1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(4.7411/5 | 29240 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very user friendly Excellent job as usual every year!!!
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from poor service after filling out my return you sent a message that the my return was complete. not true, you did not submit it like last year. you didn't give an message that there was more needed to complete the return. but you were right there to collect your fee. very poor service
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesomely Comforting This was my first time every filing a return that include self - employed income and having to itemize deductions. TurboTax covered everything and the extra support with a live representative was great. It was worth the 200.00 price tag to have that level of support and comfort when I hit the file button.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst turbotax ever I have used turbo tax since it came out 20 some years ago and this is the Worst turbotax ever! The layout is poor the instructions are poor. The program was a struggle to get through and I have doubts my return was done correctly because of the poor instruction and online help!
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you, Jacob This was my first time using Turbotax to file my taxes and even though I ran into a hiccup, the customer service, Jacob, was amazing. Thank you, Jacob!
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Rock Love handling my own taxes with the help of turbo tax I can do it!
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Integration with State (AZ) is awful Fed portion is great, but State portion needs work: > Does not carry over capital gains over from fed to state correctly. > Whole sections of state calculation worksheets need to be entered manually > State rejected form twice, and T.Tax program suggested no fixes. > Can not pick and choose State sections to work on. Each time you must walk through the entire form from start to finish.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best service ever I am so happy with the TurboTax Service. Not only did it walk me through getting my deductions, but it also saved me almost 15k. I had a heart attack when i submitted my income and saw the number sky rocket up but saw quickly that the TurboTax service has everything you need to find your deductions!
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from T-Tax Remains a Good Buy Turbo Tax business and pro have been my go-to tax partner since tax year 1999. I keep coming back because Intuit always invests in improvements, they provide excellent security features and the product is always more efficient and effective than other tax filing methods including services such as HR Block. Although Turbo Tax cannot provide tax advice their professional grade product could do a better job of allowing "what-if" analyses. Several times during the past years, I used T-tax to forecast income changes. I would happily pay twice the price for a version that allows me to do estimated taxes in the event of the sale of a primary residence, significant tax law changes such as removal of the state tax exemption, and other significant events. I could then make better tax decisions. Otherwise, Intuit Team, please keep up the good work.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like a breeze.. I feel technology has been well optimized with no glitch neither technically nor accounting features. And had a CPA video chat at the end, is a jewel to the crown. Amazing, this is how online service supposed to be. Good job.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax self-employed was amazingly helpful. As a newly divorced custodial parent filing on my own for the first time, I had many confusing issues that I'd never dealt with before. My ex's firm had a Big Four accounting firm doing our taxes before and they took care of everything. TurboTax made it all much easier than I'd thought possible, and after gathering all my paperwork, I went thru it all very easily - discovered I was missing a few very important items, took 24-hours to get them, and voila I was done. I paid to have a CPA review everything, and she got confused and even made a boo boo that a search of TurboTax answered clearly and corrected, which she then rechecked got it straight. I had some odd problems with not-filed 1099 income that TurboTax & their online CPA was helpful with. As a single-parent with sole custody, TurboTax took me from doing my taxes with Deloitte to solo filing and it was easier and faster than I imagined possible. I am definitely using them for my 2018 filing too!
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from pretty easy to use when reviewing my return, it was showing me forms that were filled out for me, but i was unsure of how to fix it. in the past, it had brought me to the section of the return to ask or correct the information
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Found Thousands in Deductions TurboTax has been a great option from its inception into the software marketingplace. You'll never be able to produce a product that satifies everyone, but this is as close as it gets. As the saying goes, it's difficult to get to #1, it's even more difficult to say #1 unless you truly are the Champ. TurboTax is the Champ !
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax 2017 So many questions, which made me wonder if your program was biased. I will definitely think twice about using your product next year.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Get the help u need I filed wrong waiting to long and now im being charged when tthough i filed on time wasnt informed till i long in 2 weeks later
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved me $900 Overall, we were very happy with our 2017 TurboTax experience. The help we received was very good, and the step by step questions and screens were very easy to understand. The CPA we used last year charged us about a grand so this was a huge savings and well worth the time.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good job east great to use, very helpful, great guidance through tough issues and misunderstood laws and what to do's thank you
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use My taxes are fairly simple, so this was really easy to use, and I was able to file and wrap up in one night
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from disappointingly pleased By way of mistake I created a new TurboTax account, easily completed my taxes, went to file and needed access to last year's AGI... that I can't get to, even though I've paid, because it's under another account (tied to the SAME SSN!). Come on Turbo Tax! In this day and age it shouldn't be too difficult to join accounts tied to the same SSN... Supposedly there is only one of me, and it's not likely that criminals are chomping at the bit to pay a $40 Federal Tax due to get a $60 State refund.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy and comprehensive they really figured out how to make the complicated easy with wizards. All software developers should use turbotax as a guide for how to write software
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Experience I couldn't file my taxes without TurboTax!
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Good & the BAD Generally a good program. After numerous tries was unable to send for free, had to mail returns.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from we did it awesome, thanks TURBO TAX!
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made filing painless every step is well explained and easy to follow. Being able to file electronically is nice.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from saves my life I love using Turbotax, it makes my taxes easy to complete on my own. The prompts that take you through each step really are helpful. Sometimes I still don't know what they are asking for, but the help button works in my benefit. I don't see myself using another system for my taxes.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never disappointed! Doing my taxes can be overwhelming, but TurboTax takes all the anxiety and sets me at ease. I know that I'm getting accurate tax data and support so that when I file, I feel like a tax pro! Thanks again, TurboTax!
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service to Use Over all very great product to file your taxes and i highly recommend it
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use The program gets a little easier to use and navigate each year.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still the Best Gathering and sanitizing the data was a huge pain. Entering it into Turbo Tax was a real pleasure.
Date published: 2018-04-21
  • y_2018, m_4, d_26, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80986, tr_106684
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 60ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.