1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.7411/5 | 29240 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh So Easy!! Been using Turbotax for years. Was loyal to another online tax software until someone told me about Turbotax. Wish I had heard of it years before. It is user friendly compared other online tax software, less expense, and I received a bigger return! Thank you Turbotax!!!
Date published: 2018-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could Not Have Done It Alone! What a relief! No way I could have done it without TurboTax!! Had NO clue about several areas of deductions. I thought I was going to have to PAY taxes and instead got over $5000 returned!! Sure put a smile on my face! I am thankful for TurboTax!!!!
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Use Actual State Tax for Schedule A When you use the estimated payments for the state tax entry on Schedule A, I have to pay tax in the next year for the amount refunded. You should allow the tax payer to elect to use the actual state tax amount.
Date published: 2018-11-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I feel ripped off. Not worth it for people with simple taxes
Date published: 2018-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FY 2017 We, the great Dads, have a natural right to our children. Even though, today, November 11, 2017, a low level law not in compliance with the natural laws of parentage, we have a right to display our children's names by our names in our taxes when that failure to be provided the natural rights of dependents to Dads. As it stands, in a low life of our national history in denial of good dads to the rights of their offspring, we are forced to type or print the names of our children into the dependent box when the law denies us our natural right to declare them as our dependents.
Date published: 2018-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heart Attack Avoided! I cannot even begin to describe how Turbo Tax has saved my life! My husband is a US citizen living abroad and I spent weeks and days trying to do all the complicated taxes by hand, form after form after form. Most days found me in tears trying to understand and comply with all that is required. We have spent $1000's previously on professional tax preparers only to find mistakes on past returns resulting in amendments having to be filed. Not willing to go through that again, I thought that I could do it myself, manually, I had tried Turbo Tax a few years ago but it just didn't seem to be easy to use or have all the information and forms required. But after getting road blocked on forms over and over again, in desperation I located my old Turbo Tax account. Much to my great delight, the interface had improved greatly and literally ALL the forms I required were available. I was able to plug in all information I already had and then watched the system do the calculations and pre-fill the forms for me. What a relief and literally, a life saving moment and heart attack avoidance situation! I'm ready to tackle next year's 1040 already thanks to Turbo Tax!
Date published: 2018-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MOST EXCELLENT I love TurboTax and have been using it for decades. I love how it guides you thru by asking questions and yet allows for me to manually make entries also. Fantastic software
Date published: 2018-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from double work 1.difficult to go back and make an entry change 2.while making inputs, it is difficult to see affects (see the results) until you go all the way to end.........see like there would be a "short screen" to review
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Filing I love the easy walk through of every tax area. The only thing that would make this better would be automaticly transferring of the last years tax info.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to file like the product and places where I can find answers to my questions
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding! Outstanding as always - I filed deferred due to combat duty, and it was still easy. Had to deal with rental property for the first time, and it was impossible to find the place to put in my mortgage interest and property taxes. Otherwise great
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from cumbersome many items have to be re-eneterd over and over and over...
Date published: 2018-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was scared but TT made it easy as pie TT made preparing and filling taxes EASY.
Date published: 2018-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service Judy was a great help during my hour long phone call. She is an asset to your company. thank you again
Date published: 2018-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall good package Package was useful and saved $ over attorney costs for creating a straight forward return. Supporting info on screens and help not that informative. Necessary to read IRS docs for some background. Packaging was confusing and costly for a single estate usage.
Date published: 2018-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 Taxes
Date published: 2018-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing experience I loved everything about the software and setup!
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Misinformation The program is very organized and easy to use. However, the reason I spent all the money to buy it was to get it efiled before the deadline. I was evacuated due to the hurricane in Florida so didn't have as much time to finish. On the date it was due and finished I tried to efile and it said that efile was not available for my 2014 return. This should be made very clear before buying and when using it. I am not sure I will get my refund now which I needed since I am disabled.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Some problems My problem was I could not get the program to understand that I did not trade in my old vehicle when I bought my new one. It worried me because it made me appear dishonest. I finally gave up and added a handwritten note to my return.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Network availability This times, when you have your desktop Quick Books running in a external server for better protection and reliability, you can't load your QB files to TurboTax because it works only local. Any way the TT application allow you to work and collect the data but in longer time.
