1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(4.7411/5 | 29240 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tax filing would recommend turbo tax to others for non complicated taxes
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horribly handled review process Very dissatisfied with this software and will not use again!!!
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Resources I've used Turbotax now 3 times and it's relatively easy, walks you through the process, keeps track of expenses etc. I do think I may want to file one way and maybe check it against another to see which way best to file (self employment issues ). Anyway I appreciate the expert help and it's only my procrastination I didn't file an extension even though I should have in order to speak to someone. Overall it's great.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy to just get taxes done Could let me know about more tax ride offs and etc.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scared While the step by step process was quite clear I found the pep talk pages a bit annoying. I would rather have been told what steps I had completed and what was to come ie unfinished. I ended up not finishing on the due date because I did not know there were more steps after submitting payment info and printing forms.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotax saved us! The video chat was so helpful and easy. We went from owing to getting a refund thanks to your help finding deductions that were really easy to miss. We will be using turbotax from now on.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from reject
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from THOUGHT IT WOULD BE EASIER I COULD HAVE SPENT THE SAME AMOUNT OF MONEY GOING TO HR BLOCK OR TAX CONSULTANT. BUT I DID SIGN UP FOR THEFT PROTECTION.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even I could understand the instructions! Sure beats the .gov website for filing...the explanations were even simple enough for us "retirees" to understand...what a relief!
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made it work in the nick of time Great experience using Turbo Tax again this year. I would not trade this for a tax preparer.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent professional review! Con: There should be an ability to go back to an item within a category without hitting "back" so many times. Pro: Overall we had a challenging return with our first time rental assets. Turbo Tax walked us through each section and we then received excellent detailed advice and review from the tax pro prior to filing. I feel confident that our return is accurate. Thank you Turbo Tax!
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and Easy! Turbotax is great! Organized, easy to follow and use, and saves time. We have used TurboTax for over 10 years now and plan to keep using this product.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy sailing A+ very easy to use. Will use every year. Keep up the good work.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellant online support Holly was very helpful in resolving our tax filing issues
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from reeturn great job, will use this service again
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Annoyed I use to really enjoy using turbo tax but the amount of fees they use is ridiculous, Im going to file electronically on another site next year
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the EA/CPA Help I have used TurboTax for a number of years. The software is simple enough to use and to provide confidence in accurately filing. Added features like EA/CPA review, Audit Defense, various payment and tax return options, and other Help features are excellent. I would recommend TurboTax to my family and friends.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tiny Fonts Tiny fonts required me to us a screen-magnifier. This only works over a small area, so constantly moving the magnifier around was very painful. The help windows had an even tinier font!! It was cumbersome going thru all the Intuit-stroking screens that had no other purpose.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use Makes entering taxes easy. Especially if you had it the year prior as you info is auto filled.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not clear this is 2 years that i have thought i have finalized my filing. after a period i returned to my site and have found that they have not been filed. this is well after the deadline. turbotax needs to make sure that the customer is aware that the info is or is not sent to the state and federal tax departments.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotax makes taxes easy Turbotax makes the complicated tax process easy with its step-by-step guide.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent video help i am so thankful for the expert help of the agent!
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from old flyer I liked how thorough the questions were and how you constantly rechecked each item
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rocket refund None to report, this site has helped through this refund process.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keep doing what your doing
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful Great service. I appreciate the information, helpful tips/ advice, and the membership options. Thank you for your time.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glass Half Full I always approach tax filing as a worst case scenario - confusing, frustrating, can't figure out what information I need, can't even find information that is asked for, mountains of indecipherable paperwork. It is one of those absolutely glass half empty scenarios. With Turbo Tax (baby steps, clear guidance and positive support along the way) the experience makes my attitude towards filing taxes glass half full.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lots of Hidden Fees After you buy the software the company makes you pay additional fees such as a $40 fee and then a $25 efile fee. The states allow you to e-file for free so this is a sneaky extra $65 for TurboTax. I will not purchase TurboTax again as they are not upfront with the cost.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it! I really enjoyed being able to go through my return line by line with a real (that I could see) and ask questions. I felt much more confident with our deductions and final outcome of our return.
Date published: 2018-04-22
  • y_2018, m_4, d_25, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80970, tr_106656
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 74ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.