1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.7411/5 | 29240 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Helpful Turbo Tax is easy, every aspect of it is clearly explained. I have had Expert help twice and it is extraordinarily good.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bazinga I have been using Turbo Tax for many years and it has always helped to complete the forms correctly.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from E-file delay Turbo Tax is great. We have used it for years. However, it would not complete the e-file after I paid for the products on 10-15/2018. The screen went blank and I could not get it to return to where I left off. I pressed the file buttons numerous times. I was only able to complete the e-file this morning. What happened??? Why would it just shut down on the deadline date? Did the system crash? Please explain it to the IRS! Also, I think the State product is too expensive.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Business 2017 It was a learning curve for me, preparing our business taxes for the first time.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from cd is terrible the ui on the cd version is terrible. why do they even sell an inferior product? they asked me to import previous year. i did. that is where i messed up. last years taxes messed up this years. it imported a bunch of expenses form last year that i could not delete. i only caught them manually on manual review. and for some reason it imported a second, blank w2 that kept me from efiling. i had to dig around for another hour to find how it was listed as 1 but really, within it there were two. what a piece of crap.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expert Help I spoke with two different representatives about my taxes. The first was moderately helpful, but not incredibly knowledgable about my tax situation. The CPA who did my final review was INCREDIBLE. She was so helpful, kind, and knowledgable. I am definitely going to use TurboTax again in the future. They were great to work with, and my taxes stress me out, so I'm thankful that I can talk to someone who can take the stress out!
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from poor handling of Roth IRA conversion The interview is getting harder to follow every year and this year I noticed an issue on my form 8606 that led me to find TurboTax has issues on my 8606 the last 2 years and my taxable income for last year, requiring 2 amended 8606 and 1 amended return with taxes due. The Roth IRA conversions require the taxpayer to go into the Wages and Income section, somewhere I"d never think to explore for IRA contributions and conversions. I think it's a very poor setup.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from PIN for Efile There is nothing in the help file to get you out of the IRS rejection due to the wrong PIN. I called the IRS, no help as they told me to send the file in without the PIN, but Turbo will not send the file without the PIN. Catch22.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from first time self tax filler While I learned a lot for filling my tax first time and being free of depending on an Accountant and there not much paying great attention to your eligible deductibles, it is not as easy as it says, but I am sure that I will get better at it in the rears to come. Cons With the price, you pay for a CD you should be entitled to one free State filling. I will give it another year try .
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy This is the way to go and be done quickly especially if you have to file other forms for investments or property with your regular taxes
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my Savings!! TurboTax never fails to facilitate and take-away the fear of filing your taxes. The simplified format really feels as though they are trying to achieve the greatest refund for YOU!
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotaxed It’s different from manual in a major way—takes more time but is more timely!, more thorough, and more BETTER. Will definitely use again. —CMM
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard situations made easy by TurboTax and staff. I love Turbotax. It was a little difficult to intuitively process my 1031 Exchange without creating a huge capital gains taxing situation that I didn't need to. Fortunately, the excellent online staff got me through it, and then helped me with some other key deductions and situations that I completely missed. Now it's the Fabulous TurboTax system and their incredible online counselors and CPA's. It's a perfect match to get me through the strain of it all. Thanks TT & Team.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Get in Sync with Fed Date 16 April this year I never thought you would be unable to adjust the 16 April this year fr tax returns to your software and the six-month extension. The 15th was on a Sunday so taxes were due the next day, 16th April.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Thorough Really likes how I was able to do my taxes on my timeline and how I was guided and assured things we going well.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wow what fun I get it. Tax law is way too complicated and needs a serious re-write- which is not the same as reform. Simply simplify would be great. Turbo tax has not even tried to do that and the program often creates another layer of obfuscation. Take the Section 179 error which wasn't an error until Turbo tax got ahold of it. What a debacle.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes the process simple for busy families! Appreciate the opportunity to use this company and software to prepare our taxes through a verified and trusted process.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally Completed My Refund!!!
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT Satisfied After speaking with 6 or 7 people at usaa and 3 people at turbo tax NO ONE could find a fix for transfering tax data to tax program. Lost all benefit from data transfer. Not at all happy. Case numbers 431675034 and431676458. Had to manually enter data
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from improved
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from David is the consummate professional! Personable, but extremely professional, saw the larger picture and saved me so much on my return. He is familiar with the documents, and was amazing.... found a huge error from prior rep! Thank you!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Help Not Helpful I had an error that stated that I had to contact an agent to fix. It took me four hours before I was able to get in touch with a real person.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Comprehensive but slow and hard to navigate The look and presentation is nice for the most part, but the software is unimaginably slow-- 10s typical to respond to a button click. As a developer I can't figure out how to make something that slow. The calculations made all seemed to work well, and handled lots of strange cases in my return-- so accuracy and coverage is great. The charitable contributions entry is extremely slow and tedious, and the online donation tool seems worse. You have to go through many pages of form clicks just to enter one number. They should just allow a one page table with name and amount for cash contributions. Donations to Goodwill, etc. are handled nicely with amount calculators. Navigation is somewhat hard when you want to jump to a place in the guided forms-- for example try to find where to enter estimated tax options. It's also hard to see the connection between entry forms and tax form boxes. Overall, Turbotax is good, but is painful to use and I wish Intuit could fix some of the usability and speed problems.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great but not needed TurboTax, for the most part, was simple and user-friendly. There was a hiccup trying to get 1099-misc filed properly. I like the process, not so much the fees. Will most likely return to TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from incomplete In doing the returns, I did not get a question asking if I wanted to apply the refund to next year- on fed or state; also did not get a step to print the returns for filing. I just went through my copy and took out the pages that said 'keep for your records.'
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellente Thanks for offering a service that helps me avoid worrying about an incoming unnecessary audit.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Autobiography Was able to complete my entire submission in less than 3 hours and submit electronically. There was a problem (my error) which caused the IRS to reject the submission and Turbotax helped me fix the error and resubmit in about 10 minutes on the phone.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes! Excellent, easy-to-use software for taxes.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have used Turbo Tax for a long, long, time! Turbo Tax should develop a new product (service) that would help me. With taxes changing dramatically, TT should provide an update service via email alerting me about changes and reminding me about tax planning not just at the end of the year but throughout the year. It should also allow me to ask questions and get easy to understand answers. For instance, if I take the new standard deduction (joint $24K) can I still use charitable contributions to reduce my taxes? TT should be my "wing man" in the tax world!
Date published: 2018-10-16
  • y_2018, m_12, d_9, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_81392, tr_119518
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 533ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return by 4/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • TurboTax Live Reviews: Displayed reviews are for the TurboTax Live standalone service from Tax Year 2017 and not for the new Turbo Tax product / TurboTax Live bundle available for Tax Year 2018.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.