1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.6/5 | 198144 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mrs 5 stars
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Easy but Expensive Everything was helpful but what makes me mad is they slid a 40 dollar hidden fee in the very end. so I had to pay 50 for the package I chose plus the 40 they decided to charge me last minute. for a whopping 100 dollars out of my income tax. Not pleased
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unnecessary to update every open Why is turbotax so slow to open and load. And why won't it open without going to get an update? It's a long wait every time I come back to work on my return. If you leave the program and come back 3 times during a day, it updates 3 times! With a long wait each time.
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had to re-file numerous times-not due to anything Turbo tax did in err-and I felt quite confident in the ability to successfully complete the filing.
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Incorrect W-2 Entry - No Warning Given I worked for the same employer in 2016 and 2017 and used TurboTax to file my federal return in both years. I entered the W-2 information manually for 2017; however, I mistakenly picked up the 2016 W-2 and entered those amounts for 2017. I was about to complete the filing and transmit the return when I looked back to double check some income entries. At that point, I saw that the income amounts for 2016 and 2017 were identical. TurboTax should produce a warning message stating that the W-2 amounts for the prior tax year and the current tax year are identical so that the filer can make sure that the correct years' W-2 is being used.
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Saved My Tax Life I love turbo tax. I use it every year. It simplifies the whole tax process. You don't have to be a pro to file with turbo tax.
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2016 taxes I was unable to finish filing my 2016 taxes using this software. I paid for both versions Mac and Windows. U am at home on my Mac, I could never get them to finish and print because system crashed every time at the end. very frustrating.
Date published: 2018-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Service Turbo Tax is a wonderful service. Try getting this level of service from your bank or local government office! The live reps are very helpful. The site is for the most part intuitive. And the amount of administration done by TT is well worth the price. Love it!!
Date published: 2018-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Smeasy I needed professional help this year and it was available almost immediately. My representative stayed with me until the process was complete and I was satisfied.
Date published: 2018-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything and a "bag of chips" Did it all. Made the investment sales a breeze. BUT had to enter the foreign taxes withheld directly into the forms - a pain to figure it out and then enter it. Also when updating the software/files at the launch of the software, there is no indication if the updating is launched or it has frozen. Eventually it indicates that files are being downloaded. It would be better if a clock or hourglass or something gave an indication that it is in process. Otherwise, this is somewhere in the neighborhood of 10 years of using TurboTax. Wouldn't go elsewhere.
Date published: 2018-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocks for Senior Citizens As a 78 year old not very computer literate person this is the easiest and most comfortable way for use to do our taxes. That's it, end of story.
Date published: 2018-07-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Confused I had purchased the CD but it would not work properly . I called Turbo tax but the Rep didn't know how to fix the problem with the loss carry forward. Took a chance on the online version and was able to do that with some help on the investments and the depreciation of rental property. Turbo tax would not credit me back the money I spent on the CD. Bad Business idea.
Date published: 2018-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Huge time saver! Have been using TurboTax since 2001, really notice the improvements. Unfortunately there is no way for expats to purchase the application overseas :-(
Date published: 2018-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not completely easy,worth the peace of mind & time I have been doing my own taxes for several years after paying others to do it for me. I realized that I did most of the work by organizing and collecting the data, it was just a matter of taking the time to do it myself. Huge satisfaction.
Date published: 2018-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my overdue 2016 taxes I called asking on how to do file an way overdue return, my 2016 return !!! the rep was super helpful and PATIENT, gave me the right answers everytime and he was knowleadgeable on the field. I am so happy!! I am printing and taking to the post office tomorrow morning!!!! :))))
Date published: 2018-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So smooth As a military reservist, it seemed more difficult to enter job-related expenses in previous years than this year. Very easy to do, thank you very much!
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesomeness For many years I fear doing my taxes, I feared taking deductions because I didn't want the IRS coming after me. Now that I have TT, I am free and without any fear. I purchase the audit product and sleep like a baby. If changes are needed, TT is on top of it. I been using TT since 2015 and I will never stop. Thank you TT for freeing me.
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the price I've used turbo tax for years. I thought it was fantastic the 1st time I used it, and incredibly, it has been improved every year!
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome to Use I have been using turbotax for years and each time I have not had any issues with filing. The only issue I had this time around is the help section. The explanation provided was not very clear. However I was able to use the community help option to get the information needed.
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consistant Excellent quality product I have been using TurboTax since 1984. I was an old user of Quicken and TurboTax was the perfect product to use, same logic, same accuracy and easy to use.
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy as 123! Very efficient, and straightforward help.
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo tax refund rocks! TurboTax makes it so easy to do your taxes. They go through itemizations and to deductions I would've never thought of. Wonderful service
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE the In Person Help Just finished filing. My '17 situation was a little unusual and I felt that TurboTaxed was fairly rigid in what it allowed for entry. It got a little confusing at times. However, the ability to set up a quick phone call with somebody was a lifesaver, the staff was super-courteous and helpful. I love this feature.
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Helpful but Overpriced An extra charge of $40 for the convenience of the e-file and direct deposit out of the tax return is ridiculous. The ease of using this product is only convenient at this price if you already half understand what you need to do. My taxes are very straightforward still and it was confusing to me to try to figure out if random things applied and what documents or information I needed to figure out. Would be easier to just use a profession who knows what they're doing and can gather the information from me directly before filing. Especially once my taxes get more complicated. Most likely will never use again.
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Intuitive State returns were not worth it and could not be reconciled for prorated states. Could not correct mortgage interest error for rental property. Had to clear and start all over. State taxes were easier to do manually.
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth and Easy Will be doing this for life. No more H&R BLOCK AND LIBERTY TAX!!!!
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Going Downhill I've been using MacInTax/Turbo Tax for about 20 years and now that there are options Turbo Tax has given me reasons to look into them. I had to file an amendment because of a mistake I made that I believe turbo tax should have caught. Also, I hate it hate Turbo Tax now collaborates with the OS developers and only makes Turbo Tac available to the latest OS. Some people have reasons for not wanting to constantly update the OS.
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peasy This was the easiest tax return ever, and I've been doing my own taxes since forever. A very slick program. And the tech support was great. The people were knowledgeable, spoke ENGLISH, and were patient and not in a big hurry to get me off the line. The final review by STEVE in Chicago was actually fun.
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy easy Software is a breeze to use and the live help was friendly and efficient.
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Last Year With Turbo Tax I was one of the first to begin using Turbo tax individual and business back in the 90's. After an initial great start, the software started showing problems, but more importantly, the customer service has become "self-service." I stopped using the TT individual software 6 years ago, and 2017 will be the last year I will be using TT business. I am sorry that the leadership of this company has lost touch with its' customer base; maybe they don't care about us since they are quite successful in the accounting sector? Bye-bye. You will be history soon.
Date published: 2018-07-25
  • y_2018, m_8, d_15, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80458, tr_117648
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 621ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.