1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 201399 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Service! For me its a matter of learning and understanding anytime there is a feature to select it's likely there will be an additional fee. Overall, great product, doing taxes are quick and easy.
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bug almost cost me $1,000 with standard deductions I've been using TurboTax for years and love it. However this year it almost cost me $1,000 by recommending standard deductions because that would maximize my Federal return. Fortunately I figured out that itemized deductions would reduce my Federal refund by $200 but increase my State refund by $1,200!
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ADDRESS HAVE WRITTEN TO YOU SEVERAL TIMES ABOUT THE PROGRAM NOT PICKING UP THE COUNTRY AND ZIP CODE WHEN PUT IN THE PLACES YOU INDICATE. YOU HAVE TO PUT EVERYTHING ON THE CITY LINE TO GET IT TO PRINT ON THE 1040 FORM.
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good Very easy, but not for those that need to save and return to the site. Wish I could just pick up where I had left off because over many visits to the site to file this year, I didn’t realize I had NOT completed the last handful of repetitive confirmation pages to click through UNTIL a survey was sent asking why I didn’t file with TurboTax this year. “What? No, I definitely confirmed where my return will be sent and how I will be paying for TurboTax…” Yet, after confirming a million times the info I had entered, still technically didn’t complete it. Please have the program leave exactly where we left off upon login if we’re coming back to our incomplete return, we know we can always choose to edit if need be.
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Filing Taxes Made Easy Turbotax makes my filing easy, complete and concise. I'm so glad to have this program and appreciate the effort that has gone into making it user friendly.
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeping Tax Time Simple Overall a very good, concise, detailed, and with explanations of different areas of the tax code. I have been a customer for over 10 years.
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TURBO-Tax I have been using TurboTax for around seven years now and I see no reason to switch back. It's simple, I can get the important details at a glance and I can file on my time from my phone or my laptop. It couldn't be simpler!
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good and easy system
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Left me unaware of incomplet preperation It was very confusing to have completed the preparations and e-signed and not be completed. I also received no notification that it was incomplete. So now I am feeling late.
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Double Check Worked I double checked my state efile just to make sure and turbotax (no surprise) guided me through allowing me to accurately file. I should have known as I have used turbo tax (and its previous versions) since around 1996. I never tried to use it for state level but will never not use it now.
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from service i like you folks you do a god job at making sure everything is understandable to the customer.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHO IS AT FAULT WITH TAX ERROR? TutrboTax initially checked the accuracy of our returns OK. Who's fault is it that the returns were rejected? Fortunately, the error is to our advantage lowering the total tax by $395. Thank you!
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from You didn't submit my return! How do you accept payment and not submit my return!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Can't Analyze Alternatives; Poor/No Explanation CAN'T ANALYZE ALTERNATIVES: I wanted to compare MFJ with MFS for both myself and spouse. I found no guidance on what/how to enter information for each. I first did a MFJ return. Items were clearly marked for each partner or as joint. Then saved it with a new name for each partner. When I changed status, I should only have to indicate which person the return was for. But the program assumed it was for the first named MFJ person. Changing the name was a pain. I had to re-enter each person's information again. Also, when I deleted a form such as a Schedule K, it left artifacts, such as a Schedule E that I had to manually delete. Recommend a table with a column for MFJ and one for each partner and rows for each line item. I could move information from one column to another and see the effects immediately on my return(s). It would have to include the state(s) returns also. This would be similar to the Virginia state returns I filled out when I lived there several years ago. Also, I need guidance on which partner must claim what and what items could go either way. BAD ADVICE: In the end, the program gave bad advice. The program said I should file MFJ but preparing MFS allowed me to use my medical deductions, thus I had a lower tax burden. Turbo Tax should do the math as I enter the data and give a recommendation at the end. POOR/NO EXPLANATIONS: I know its complicated but that's why I use the software. Explanations are either incomplete or to complicated. And in some cases, non-existent. For Utah, there is a question about some eligibility for some homeowners item. There is no explanation of what it is, what happens if I say yes or no and no link to anything. Frustrating. DATA ENTRY - CHARITABLE DEDUCTIONS: There are to many keystrokes needed to enter or change a single entry. Also, when changing information, the list of charities is randomized. I have to reorder it after every change. Provide a table/spreadsheet format where I can see everything at once and change information easily. This would speed up things considerably. DATA ENTRY - IN GENERAL: In the guided entry mode, I feel I am being treated l like a simpleton while in the forms view, I need to be a CPA. Entering information one data point at a time with plenty of wasted white space leaves me unsure of where I am, where I am going and why. Use tables for data entry so I can see what's going on and have a column saying what the information is for and where it is going on the state or federal forms. WEB SITE PURCHASE: The web site makes it difficult to purchase the CD or Download versions. It immediately wants me to start data entry for an online product. I have to hunt with difficulty to find the item I want to buy.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very helpful Tax Preparation for Refund! I listed the general downsides in the Cons section, but I somehow feel confident that my Returns will be processed accurately. I would however recommend that the starting page list the available (e.g., YourFile02.tax2018) using the FULL FileName; as it is now I can only see a very short portion of the filenames and I take frequent snapshot saves that I would like to see LISTED in Full so that I might select the correct file to continue processing.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've used Turbo Tax, predominantly Home & Business, consistently for years - probably the last 15-20 years. I love it!! I tried another program one year and said never again. I'm happy with Turbo Tax and won't use anything else. Keep up the good work!!!
