1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 201005 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great return Great help.easy to use. Will continue to use in the future.Only suggestion I have is: find a way to alert that it will take $??,???.?? In deductions to better the standard deduction. Went to a lot of work for nothing.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always correct
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Intuit Turbo Tax worthless at helping get information from earlier returns completed on different computer. Absolutely disgusted and discouraged with this program while employed abroad.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I will use your services for next years taxes
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use This is the best software that I have ever used.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Get Super Turbo Results 0nce started you can save your work & save it as a pdf where/when ever you want to file/print.. Save as often as you want.. Never close it until completion days later or exit often your choice.. open where you left off..
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Difficult for US citizen abroad Very difficult for US citizens living abroad. I have been a turbotax customer for more than the last 10 years. In 2017, I moved abroad & want to continue using turbotax. However, it have been very frustrating. First I cannot enter a foreign phone number. How can I have a US number when I am living abroad? Duh! Then when paying I need a US credit card, which I have but still can't make payment. Had to spend more than 2 hours on the phone with customer support. Long story short, Turbotax needs to cater to US citizens living abroad. It has been a very time consuming & frustrating and needs to be fix for 2019 tax filing. Thank you.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Some reviews that found incomplete information in interest paid did not help me find it and fix it. THis took a lot of time. System for which deduction to use only looked at federal return and selected std deduction. Fortunately i switched to itemized which overall increased my return because the state refund increased more than the fed decreased. The state return kept asking for dependent AGI. Child didn't file and i couldn't answer. After much time it finally let me continue and complete without the dependent AGI. The system kept cycling me through state questions over and over even though i answered them. The repeated requests for the added fees was obnoxious. For as much as it costs, and as much time as it took, i am considering not using turbotax next time. A partial refund would be appropriate.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing - doubts about the accuracy of the s I have been using Turbotax for a long time and have previously had no reason to change as it is fairly simple to use; until this year when I experienced an issue that blew up into several other issues. Firstly I submitted my tax on deadline day to have it denied after making payments for electronic filing on State. Apparently since my wife and I lived apart the entire year I cannot submit filing jointly. Although Turbotax asked these questions it did not prevent me from choosing the wrong option, and allowed me to submit the return as married filing jointly, thinking everything was in order. I then had to start again and create two separate returns and file, but since I am in a state where there is no tax, i was not able to utilize the payment I made on my wife's return. There are no facilities to request a refund. I went to the turbotax website trying to find a contact number to call; to no avail. If the number is there they make it extremely difficult to locate. I would expect that I should be able to generate some kind of query with turbotax via my return or through my turbotax account.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure why we pay extra fees after purchasing? I am not sure why I had to pay for the state filing fee when it was included and I had only used one state. I paid it as I needed to file ASAP but seems a little misleading. I already purchased the software and it just seems ridiculous. But I can't say it wasn't helpful to use as I did do complicated business taxes and filed jointly with my husband. So I did feel the product helped me get the taxes done with less stress.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent way to file! Knowing I would be itemizing this year due to a costly medical year, I was dreading filing taxes. However, TurboTax made it as simple as I could have hoped, and I am confident I got the max possible deductions and refund. Very satisfied!
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Inconsistent/Confusing The title of one of my investments was fine for the federal however it produced an error on the Iowa return. It did it last year too. When I went to print my state return, it was hard to figure out which pages I needed to print. I chose only the state tax forms but turbotax included a federal form and a 2017 form.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taxes made easy I have been using this program for my personal use for years. then 5 years ago when I opened my business I used it for that as well. it is so easy to understand and use. you are easily guided step by step.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes Baby! I loved how easy it was to file my taxes. I loved how turbotax walked me step by step through everything. I literally filed the day before on a Sunday evening before work (I teach and my brain was on lesson plans, lol). I messed up with my AGI because I was a digit off, BUT was alerted and cleared it up within time. SOOOO awesome!
