1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.6/5 | 197887 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Software The software walks you through basic returns with ease, however, unusual items can be difficult to find and work out. For instance, an extension was filed for my state return and the full balance was not paid with the extension; the software should know that it needs to add interest to the balance due and provide a place to enter the actual filing date to cut off the interest calculation instead of running it all the way out to the extended filing date of Oct 15th. Also, a "mask SSN" print option should be added as taxpayers frequently need copies of their tax returns for banks and mortgage companies.
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life giving help, hope. I truely love this product and the helps its given me over then years. Although when my life got complicated (House, Tenents, Inheritence) I wasn't quite confident with it so I had to go to HRBlock. I know someday it will be like just having a CPA in front of you who knows you and that would be the best product ever!
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Turbo tax fail Next year I will not be using turbo tax
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly reliable, very easy to use You are not consistent with your versions for single self employed people. Each year its a different version and a higher price.
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from turbo tax for life after filing self employed ill never set foot in another office and pay ridiculous prices to file. affordable and easy to use got everything taken care of ill be using this service for my taxes from now on
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy ive been using turbo tax ever since i got my 1st job its never been easier and cheaper
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use with question format I have been using turbo tax for years now. I am fairly detail oriented person that keeps all the records and compile them before filing. I like the way they can transfer most of your info from prior years. There has been couple of time where I couldn't file the returns in time and was easily file for extension, came back and completed it later. I have not used it but I suppose getting expert help would be great, that way you still have the freedom to file on your own and get expert help.
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from PARTNERSHIP SCHEDULE K HAD TO REMOVE ALSO HAD TO BUY $59.95 TO FILE MY 1099 ALWAYS WAS INCLUDED BEFORE.
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best there is This is by far the way to go for income tax filing and preparation!
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refunds to save $$ I am very satisfied with the on line tax filing process. The system walk you thru line by line. I have learned a few tips to better my collecting of data to enter and post. I am very satisfied with the chat options and personal help to review the line items and data entry. I will be using this service for my 2018 tax prep and filing. I felt at ease to speak to a CPA and get more confidence on my tax info that I entered. Help greatly to save some money. I hope to shorten the time to process next year by how much I learned this year.
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taxes Being able to do my taxes and feel that I have done them right and that I don't have to pay a large amount for the service is a good thing. You guys have been improving this service and are succeeding at it.
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Used Turbo Tax fro my 2016 and again for my 2017, but when an AGI number was requested by my 2017 return, Turbo Tax could not find it, FRUSTATED!!
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Turbo Tax I always file with turbotax and although I was late filing this year, it is still right on point getting me all the exemptions I can get.
Date published: 2018-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made my life easier
Date published: 2018-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stressed Out about Taxes Wonderful product easy to use and understand
Date published: 2018-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from alaska smooth I feel relieved when it is all over.
Date published: 2018-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good- except for.... I like TurboTax, have used it for years to do my taxes. One thing that I do not like is having to PAY to Efile for my state taxes. I do not think this is right OR fair. I would even pay a little more for the initial box if state was also included.
Date published: 2018-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best Way2File Definitely beats the human element but there are time seeking answers to questions are HARD! It's important to screen print pages as visible nots for other sections. As a retiree the difference between the RMD and Annual Retirement pay through monthly checks is confusing. It was IMPORTANT to read how others resolved the same problem. The first time using TurboTax is an education I'm sure it will be better in 2018. Thanks!
Date published: 2018-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY PEEZY LEMON SQUEEZY I just feel so good when the job is done and TurboTax made it easy!
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Disapointing Itamization I filed as married fileing seperatly but when tried to switch from standard deduction to itemized , I dident get the deductions and it kept telling me I better off fileing standerd only becous I had origenaly said I was fileing standard even though my wife and I had decided to file Itemized and I had the deductions to itemize.
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Software Application Good tool, however, I need to review the tax laws to ensure I'm getting the most from the tax software.
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TAX BOSS
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Software ever! I have used for 10+ years and will continue!
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fairly Easy I know know more that the average person about taxes as I've worked as a tax preparer but it's been many years so I'd forgotten some things. Tubrotax is written in simple language and that's so helpful.
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY EASY EASY!! Overall it is painless and easy! Hate doing taxes, but with Turbo tax they make it relatively easy
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow...I should have been using TurboTax all along This was my first year using TurboTax and I could not be happier with the tool and support staff...I am just kicking myself for not using it sooner...I will be a customer for life.
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service She was professional, knowledgeable, patient and continued to dig until the problem was resolved.
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but could be better My main complaint is the multiple upsells for extra services or products. The default selection is always "yes". That could at least be "no". Also, sometimes it doesn't allow alternative values that the IRS form instructions say can be entered. For example Form 1116 date field doesn't always require a date as per the IRS instructions, but TT will give an error if you don't put a date.
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT I FILED MY FED TAX FOR NY ON MY PHONE APP. VERY EASY. I DIDN'T WANT TO PAY THE FEE FOR FILING STATE TAXES. WHEN I WENT ON IRS.GOV I FOUND I QUALIFIED TO FILE FREE. I TRIED BUT IT SEEMED LIKE I WOULD BE REFILING MY FED. I CONTACTED LIVE ASSISTANCE AND THE GENTLEMAN WAS EXTREMELY HELPFUL AND WALKED ME THROUGH ENTERING A SERVICE CODE HE SUPPLIED AND MY STATE TAXES WENT RIGHT THROUGH. ONLY HOLD UP WAS I HAD TO BE ON A DESKTOP TO HAVE THE SERVICE CODE OPTION. THANK YOU TURBO TAX SUPPORT.
Date published: 2018-07-12
  • y_2018, m_7, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80375, tr_117482
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 111ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.