1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(4.6/5 | 198130 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from cannot access relevant step-by-step from forms
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Program Don’t Use The program froze up several times and I was unable to access my taxes. The error I received was oops something went wrong. I contacted customer service several time and they were unable to fix the error. As a result I was not able to file my taxes in April. Instead I had to file for an extension. When I accessed the program months later everything was magically fixed. This was too little too late. As a result I will never use this program again.
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from e-file I am very proud of my self. I never had done my taxes this way before. I was always affraid I would do something wrong. I wish I would if done my taxes this way along time ago, instead of paying someone hundreds of dollars to do my taxes. Thank you
Date published: 2018-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Problem with updates Days ago, working to finish return, reopened Turbotax and it came up with 189.5 mb of updates. That's just ridiculous. But, did it. Reviewed, extracted, etc...complete. Then worked on return. Finishing today with no errors, hit file, 1st 2 stages ok, 3rd stage, I think "Verifying" failed and couldn't file. check for updates. You don't tell where the Turbotax menu is so took 5 minutes to locate. Ran check. SAME updates required as done 2 days ago, as though never done. 189.5 mb again. Then it cleared and was sent. This shouldn't happen.
Date published: 2018-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY Turbo Tax downloadable version was a simple process, quick and easy.
Date published: 2018-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peazy! Been using TurboTax for several years. Never had a problem.
Date published: 2018-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved me from making a wrong return I was unsure on how to file my return properly and without her help I wouldnt of gotten the right refund. So thank you and continue helping people, like how you helped me. It was my first time filling my self and I think from now on I will only be using turbotax for my returns
Date published: 2018-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you They made the process super easy for me, even once I made a mistake and had to refile. Thank you so much for making this a better experience.
Date published: 2018-08-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Usually helpful Been using TurboTax for years from the recommendation of my father. Always been happy with it. It makes everything fast, easy, and smooth. However, I recently moved to a foreign country, and though things still went rather easily enough, part of my return this year involved filing an extension (as I needed to wait a year to prove residency). That part wasn't the issue. The issue came when it came time to file. Since the program auto-fills the tax forms (and you can't edit them), it incorrectly filled the extension form. When I tried to file, it kept demanding I correct the error, though through TurboTax Online I have no way of doing this. It got stuck in an infinite loop. To make matters worse, there is no support to contact to help me fix this error. (It doesn't help I'm 16 hours ahead of the U.S. so calling isn't the most convenient option for me.) No e-mail, no chat, just a pointless FAQ that only really applies to questions about how to fill out various forms. Nowhere to get help with bugs or technical issues with the site/program itself. Very frustrating, yet very specific issue. Other than that, TurboTax is great.
Date published: 2018-08-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from hidden costs It tried over and over to add max, it charged me an additional $40 to submit my state separately when it was supposed to be included. expensive expensive expensive I feel trapped because I have used it for so many years.
Date published: 2018-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this makes tax filing so much easier Had a hard time trying to fix errors. You actually cannot see what the error is. Hope the software can highlight the error we need to fix or review.
Date published: 2018-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Experience! I have been using Turbo for about 9 years, and will continue, it gets better every year, and each year, when I have questions, I call if I cannot find it in their excellent help section. Help usually fixes it for me, occasionally I call. Tonight I called and spoke with Aratee, she was totally awesome, so smart, and even offered a conversation gratis for this one, with an accountant. She stayed with me for a "quirk" regarding stocks/taxes, and helped me to figure it out, over an hour, she didn't fail!! awesome person, great employee, so smart and charming... GREAT job!!
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect The thing I like most is the ability to easily make changes until you get it right.
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from TurbTax Filing I received an error on a form (form not identified in the error message!). The wasn't any help available for the error. After searching the web I determined that the correct answer was 0 (zero) not blank, however, when filing the program determined that blank was the correct answer not 0 (zero). There were several other inconsistencies in the program
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from misrepresentation. now you want another $39.99 to efile. system is difficult to edit.
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from outstanding I needed to get my taxes done in a hurry. Turbo tax is the right name for this software. It was done quickly and made my life much easier as a tax preparer it usually takes me hours to do my taxes. Not anymore with Turbo tax, I'm hooked!
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to use!!
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peasy As usual, TurboTax made this process about as painless as possible, considering that you are doing your taxes.
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased! I'm sold. And, I anticipate next year being even better now that I have completed year one. 1x1 help got me over the complexity (and fear) of some difficult K-1 and other issues.
Date published: 2018-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hit a couple of road blocks I would use again now that I have correctly filed state and federal taxes upon finding the necessary information to submit revisions.
Date published: 2018-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent!!! Worked Like Magic!! My representative was so patient, kind and helpful. She solved my rejection in only a few minutes, It was magical! I am so happy you have a customer for life!! Thank you! ~ Trish ps. Loved the little camera in the corner to see my representative. Nice touch!
Date published: 2018-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Been using since the floppy disk days! On-line is soooooooooo much better. I used the help and got a call from a CPA in 3 minutes. I almost feel like I'm cheating!
Date published: 2018-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy I had to print and mail the returns but it was quick enough to do.
Date published: 2018-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relief I have used T Tax over 10 years now. They are a sanity saver. Every person has been knowledgeable. Today's assistance was excellent. Used the shared screen format and she was very helpful, personable, and professional. I had 3 more questions and she followed with questions to assure she understood my query. I was relieved to find out the I had filed correctly to get the best refund. The followup assistance is definitely worth the added cost. Plus if my husband, CPA, POA, etc need access to previous records, it is easy for them to retrieve as needed.
Date published: 2018-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No email or chat support 1. Missing a chat or email option for help. 2. Foreign taxes is not robust enough testing both itemized deduction or tax credit should be simultaneously
Date published: 2018-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the product works very well Doing 1040's is how I make a part of my living but I use TurboTax rather than the firm software because it is easier to use. I have occasionally used TurboTax to check a client's results obtained from our firm's software. I don't think TTax can do some of the more complicated returns however.
Date published: 2018-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Customer Service Mary customer service person was awesome!
Date published: 2018-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT !!! BEST do your own, buy your own software I have tried....Kudos turbo tax!
Date published: 2018-07-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Crappy App Would not allow me to e-file my returns even after fixing the "errors". I mailed in state. Turbo Tax didn't e-file my federal return as requested which resulted in it being late. Will be the last time I use turbo tax. Had to use my computer which was unavailable during my filing process. Finally was able to e-file federal using the website and not the crap app.
Date published: 2018-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but need more Expert capacity I finished my review in April and had paid for expert review. When I tried to schedule i got a note saying the team was too busy and file an extension which i did. I got the review today and it was very good. However, it cost my an additional $45 to submit the return and caused me some grief for a few months not being sure if I had done my deductions properly.
Date published: 2018-07-31
  • y_2018, m_8, d_14, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80451, tr_117630
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 231ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.