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Frustrated I swear I completed the entire e-file process. After several days with no confirmation, call HELP and was told there was no record of the e-filing. First time I've ever missed the April 15th filing deadline. Every time I attempted the e-file process and pay the $24.99 State e-file fee, I was kicked out of the application and had to log back in. I'm trying a different tax software next year.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 2018 Return Very good indeed! Appreciate the support.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taxes Made Easy For a job no one much likes TurboTax at least makes it easy to understand and complete with minimal frustration and stress.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and easy to prepare
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No Mac Apple Utility It is really inconvenient that you no longer make this product for use on Mac computers. Also there should be easier ways to increase font size for better legibility.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gets a little worse each year I have used TurboTax for over 20 years and each year gets easier in some ways and harder in others. I have filed for an extension in the last two years. Both years, TurboTax has failed to disclose critical information ahead of time that has cost me both time and money to resolve. All said, I have regretted using TurboTax both years. Also, the price has risen to the point where it is less expensive to let my accountant do the work.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from average not more Would have expected better and more intuitive user interface for the money you are paying.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tax Program on the Market! I have used this program for over 20 years. I have been audited and passed with flying colors. These folks know their stuff and make it easy for a layman to file taxes. Gotta love it!
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and helpful This is the first time I used the Premier service with the tax experts included and it was most useful since I had a few clarification questions along the way. They were quick to respond and very thorough in supporting my inquiries.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Years of help I've been using Turbo Tax for a long time. In only one instance over many years was the situation so complex (involved marrying someone the year after the government was giving out rebate checks to everyone way back when) that I ended up having to call Turbo Tax to ask which version if any could handle the exact situation I was in. In that case, they advised they couldn't promise me the software could handle the many variables (that I haven't detailed here). I really appreciate that they were so honest with me. I've always found the software to be great at demystifying taxes for me, and I often end up doing taxes for my significant other as well because Turbo Tax makes it so easy. My exhusband insisted on using a CPA for years, and I found it to be a pain to have to drive over there to drop off receipts and forms, wait for the work to be done, sign the paper documents, and it cost us about 3-400 dollars a year when all we needed was like the $60 version of Turbo Tax and about 2 hours of my time. I spent that much time driving around! The CPA charged us by form, which is why it cost so dang much. Every schedule was another $50 or so. Just ridiculous.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service I will continue using Turbo Tax and recommend to my friends and family.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy until you get to the end We have been using Turbo Tax for more years than we can remember ... going back at least 20. It has only been the last 2 years that "Finishing" has become an annoyance. 'Verify these things from last year' and suggesting forms and line numbers we cannot find and indeed did not use. (After all Turbo Tax has last years return available and imported it just fine -- do ask me for something confusing! Then we re-validate bank account information ... and it takes four tries to guess the right format. Then it wants drivers license data from both people, and we have to go get those documents and pick 4 lines off each. Just a bad ending to an otherwise very easy process.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from can't print worksheet details I have to do a screenshot in order to accurately check details. It is very frustrating! I also don't like that I can't go back to change entries without going through all the tiresome questions that don't apply.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Well done Have been a user of Turbotax for many, many years. This time taxes were calculated properly, but when I noticed the rollup numbers for total income from 1099Rs came in well below the taxable numbers taken from the same 1099Rs, I called for help. Bottom line -- unable to resolve the difference -- Don't worry about it only the taxable numbers are looked at. Soooooo, that bothers me, as I don't want to have to explain or submit an amended return somewhere down the line.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine Overall a great product I've used for years. I guess I can't change now if I didn't like it because all my Schedule E deductions are stored in memory for the next few years. lol. Regardless, there are only a couple of things that raise questions but the online help people are always there - I did stump them twice on a couple of forms related to my situation, but they found the answers. I like the ease it makes of managing rental properties and multiple sources of income.
Date published: 2019-04-19
  • y_2019, m_4, d_23, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_70120, tr_130768
  • loc_, sid_TT_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 120ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return by 4/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.