1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.4 out of 5 average

(4.4/5 | 201714 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Error - File Amended SO confusing to fix a turbotax error. They did send an email saying there was an error and we need to amend our return.. no saying if the people who got a K1 need to amend as well. No word on where to file, how to file etc.
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Much More Difficult to Use Than in Prior Years In prior years, Turbotax went directly into my account at my stockbroker and extracted all data. This year, I had to enter results from records sent to me by stockbroker. Also, in general, in several instances prompts were harder to follow than before. Also, when I called and tried to talk to a specialist about how to use Turbotax (not about tax questions), I was totally unable to do so.
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Easy to operate and use Even though I'm not an accountant, I feel confident that I completed my taxes correctly and without paying the extremely high cost that I would have incurred with an accountant and with audit defense I can truly rest easy
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Keep asking for AGI.... I need to enter my pin but there's no option for a pin
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from one step further finding out that there are additional liabilities two full years after filing was troubling. Finding the resources to fulfill the requirement made everything much more manageable. I am a very early subscriber to your services and will continue to be so. Thank you for your able assistance
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but does not work with QBO Really Easy, but does not download from QBO.
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from amended return filing a disaster TT erroneously double-downloaded stock transactions from the online broker and I missed it. The process of how to file a State (Ohio) amended return was unclear to me, and also apparently to several TT representatives. Having that process with the deliverables required handy in TT would be a great improvement. Additionally, I am currently struggling trying to determine if my Federal amended return, the acceptance of which is required for my State return, has actually been transmitted....TT says "yes" but the lack of acknowledging emails implies "no"
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Transmiiting Wow!!!! Sent my check in and payed my taxes!!! Only problem was Turbo Tax did not transmit them.
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Software I personally feel there is something wrong with the software because I choose to opt out of the option for direct deposit but it still asks me for my bank account information so I am forced to put it regardless and I don't feel comfortable doing that. Also, I chose the option to pay with my federal tax refund and it automatically puts the Audit Defense. I don't know if there is a way around it but I don't want to be forced to pay for something I don't need and I strongly feel others feel the same way about this. I don't like how the only way I got around it is because I had to pay up front with my credit card. So I feel like something needs to be changed in your system because, as of now I would not recommend this to anyone.
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beware of Fees The process is thorough and precise. I have no complaints about the questions asked, the review for questions that needed to be answered. All around great process. But when you purchase software with 5 FREE federal returns and 1 state, you kind of think free means free. BUT you have to use free state on 1st return you input and also if you opt to take out 24.99 state filing fee for remaining returns the hit you with a 39.99 processing fee. do the math guys that is a blindside 40 bucks and my state charges more than the 19.99 of other states. siiiiigh. not happy about that. Did some review reading and found out if I pay that 24.99 with my card, the 39.99 drops off. THANK GOD. I just don't like blindside fees. But the software is top notch.
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor Used for many years but the extension file screen was not to be found this year. This was easy to do in the past but not this year. This Mac OS version is harder to navigate. Here's a clue intuit, quite making radical changes every single year. It s unnecessary. Looking for a new provider next year.
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality Poor quality, clearly not tested on MAC or tested for any special cases. My son was an intern last year, his computation was wrong. Filed on-line instead. My father's was wrong as well.
Date published: 2019-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phew, we finished! This software is the best. So much info. within each subject. Almost a no brainer.
Date published: 2019-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy and simple I've used TurboTax for over 10 years and it has proven sufficient to submit my annual income tax. It is easy to understand, accurate and reliable.
Date published: 2019-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy Turbotax is quick and easy to use. It will walk you step by step though each section or you can do it yourself. When there was a form that I wasn't sure how to fill out, I searched in the help section to figure out how to fill it out. I highly recommend!
Date published: 2019-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Turbotax was easy to use, just follow and answer the questions.
Date published: 2019-07-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terribly Confusing This version of Turbo Tax is the worse. I have been using Turbo Tax for 23 years. It is not as organized as it use to be. The job related deductions are confusing to input. It had me second guessing most of the time.
Date published: 2019-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comprehensive Software Second year using TurboTax for my two businesses, rental, and joint tax returns. I recommend to get the version that includes an Expert support. Experienced CPA normally called me back in less than one minute to help with the individual filing. They won't help with the business returns which makes sense. Each state return costs extra, but it's well worth it as all the info is transferred from Federal returns, almost no additional work to complete multiple state returns. I was able to file all my returns electronically and receive confirmation of acceptance within TurboTax
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Has progressively gotten mo and mo difficult Will take my stuff to account next year thanks for the good years.
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Missed 1099-R on my FY17 return My printer was down when I prepared my return and I did not print the return. When I reviewed on line I did not catch the mistake and there was not an automated flag of a problem with my return. I always depend on the automated update of 1099/W2s when I use Turbo Tax and that is what I did for the 2017 return. How did this happen? I am retired and cannot afford a $2,184 bill from the IRS at this time. Is there any help you can probide?
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Could be Clearer There were areas which left me confused as to how to answer. I had to Google questions in order to figure how to answer the questions. Wish there was more information available.
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice! Super - the online process has become better every year. I have learned what to track during the tax year also because I am filing myself and not paying someone who has a marginal interest.
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost Perfect!! 1. Starting out, could not find how to file for an extension. Why is that info hidden until you get to the last part of the return? The app should see what date it is and ask the user then. Do you want to file for an extension? 2. Why isn't there some way to have all of the previous years TT data together so it can find answers that are needed (Like AGI) w/o having to dig up old records?
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax is an excellent resource I use turbotax every year. Thank you turbotax. From beginning to end is quick order. Thank you.
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2018 worked out Had some struggles of my own, but resources were helpful and supportive.
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from cumbersome I've been using Turbo Tax since 2002 and this was by far the worst year. Much harder to follow and to go back over without needing to fill in many questions over & over. Also, the program used to say "Okay, now let's add spouse's info", but not this time. Had to go on the forum to find out where to find the obscure little box to check even though we listed that we were filing jointly at the start of the program. Took way too long this year due to these issues.
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from MT After getting to the end of filing, the cost was extremely expensive for me.
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Program good, new tax code bad The nice CPA that reviewed my returns gave me specific things that reduced my returns. stupid new tax code
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Software flaws There is a particular form for which I qualify for that exempts me from paying back the '08 homebuyer credit, since it is no longer my primary residence. A feedback loop was created when TT checks the IRS database to ensure that form 5405 was submitted, but the IRS says the form needs to be included with the return. So, my return continues to get rejected no matter what. Customer service agents were tremendously helpful, but its an IT issue that is out of their control. I spent over 2hrs trying to resolve the issue with no luck. Not sure what to do, but I know that I will not be using Turbo Tax ever again.
Date published: 2019-07-10
  • y_2019, m_7, d_21, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_70314, tr_131384
  • loc_, sid_TT_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 155ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return between 4/16/19 and 10/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See https://quickbooks.intuit.com/self-employed for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.