1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 200820 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Intolerable software problems 2 years in a row. I spent hours on the phone on 10/15 trying to get the software to run. It ran in April 2018, when first loaded, but wouldn't on 10/15/18. Couldn't uninstall because it was looking for a drive that the software acknowledged didn't exist but somehow wanted me to uninstall the program from anyway. Wouldn't let me reinstall until I uninstalled from that non-existent drive. One tech person tried diligently, putting me on hold and coming back, repeatedly, until the call disconnected. She didn't call back. The second tech person didn't know what to do either. My tax returns have been filed late as a result. I don't know what the late filing penalty will be. But I know I've spent more time than reasonable or appropriate trying to get the software to load and function, 2 years running. I've used TurboTax exclusively since 2003. I will use a different company next year.
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dates / Disappointed Signed on a few days ago to efile - was told I had until 10/17 - signed on today to efile and told too late - now must take to post office - need to make this much more clear - ttax has gotten slightly less clear than it has been in the past.
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Longtime user, very disappointed this year! I have used Turbotax for at least 10 years and have generally been very pleased with it. However, this year I struggled mightily with a situation that should be rather common and easily handled. I sold a rental property that had been occupied for part of the year. Your software makes it so difficult and confusing to enter the relevant information that I am still not sure I did it right. I had requested an extension back in April due to missing information, and found that I owed money due to capital gains. When I tried to e-file, software led me in circles around how to pay what I owed in federal and state taxes. I finally had to resort to going to each entity's website (IRS, state dept. revenue) and paying that way. I thought I had managed to e-file without paying through Turbotax, but today discovered that a) I had NOT actually e-filed, and b) it is impossible to do so after 10/15/18. Now I have to locate a printer, print out paper copies of all my taxes and send them in via U.S. mail. I am NOT a happy customer.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expats I have been living abroad for a few years and there are some annoying glitchy issues when trying to file my taxes using Turbo Tax. Such as adding my foreign address and phone number, Paying my fees using my foreign address (and with a Visa).
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OK REFUND Recommend turbo-tax for anyone looking for reliable, dependable,and honest service.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tax refund 2017 The system helps you for every possibility of doubts, questions or when you need to know what's next.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always Simple and Easy to process!
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ugh! Making this somewhat short: I have worked on my form for 6 days now. Until 4 one morning (from 2 PM the previous day). Early this morning about 2;15 I was working on some problems still. The program would not allow me to put some answers down, not add, delete items, put an answer where it should not be (YES, I filled it out correctly and it did not accept it. While continuing to run an error check, it gave me A FORM WHICH WAS NOT LISTED ON MY FORMS. I am told I have maxed out.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tax program Would like help preparing taxes during the year so I don't need to do it all at once at the last minute.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best! I will always use this service! As a business owner they know how to maximize the return and confident that I am good to go.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Anyone can do this Best thing EVER!!!!!!!! If you want yours done right and with the utmost comfort of being able to answer...just answering questions...that's it!!!!! So easy!!!
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it. It was great having a knowledgeable person oversee the changes I had to make this year as my professional life underwent several changes. I was in the comfort of my own home, where I had access to my paperwork rather than having to lug them around or exchange emails, I just managed the documents from my own computer with the help of a professional. Totally worth the money if your tax situation gets a bit more complex.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not As comfortable as before I don't like it that when I want to review a specific form I could not for to that form directly. It used to be much easier to get to the form one likes to review.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Coach I've been using TurboTax since the first version. Still have the first floppy disk.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific Taxes Easy way to fill out your tax forms. Especially if you are a returning customer. I will continue to use turbo tax in the future. If your bank or occupation allows for discounts or free filing with Turbo Tax it was difficult to receive the discount. It could have been that I did not look in the right place or missed a specific area for that which would just be user error and not an issue with Turbo Tax.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good resource to clarify my issues I am glad that I have talked to a CPA you provided. I was surprised that the CPA I talked to only go through my questions. No every items on tax return.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Helpful Turbo Tax is easy, every aspect of it is clearly explained. I have had Expert help twice and it is extraordinarily good.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bazinga I have been using Turbo Tax for many years and it has always helped to complete the forms correctly.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from E-file delay Turbo Tax is great. We have used it for years. However, it would not complete the e-file after I paid for the products on 10-15/2018. The screen went blank and I could not get it to return to where I left off. I pressed the file buttons numerous times. I was only able to complete the e-file this morning. What happened??? Why would it just shut down on the deadline date? Did the system crash? Please explain it to the IRS! Also, I think the State product is too expensive.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Business 2017 It was a learning curve for me, preparing our business taxes for the first time.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from cd is terrible the ui on the cd version is terrible. why do they even sell an inferior product? they asked me to import previous year. i did. that is where i messed up. last years taxes messed up this years. it imported a bunch of expenses form last year that i could not delete. i only caught them manually on manual review. and for some reason it imported a second, blank w2 that kept me from efiling. i had to dig around for another hour to find how it was listed as 1 but really, within it there were two. what a piece of crap.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expert Help I spoke with two different representatives about my taxes. The first was moderately helpful, but not incredibly knowledgable about my tax situation. The CPA who did my final review was INCREDIBLE. She was so helpful, kind, and knowledgable. I am definitely going to use TurboTax again in the future. They were great to work with, and my taxes stress me out, so I'm thankful that I can talk to someone who can take the stress out!
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from poor handling of Roth IRA conversion The interview is getting harder to follow every year and this year I noticed an issue on my form 8606 that led me to find TurboTax has issues on my 8606 the last 2 years and my taxable income for last year, requiring 2 amended 8606 and 1 amended return with taxes due. The Roth IRA conversions require the taxpayer to go into the Wages and Income section, somewhere I"d never think to explore for IRA contributions and conversions. I think it's a very poor setup.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from PIN for Efile There is nothing in the help file to get you out of the IRS rejection due to the wrong PIN. I called the IRS, no help as they told me to send the file in without the PIN, but Turbo will not send the file without the PIN. Catch22.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from first time self tax filler While I learned a lot for filling my tax first time and being free of depending on an Accountant and there not much paying great attention to your eligible deductibles, it is not as easy as it says, but I am sure that I will get better at it in the rears to come. Cons With the price, you pay for a CD you should be entitled to one free State filling. I will give it another year try .
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy This is the way to go and be done quickly especially if you have to file other forms for investments or property with your regular taxes
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my Savings!! TurboTax never fails to facilitate and take-away the fear of filing your taxes. The simplified format really feels as though they are trying to achieve the greatest refund for YOU!
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotaxed It’s different from manual in a major way—takes more time but is more timely!, more thorough, and more BETTER. Will definitely use again. —CMM
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard situations made easy by TurboTax and staff. I love Turbotax. It was a little difficult to intuitively process my 1031 Exchange without creating a huge capital gains taxing situation that I didn't need to. Fortunately, the excellent online staff got me through it, and then helped me with some other key deductions and situations that I completely missed. Now it's the Fabulous TurboTax system and their incredible online counselors and CPA's. It's a perfect match to get me through the strain of it all. Thanks TT & Team.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Get in Sync with Fed Date 16 April this year I never thought you would be unable to adjust the 16 April this year fr tax returns to your software and the six-month extension. The 15th was on a Sunday so taxes were due the next day, 16th April.
Date published: 2018-10-17
  • y_2018, m_10, d_20, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_81358, tr_119444
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 36ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.