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from For the second year in a row, the NYS Return has been Rejected because the data relating to IT-241 ( a refundable credit ) has not been entered properly for e-filing the returns. The material appears on the Form IT-201 ATT but the details of the various purchases which are gathered on Form IT-241 does not carry along so as to appear with the e-filed material as support.
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A lifeline for Expats I have been using TurboTax for nearly ten years and have always felt confident when submitting my returns that everything is accurate and audit-proof. Could be more international-focused as there are millions of people living and working outside of the US that need to file a US federal tax return each year. Because of the mainly US focus, you need to be somewhat of a tax expert to navigate what forms you need to complete and what you need to consider or ignore.
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I have used turbotax for years and the only time I have hated my tax season was when I have not used them. I will never try and do that again.
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from was able to complete glad I could do it!
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Lots of Help Best way to file taxes, with lots of guidance and the best built in help. Checks for errors and files electronically. For US citizens living in foreign countries, all of whom have to pay US taxes, please add the ability to pay for Turbo Tax and to pay for Intuit audit protection service with credit cards that have foreign addresses. Thank you.
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I filed Electronically for 2017. It failed! I filed 2017's 1040 electronically, using Premier. The IRS says now that I didn't file !! So I try to e-file again, and your system disallows it! You say you're closed for e-filing for the year 2017. It was YOUR FAULT, not mine. You should allow me to e-file!!
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made complex easy Been using it for years and plan to continue
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent assistance I would recommend this service to everyone. I had several questions this year because my taxes were more complicated due to my parents passing. The four CPA who contacted me were extremely helpful and patient with me. Thank you so very much. We did it!!
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lost soul Confusing and not very helpful. It takes way to long
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from i filed my return a week or two before it was due. I finished it and it was confirmed that it was done. However, I noticed that I never received EITHER refund. I logged back in today to find that it didn't go through. I know that I completed mine so where and how did this fail? Not happy...
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do It Yourself It took a little bit of time to figure it out but it was well worth it. Also getting online help with a 17 year veteran CPA really helped also.
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from when you have to change something it's not that easy to get where you want to and sometime info you entered is saved and sometimes you must enter or check again. I had a situation where I got a rmd but wanted part to go to a charity the broker only sent 1 check I returned it and they issued the 2 checks requested then sent a 1099r for the total of the 3 checks and form 5498 to offset the extra money but there is no way to put that offset into turbo tax. you want me to get your product for next year and I would but it probably costs more than when a store has it on sale so why spend the extra money
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Late e-filing A month after I THOUGHT I had e-filed and my return didn't show up, I went back in to turbotax and saw that I had to update the application. What a bummer!!!!!! There could not have been a very big notice that my e-file had not really worked or I would have fixed it. Grrrrrrrrrr :(
Date published: 2019-05-17
  • y_2019, m_5, d_25, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_70236, tr_131153
  • loc_, sid_TT_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 295ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return between 4/16/19 and 10/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See https://quickbooks.intuit.com/self-employed for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.