TurboTax is up-to-date for your 2017 taxes, start now!

Learn more about Tax Reform here tax reform information.

  1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.7/5 | 294517 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Saved Me I was late filing my taxes this year and was in a bit of a panic. I logged onto TurboTax and thought I would be stonewalled or charged with some crazy late fee but it was actually incredibly easy, and within an hour I was finished with a few hundred extra bucks in my pocket. Super intuitive. Appreciate it.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not have all State forms Did not have all the required State forms for Indiana. I still had to hire an accountant after I bought this. Waste of money!
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed Poor quality of tax instructions & explanations as compared to previous years. Lacking automatic carry forward of required depreciation info on state tax return. Byzantine printing instructions/options. Software needs automatic split screen presentation of interview w/forms side by side. Plodding rental interview software requires revisiting previous questions when only one item needs revision.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved Me Saved me from a bad situation. To be honest, I am always afraid to do taxes, and I did 2016 late. Turbo Tax made it SO much easier that I actually look forward to 2017. Infinitely better than programs I used in the past.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peasey i love turbotax, it sure beats paying my tax preparer $150 each for Fed and State in years past, and they say they assist if ever audited just like a tax preparer would. My only neg is the intuit website pricing is a lot higher than some other vendors pricing
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2015 was 5*, 2016 dropped to 3* Very disappointed in 2016 TTx changes. I will address three here: 1) many logically organized Sched C items now buried in other layers, and they are hard to navigate to to review or correct - TTx just skips over those sections even when I want to review on my own. Ex: vehicle expenses. I have always deducted only actual mileage. Sold my car in 2016 (21 years old!), bought another. And somehow I ended up with a "like-kind exchange" on your guided tour. Then I had to figure out how to delete the extra form. 2) Search function now slow and clumsy, and you must be connected to the web, even just to navigate to a form or topic within the basic program. This screams "potential security issue" to me. Please change this!!! The machine I use for my taxes is only connected to the internet for program updates, and to file my returns. I REALLY resent having to connect to find out how to get to, for example, the vehicle / mileage deduction section to rework it. 3) Loss carry forward info into CA state return is nonexistent, and instructions on how to handle this section nonexistent. NOT happy with TTx. I am a 20 year user of your program, this is bad enough for me to consider a competitor product.
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped me get organized LIked being able to call for support
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been Using TurboTax for Years - Still Satisfied Turbo Tax has always been my tax software choice. I can depend on the ease of use and a maximum refund. I though starting a home based business would make it more difficult to do my taxes but turbo Tax Home and Business made it easier and better. Definitely maximized my refund.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Addicted to TurboTax I love this in soooo many ways. The only way I could think to make this better is to not allow employee expenses to a spouse that didn't earn any employee income. It seems to let you if the other spouse made W2 income and I don't think that's allowed.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just wanted to file I got my taxes already to mail before the due date. My computer crashed last year so could not authorize identity without AGI. I could not get this AGI (adjusted gross income) from irs online, so I had to wait for the snail mail from IRS. My taxes are lengthy more than fifty pages per return. I did not owe and was getting a refund from the Fed, so I decided it best to follow Turbo Tax suggestion and get the AGI and send the federal in late. I would catch the state on time, to whom I did owe. Just like Wally World Turbo Tax informs me they are closed for the season leaving me no option now, than to file over a hundred pages by regular mail to both Fed and State. No previous warning, just insisted I needed AGI first. Real pain, and I could have filed by mail on time or at least the state with a hint or previous warning.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from transferring files seems that unless everything has same password or efiled, transferring one year to next not working
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, better each year.
Date published: 2017-10-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not pleased Should not have this problem with a software program that is supposed to be ready to use.
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tax to the test I love Turbo Tax and I would never use another tax tool
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love Turbo Tax! Most people probably cringe at the thought of doing their taxes. However, Turbo Tax makes this daunting task simple and easy! Who could ask for anything more? I used expensive tax preparation services in the past (until I learned most were actually using Turbo Tax). I highly recommend Turbo Tax to everyone.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better and Easier Every Year I really appreciate that TurboTax seems to get simpler every year. My taxes are complicated - Schedule C, home office, 2 rental properties including partial rental of my home. So I really appreciate that Turbo Tax seems to make my job easier each year. The biggest improvement I would love to see is the ability to show your tax information for 5 or 10 years compared to the current year. I've been using TurboTax that long, so the data should be there....
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed Very frustrated with the new platform. Paid extra for a service I didn't ask for, was unable to remove the service. All information I originally input was deleted and I had to do input ALL OVER AGAIN. "Starting Where [I] left off" was never where I actually left off. I've used Turbo Tax consecutively for years, moving to a REAL ACCOUNTANT from now on. This experience has only proved more awful year after year.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!! Very easy step by step process, easy to navigate, and guides you through it all. Perfect for anyone!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a good experience This is the second time in three years that my return was rejected. Also, even though I use TurboTax every year it fails to carryforward my capital loss carryforward and also failed to carryforward my bank and Schedule K-1 information. Thus, I could have done my return in the same amount of time had I simply used the IRS online filling method. TurboTax really failed me this year.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy They make tax prep so much more barable!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Nobody does it better!"
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Tax Application Turbo Tax has been the best tax application I ever tried. 13 years ago I used H & R Block and it was super difficult to use. I've also used Rapid Tax which was disastrous because they came after my sister for more money. I a numbers person and I love doing taxes. Turbo Tax is the best tax software on the market today!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible software This might be the worst tax software ever written. If they tried to make it awful, then they've done a great job of that. Over years of using TurboTax, I've watched it degrade every year. I'm using an accountant from now on.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Need Help TurboTax is easy to use- until there is a rejection. Contacting the IRS is not easy and for what I am paying TurboTax, it would be beneficial to have more support from IRS and TurboTax combined. I still cannot file.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Simple & Seamless Thanks for making my taxes easy, and for developing software that gets me better prepared for next year!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HI Much easier than an accountant. Please rewrite our countries tax code.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease of Filing When on a form, needs to be a way to jump to that exact part of the Step by Step. Even further, when on a specific line on a specific form, being able to switch over to Step by Step from the exact line would be a great help. I understand most of the lines on the forms are the end result of worksheets. That is great tracing backwards from form to worksheet to worksheet. Just need the ability to go straight to Step by Step rather than cascading down and going through all the questions again and again just to reach the area associated to the line on the form. Keith
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Have used TurboTax for years and still love it!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome refund Easy to use.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You make me feel like a genius! Thank You so much-would have been more stressful without you! Thank You! Thank You!
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2018, m_1, d_19, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_125197, tr_169320
  • loc_, sid_TT_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 254ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed return by 4/17/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.