I bring him my stuff and he gets me money." Yeah, I've got a wizard, too. Last name Tax, first name Turbo.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Turbo Tax I love this product. I love how easy it is to use. I also like all of the links to click on that explain in detail when I don't understand something.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Accurate by time consuming
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too complicated need an accountant Going to an accountant. Need to stop using this for the time being. I think it's costing me more than it's saving me.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thoughtwrong Tried for months to remove premium service fee of $29.00. Even starting over from scratch! Had no choice at the last minute to pay.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Turbo Tax! I use it every year. I only trust Turbotax with my tax preparation and no one else. Thanks TurboTax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from sneaky charges at the end It would have been 5 stars but at the end I selected that I did NOT want premium services. When I entered the payment information the total more than doubled because it added the premium service despite my previously declining it. The payment option I selected automatically added it. There are so many sales tactics on page after page, that you have to SUPER pay attention or they'll slip you extra charges.
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2018, m_1, d_21, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_125197, tr_169320
  • loc_, sid_TT_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 25ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed return by 4/17/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.