1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(4.6/5 | 197887 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great program. Great support We have used TurboTax for over 10 years for home and for our corporation. It is easy and accurate, especially when interfaced with QuickBooks. We had a minor glitch this year but customer service (knowledgeable English speaking and in the USA) rep was able to walk us through a work around. We will continue using TT in the future.
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy P-Z
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Easy Loved the ease of this program! Help was only a phone call away! This is the first time we didnt take our taxes to a preparer. Definitely will use this every year! Would recommend to anyone!
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great program and Great Expert Help! I've been using turbotax for five years consecutively and I love the convenience, the ease and the relatively low cost compared to a tax place or a personal accountant. This year I had a question on one part so I paid the extra fee to have an expert call me back. The person was very knowledgeable and walked me through everything! It was work the peace of mind and still cheaper and easier than having a professional tax service file for me. I am very pleased.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Experienced some problems 1. TT said they improved my State Return and made it easier. I found the first number of screens on the State Return confusing and not helpful. This needs to be changed next year. I wasted some time trying to figure out what TT was trying to say. 2. As part of the final sign out process TT asked for our drivers license information for security purposes. However it would NOT accept the formats used by my state. This needs to be corrected
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Reliable and Easy to Use Great software has saved me time and money over twenty years
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just great.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Handled ALMOST Everything Well... It's disappointing that the cost of the Home & Business version does NOT include 1041 Trust returns (which requires paying another $100+ to ALSO buy Corporate version), the H&B return coverage is otherwise very complete. And it is SO NICE to get phone support that is consistently knowledgeable and helpful.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is good! For three times the price my tax service provided results limited by my understanding of taxes . Turbotax provides me at least an equal return and I understand what's going on . I do not wonder if I missed anything .
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Failed to file return. When searching the IRS site for "where's my return", I discovered it had never been filed. Somehow TurboTax let me think it had been filed, and even had my file copy dated 4/15/2018, but it didn't happen. Even if it was a communication problem, or misinterpretation of instructions, there should be a fail safe built in - perhaps a confirmation message or follow up message if the filing date was missed for any reason. Spoiled my entire experience of timely self filing.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotax Review Each year TurboTax makes the entire filing process less complicated. Each step through the entire process is explained in detail, which, as a customer, lessons the anxiety of filing and the easement of knowing that all aspects of the process is being reviewed prior to filing. Thank you. See you next year!!
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 2017 Tax Return
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thorough and simple Turbo Tax gets me the best refund and tells me about deductions I would never have thought of. I like that I can do this in the comfort of my home.
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally Done!!! Easy and painless in every step. Helpful links and soothing interface.
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable, easy, thorough Have used this for years. Gets better with age. No worries about missing anything. Chasing down paperwork takes the most time, but so worth the extra $ that I would not have.
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well organized intelligent workflow Calculations are straight forward with additional drill down explanations available along the whole process which is well tuned to only ask questions for your particular case. Well done.
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good job very pleased with the site very well done first time doing my taxes by myself and it was easy peasy
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Missing forms preclude filing - no support of valu I have not been able to file my Fed and CA returns due to a recording warning that I need updated forms in order to file. Updating does absolutely nothing, and there is no useful support. I have been using since decade ago, and never had such problems with no path to solutions of any use... 2017 = fail Turbotax
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from increased price, no increased value I have used Turbotax for many years. My returns are relatively simple, but not 1040-EZ simple. Turbotax has raised rates to the extent that they are no longer a valuable product/service.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My return the questions are very easy to understand and follow
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax 2017 Turbo Tax for 2017, as always, was fairly easy to use. However, correcting errors which came along with downloads from brokers was impossible.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Income Tax Complete!!! Even though it was time consuming, it was well worth the time to get it right! If I had a question, turbotax fielded it and provided detailed explanation.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from can fix rejected return and refile within seconds I got rejected twice for wrong birthday. I was informed of this mistake in about 5-6 hours. I was able to refile in 3 minutes. Also it was super easy to pickup where you left.
Date published: 2018-07-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cost is too high Turbo Tax got REALLY expensive. Probably won't keep using them. Shame its been 10 years of relying on them.
Date published: 2018-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thank you, I have used TurboTax for 20 years. Thank you, I have used TurboTax for 20 years.
Date published: 2018-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy TurboTax was easy to use. It walked me through every phase of my return. Things I didn't know existed it asked me about. I know doing my easy returns now will set me up for ease of use as my returns become more in depth in the years to come.
Date published: 2018-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Missing a "state" summary Overall, this is an excellent product to help ordinary people do a tax return within a reasonable amount of time. As with everything, there can be improvements. First, why isn't there a summary section for the state taxes? Second, as an elderly with visual challenges, I can use bigger fonts and less pastel colors. The bigger fonts is an obvious item that will help me, and I also will appreciate a high contrast, for example, black lettering with a white background, without any of those "pretty" pastel colors.
Date published: 2018-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from confirmation Emails Love the software and how easy it is to use ... And love the message but it should include the Year that the return was accepted for. So if search through Emails for TurboTax, I don't have to look at the date of the Email (usually small) to know what YEAR the return was accepted for.
Date published: 2018-07-02
  • y_2018, m_7, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80375, tr_117482
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 99ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.