Date published: 2018-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simplicity at its finest I have been using Turbo Tax for years and love everything about it. I can work from home on my own time; get it done all at once or in small increments. If I don't have a receipt or something handy, I don't have to reschedule with anyone. It remembers me from past years, so if I enter a drastic change it asks if I am sure. It lets me know if I need to add any IRS forms, what they are, and where to find them.
Date published: 2018-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from e-filing Why would you have an end date for e-filing. This is not acceptable for me!
Date published: 2018-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly good - but annoying I've used TurboTax for many years. It is not getting better. In the past couple of years TT made serious mistakes (obamacare) that cost me money due to making me overpay taxes. This error is not covered under the TT warranty because there was no IRS penalty. The 2017 version is much slower to update the live refund total because it spends a lot of time rolling the live total backwards & forwards, simulating a great effort to calculate. Other that that, it is not bad. I prefer to do my own taxes because I'll need to gather all the same info even if I hire them done. At least using software I learn what is important so I can have those docs handy.
Date published: 2018-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interview with forms visible I am an detail oriented engineer. I understand that many just want to blow through the interview and hit the print button and be done with it. I would like the option to see the applicable form in a side by side view being populated while I am answering the interview questions. I think it would help me understand the data I am entering and how it affects my bottom line. Additionally, with regard to education expenses I started claiming in the last few years, I spent alot of time saving/finding receipts for books, fees, laptops and the like, only to realize in the end, they did not affect my bottom line for the education credits. For example, I entered in estimated figures for books, etc, around $1500 just to see how it affected my final return. Later, I reduced that number to zero, and realized it had no impact on my final credit. Would be nice if TT recognized up front "based on the info and 1098T's provided thus far, unless you can validate $X or more in expenses, there is no benefit to documenting said expenses, and TT recommends moving on." Similar to medical expense section I think. It's been years since I have attempted to deduct medical expenses once I realized my typical med expenses would never exceed 7.5% of my AGI, and if it did, it was so little that it was not worth the effort for the small movement in total taxes due. I don't recall but I thought TT calculated that 7.5% value and asked me in the interview "do you estimate you paid more than this in medical expenses? If so, we recommend you fill out this section to get additional deductions." Been so long I am not sure what it does for that section now.
Date published: 2018-11-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Boooo TurboTax! I've used TurboTax for at least 8 or 9 years. Used it this year and for some reason could not access info from my past year's return, and even your customer service rep was baffled about why the prior year return was inaccessible. It really screwed me up and didn't allow me to eFile, which is one of the primary reasons I use Turbo Tax in the first place. AND I had to pay the $25 fee for my CA state filing, even though it didn't work. I would like a full refund.
Date published: 2018-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SURPRISED AND RELIEVED Should somehow include a question when buyer purchases software about how many states they will require.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Experience with Turbotax
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 10 years using turbotax The quality of your program keeps dropping. Each year you have less ease of use. I have to go into forms to enter my schedule C info for the trust. You should be providing more help each year not less. No running total of taxes owed. Not good. I had to go to forms to see how much taxes were due. I don't want to use your online version. I keep my business info in office, not where someone can hack it. Please add back in schedule C to the walk through.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2017 Turbo Tax Software Issues Federal return went smooth. When I needed to start my state of Indiana return, it threw me out of turbo tax so I had to log back in? I had started these returns a few night ago but finished them so I saved my work (or so I thought). When I tried to pick up where I left off, forget it! Had to start all over again! Not cool....
Date published: 2018-10-31
  • y_2018, m_12, d_9, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_81392, tr_119518
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 60ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return by 4/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • TurboTax Live Reviews: Displayed reviews are for the TurboTax Live standalone service from Tax Year 2017 and not for the new Turbo Tax product / TurboTax Live bundle available for Tax Year 2018.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.