1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.7/5 | 294440 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Need Help TurboTax is easy to use- until there is a rejection. Contacting the IRS is not easy and for what I am paying TurboTax, it would be beneficial to have more support from IRS and TurboTax combined. I still cannot file.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Simple & Seamless Thanks for making my taxes easy, and for developing software that gets me better prepared for next year!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HI Much easier than an accountant. Please rewrite our countries tax code.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease of Filing When on a form, needs to be a way to jump to that exact part of the Step by Step. Even further, when on a specific line on a specific form, being able to switch over to Step by Step from the exact line would be a great help. I understand most of the lines on the forms are the end result of worksheets. That is great tracing backwards from form to worksheet to worksheet. Just need the ability to go straight to Step by Step rather than cascading down and going through all the questions again and again just to reach the area associated to the line on the form. Keith
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Have used TurboTax for years and still love it!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome refund Easy to use.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MY RETURN WAS REJECTED SO I REQUESTED A CALL FROM A TURBO TAX REP. MY PHONE RANG WITH 10 SECONDS. THE REP WAS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL. SHE QUICKLY HELPED ME FIX THE PROBLEM AND RESUBMITTED MY RETURN. I CANNOT THANK YOU ENOUGH FOR HOW EASY IT WAS TO RESOLVE THIS. KUDDO'S TO TURBO TAX !!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You make me feel like a genius! Thank You so much-would have been more stressful without you! Thank You! Thank You!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Robust Enough Difficulty determining how information flows onto the tax forms. For example, foreign tax credit information did not flow to the tax return, despite being input correctly (as far as I could tell), and there was no way to override the software or otherwise include the credit. Other items (e.g., calculation of the state refund income) calculate so invisibly that I could not determine if the information I input was incorrect, in the wrong place, or some other error was occurring. Even the highest end "self-employed" product does not offer sufficient functionality to prepare a complex tax return.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from clergy minus there needs to be some attention to special clergy particulars - even after Presbyterian Clergy retire, they can declare all or part of their 1099-R retirement pay as housing allowance. We were told if we were using Turbo-Tax to do that manually which worked.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love Turbo tax Would like to access prior returns as we paid for them already.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax is awesome! Turbo tax give me the ability to dig into all the details I need, and lets me file taxes I can defend. I am not sure how I can get all this information together in one bit and give someone to file my taxes. Good Job TT!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome Love the simplified walk through steps
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Rejections I would not use Turbo Tax Deluxe again. I was constantly being pushed to "upgrade". It was not worth $54.99 fee
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very helpful Very easy to understand and file!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Way! easier than TaxAct I tried TurboTax because I was unhappy with the software i had been using for the last few years. TurboTax was very simple, clear and easy to follow directions. My return was really complex this year because of a trust fund payment I received. TurboTax had no problem with it and made what I had feared to be a nightmare into a an easy exercise in key strokes.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better All in all this program is not bad. Not happy that I could do personal returns on my Mac but not my corporate. Would love it if Turbo Tax would make corporate return software for Mac. Also some things are difficult to find like how to amend return, and would love live chat option or being able to talk to a live person with questions.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love TurboTax I've been using TurboTax for years and just love it!!! I even have my boyfriend using it as well.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best help "for dummies" I use this software due to the convenience and user friendly features. And it's affordable !
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from EASY & SIMPLE BUSINESS RETURN I REALLY LIKE THE EASE & CONFIDENCE I FEEL WITH TURBO TAX. THE ONLY PROBLEM I HAVE IS NOT HAVING PRIOR YEARS TAXES IN ALREADY IN THIS YEARS TAXES.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from TurboTax did not transmit Did not know IRS needs last year AGI and Drivers License to e-File; last minutes I could not transmit.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes life easy Overall, it is a fantastic product. It makes my life easy doing both military and civilian flying. I recommend this in combination with EZperdiem for anybody flying civilian in the aviation industry.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exellent Service
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from IRS Assigned PIN Initially Turbotax required IRS assigned PIN to file extension, but when finally filing taxes, there was no prompt for this PIN. Hence, taxes were rejected. Please fix this glitch.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing I used TurboTax as usual this year, normally they are very good and import information from prior year. This year, after 5 years of using TT, they completely forgot me. I couldn't access my prior years and after and hour and a half with support that I thought got it resolved, TT still didn't cross check my return from last year. Didn't catch a typo in my husband's birthday and completely removed our dependent children. I thought our taxes seemed high but trusted TurboTax. Big mistake! Luckily, the IRS caught the birthday typo and rejected the returns. While fixing that, I finally got asked about dependents and my tax bill dropped by $3000. I've already overpaid now but hoping it won't take too much time on hold with the IRS and the Department of Revenue to get my refund. I'm still very nervous about my taxes though. They are complicated and need to follow prior years. I'm not sure an automated system was a smart idea. Really hope this doesn't trigger an audit. Thanks for making me a nervous wreck Turbo Tax. I will probably end up paying someone to look over my taxes to double check their work. Wasted money paying for the "upgrade" with Turbo Tax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reaped My Refund I found that the length of time to complete the entire process was very lengthy which took me into the next day when I thought it would only take me less than 2 hours.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Learned something new! overall the site is easy to use but there was a little trouble with the state taxes. as a service member I have a home of record and a state I live in. for some reason the site could not accept this and I was made to file for two states instead of just my home of record.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! You don't have to be a tax pro or even good in math to use TurboTax. If you have computer access, you'll be fine. I've used it for years!! I will continue to use it for the foreseeable future.
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_125172, tr_169268
  • loc_, sid_TT_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 2ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.