1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.7411/5 | 29240 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working with me late As I was filing my return late the tech that helped me with the computer problem was very understanding and helped me get to the right page to finish my return. She went beyond her scope of normal business practices.
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible! I was charged $120 trying to e-file my taxes on 10/16 (it was 10/15 still in Hawaii when I filed them). They were rejected because I mistyped my birthdate, so then I immediately corrected that and efiled again. From there, turbotax said I'd be contacted, but I wasnʻt. I checked in today and it was rejected again, this time without alerting me!!! It then made me download the desktop version in order to finish my taxes, which now need to be mailed and cannot be efiled! I'm so frustrated. I'v ebeen a loyal customer of turbotax for several years but that's not going to be the case next year!
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from first time user I thought after of course going back and changing amounts a few times I was able to get a handle on it. next year will be so much simpler. Thank you Turbo Tax
Date published: 2018-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax is the best Turbo Tax has been my choice for quite a few year because of data downloads.
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome as Ever!! This was the first year my wife and I filed as "married filing jointly". She has her own business and I have a lot of un-reimbursed business expenses. It took some effort but TurboTax is flexible enough that I feel confident the federal and state returns were done accurately.
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Continue to improve to a very good customer satisfaction. Very thoughtful on all kinds of situations. Almost glitch free.
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Refund! I love TurboTax. I've been using it since 1984 tax season when it was MacIntax. This year I was very disappointed when a change was made that no longer supported printing in Macintosh El Capitan for the 2017 tax year. El Capitan was supposed to be supported until the 2018 program.
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Allen walked me through the return step by step and did not seem to be bothered by my inability to find the numbers and documents. He held on for extended periods while I fumbled through mounds of unorganized papers and forms. Absolutely worth the cost.
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 2017 Tax Experience What happens next year when the federal government submits new tax forms? Will Turbo Tax incorporate them into their computer tax preparations forms?
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but different This was a tough year. The balance sheet requirement for cash based businesses caught me by surprise, since it hadn't been required in the past. Finally got it to work, but came down to the wire. It might be nice to highlight (maybe on the cover of the software box) major changes from year to year.
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reduced amount owed Cynthia was very helpful and patient. I will definitely use this service again next year
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FIRST TIME USER VERY PLEASED I HAVE USED A CPA FOR YEARS, SPENDING AT LEAST $1,000 DOLLARS ON TAX PREPARATION. I WAS ABLE TO GET THE SAME REFUND BUT I DIDN'T HAVE TO PAY. I WISH THAT SOME OF THE MENUS WERE A LITTLE EASIER TO CORRECT IF YOU MAKE A MISTAKE. I TRIED TO PURCHASE AUDIT PROTECTION BUT IT WAS TOO LATE. AFTERWARD, I HAD TO CLICK BACK TO THE BEGINNING OF ALL MY INFORMATION TO REMOVE IT. IF SOMETHING IS ENTERED INCORRECT YOU SHOULD BE ABLE TO REMOVE IT WITHOUT many efforts. IT WAS CONFUSING AT FIRST
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TURBOTAX THANK YOU THIS WAS QUICK AND EASY TO FOLLOW AND THE HELP INFO WAS GREAT.
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Getting the work done The tax experts that helped me were so kind and helpful. Neda was one of the BEST! Next years filing will go much smoother.
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from many thanks Very good. Will use TurboTax again!
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally Done with My Taxes
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocking
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocking It just makes us feel confident that we are getting the best help
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Basket case Yes, I was a basket case trying to do our business taxes for 2017. I went for the Turbotax Live for the help that would be available. I was able to get through most of the return on my own, but whenever I had a question(which was several) I was able to get help and answers right at that time. When the return was completed, the EA reviewed the whole thing and I got the go ahead to file. Turbo tax Live will be my way from now on. I learned a lot from the CPA's and EA's, they were patient and sanity saving.
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Review It would be helpful if, when entering roth ira contribution info, if it's determined you are over the contribution limit, that it also informs you how much should be removed - perhaps displays a table showing limits by AGI. I made a contribution, and was over the limit, but it wasn't clear to me how much, if any, I was eligible to contribute. This confusion led to a delay in removing the funds.
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All in all I spent less time this year than in the previous years. Good Job.
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Great! TurboTax made filing my taxes easy. I'll definitely be filing with TurboTax in the future.
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MAKING REFUNDS FUN I really think that TurboTax is something everyone should use. It is easy for any age level to use. I think that it is laid out in a fashion that is easily accessible and not overwhelming. Doing taxes can be stressful, but turbo tax makes it easy. I think that there should be an option for people who file an extension to get monthly reminders to do your taxes. I know I completely forgot about mine with how busy my summer was, and when it was 2 weeks prior, I had to hurry and get information I did not have & that caused me to turn in my taxes late.
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you Tina! Thank you to Tina! I apologize for not knowing your last name. She is a CPA in Frederick, MD for Turbo Tax is all I remember. She stuck with me. Made me finish my 2017 tax filing, and found all my mistakes to help me get my filing done! Ten Stars and More!
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome on Audit Great when I needed support and followup
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best way to do taxes Because turbotax goes through every detail, and asks all questions, I feel very confident that I am doing everything right and accurate. I spent years, and hundreds of dollars on cpa's, now I can do it myself.
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Intolerable software problems 2 years in a row. I spent hours on the phone on 10/15 trying to get the software to run. It ran in April 2018, when first loaded, but wouldn't on 10/15/18. Couldn't uninstall because it was looking for a drive that the software acknowledged didn't exist but somehow wanted me to uninstall the program from anyway. Wouldn't let me reinstall until I uninstalled from that non-existent drive. One tech person tried diligently, putting me on hold and coming back, repeatedly, until the call disconnected. She didn't call back. The second tech person didn't know what to do either. My tax returns have been filed late as a result. I don't know what the late filing penalty will be. But I know I've spent more time than reasonable or appropriate trying to get the software to load and function, 2 years running. I've used TurboTax exclusively since 2003. I will use a different company next year.
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dates / Disappointed Signed on a few days ago to efile - was told I had until 10/17 - signed on today to efile and told too late - now must take to post office - need to make this much more clear - ttax has gotten slightly less clear than it has been in the past.
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Longtime user, very disappointed this year! I have used Turbotax for at least 10 years and have generally been very pleased with it. However, this year I struggled mightily with a situation that should be rather common and easily handled. I sold a rental property that had been occupied for part of the year. Your software makes it so difficult and confusing to enter the relevant information that I am still not sure I did it right. I had requested an extension back in April due to missing information, and found that I owed money due to capital gains. When I tried to e-file, software led me in circles around how to pay what I owed in federal and state taxes. I finally had to resort to going to each entity's website (IRS, state dept. revenue) and paying that way. I thought I had managed to e-file without paying through Turbotax, but today discovered that a) I had NOT actually e-filed, and b) it is impossible to do so after 10/15/18. Now I have to locate a printer, print out paper copies of all my taxes and send them in via U.S. mail. I am NOT a happy customer.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expats I have been living abroad for a few years and there are some annoying glitchy issues when trying to file my taxes using Turbo Tax. Such as adding my foreign address and phone number, Paying my fees using my foreign address (and with a Visa).
Date published: 2018-10-17
  • y_2018, m_11, d_12, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_81380, tr_119500
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 361ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • TurboTax Live Reviews: Displayed reviews are for the TurboTax Live standalone service from Tax Year 2017 and not for the new Turbo Tax product / TurboTax Live bundle available for Tax Year 2018.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.