1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.7/5 | 294440 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy advice and guidance
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always a Joy Never had a single bad experience with TT. Every year the system is even better than the year before. People say "I have a guy, he's a wizard, I bring him my stuff and he gets me money." Yeah, I've got a wizard, too. Last name Tax, first name Turbo.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Turbo Tax I love this product. I love how easy it is to use. I also like all of the links to click on that explain in detail when I don't understand something.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Accurate by time consuming
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too complicated need an accountant Going to an accountant. Need to stop using this for the time being. I think it's costing me more than it's saving me.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thoughtwrong Tried for months to remove premium service fee of $29.00. Even starting over from scratch! Had no choice at the last minute to pay.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Turbo Tax! I use it every year. I only trust Turbotax with my tax preparation and no one else. Thanks TurboTax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from sneaky charges at the end It would have been 5 stars but at the end I selected that I did NOT want premium services. When I entered the payment information the total more than doubled because it added the premium service despite my previously declining it. The payment option I selected automatically added it. There are so many sales tactics on page after page, that you have to SUPER pay attention or they'll slip you extra charges.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from non fluid system
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly very good Sometimes it would be easier to just enter information rather than going through a slew of inane questions
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy & Loyal Taxpayer I've been a loyal customer of Turbo-Tax for the last 15 years and will continue to use this excellent program So far so good, I've been able to access my income-tax from anywhere in the world and truly enjoy how my identity has always been protected and all my documents are always at my fingertips
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great It is a great app, it would be better if there was 24/7 live chat assistance.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's getting too locked down It is frustrating that over the years the product get more and more forced. Once you could easily navigate to any schedule you needed and not be forced to buy premier products - unless you needed the guidance. I don't need to be walked through everything. Also I despise holding my prior returns hostage unless I pay for a package. What the heck? I have to pay to see my own returns? Please roll that back.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Confusing Made Simple Turbo Tax was very easy to use. We have two rentals and this software walked me through each step. When having to look-up information the system would log me out. For the coming year, it would be helpful if there was a Turbo Tax organizer.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a breeze I've used TurboTax forever and it seems to just get better and better! I love that it takes you through each step in detail and explains what information is needed and why and also where you'd find it! I forgot how to import my info from ItsDeductible so I searched through Help and found the answer and got it done! I feel empowered that I can fill out my own return and I like seeing that it's been checked and I'm submitting a return with the best possible results. I paid for the MAX benefits because my W2 and my tax returns were hacked last year. I feel safer with the extra layer of security and monitoring. I felt really violated last year when I found that another return had been sent in with my SSN. I called Turbo Tax and they found the return that was submitted by someone else and invalidated it. Friendly and thorough...I love Turbo Tax - online and on the phone!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for last-minute warriors! great product and stores from year to year for retrieval
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from "Improvements" not felt by the Consumer This is the first year I was nearly as frustrated as using the old paper forms. TurboTax has chopped up the interview process into too many drop downs that 'hide' once you click through them. I believe the old interface and flow was better, and would again like the ability to readily see tax forms and progress in the process. It felt like I was being forced to use a MOBILE platform with my desktop. I would GREATLY APPRECIATE the option to display the interview in the old style, and to "see forms" at any part of the process. Please LOSE the 'mobile' interface styling, it is slow and unwieldy for keyboard and mouse users.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yeah! I hate taxes!!!! But you made it simple enough and easy so I could do it myself and get it done! Thank you Turbo Tax! You have an amazing tax service and it keeps getting better!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally done Overall, a good program. A no brainer.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I think it's expensive for what the program is and I will look into other programs next year. I also didn't like that every time I tried to check out and added a 39.99 fee for audit defense which I did not want and it kept removing. However it kept adding it back on. I also don't like that I can't see my return while I'm working on it.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A life saver Last minute filings are all too common, and wouldn't be possible without TurboTax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refund on Fleek!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from annoyed could not edit info on drop down option rather upsetting when I could not change an error on the drop down option, i,e, state,zip code, it happened several times.prices are going up too! it took me 2 hours to finally go back and have to redo everything because it would not let me change the state, which obviously the zip did not match, very annoying
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from maddening at the strangest moments
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocked my refund! Loved it!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST!!! Very easy to manage. great guide
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing service Great quality option. I was very impressed.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Breeze To File Tax Returns Great tax product. I switched over from H&R Block, and will stick with Turbo Tax from now on.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dual States I like that I can get my tax return finished on my time line. Sometimes it takes me days to find all the info I need to refer to. I can come & go on Turbo Tax on line. I can review everything as many times as I need to. I live in one state & lease out my owned home in another state. Turbo Tax makes it easy to meet all tax filing requirements.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not So Fun this year. Can't justify paying 100$ for the product. I wont be returning next year.
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2017, m_11, d_23, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_125172, tr_169268
  • loc_, sid_TT_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 25ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.