1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.7411/5 | 29240 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from TURBOTAX HAS BEEN RUINED I HAVE BEEN USING TURBOTAX FOR 15 YEARS. NEVER AGAIN. FIRST I BOUGHT THE ONLINE PROGRAM AND THEN REALIZED I NEEDED THE CD/DOWNLOAD ANS BOUGHT THAT. SPENT TWO HOURS ON MY RETURN DID ERROR CHECK AND HAD TO RETURN TO A W-2(WHICH T-TAX HAD ADDED) CORRECTED IT AND THEN FOUND THE RETURN I HAD SPENT TWO HOURS ON WAS GONE! NICE-YOU HAD A GREAT THING, WHAT A MESS!!!
Date published: 2018-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tax Filing This is a great software package. You just have to have all your information together and answer the questions when asked.
Date published: 2018-06-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Difficult to use I have used TT for over a dozen years. Most of filling the forms is routine, but help for the unusual is non-existent. I could find nothing on the rules for 179 expenses on a K-1, and had to figure it out by other means. Help really falls short of prior years. Also, when I chose to file my state returns by mail, instead of paying TT 45 bucks to e-file them, getting past the TT pressure to e-file was like pulling teeth, although I did find how to do it after getting past TT's obstacles.
Date published: 2018-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So EASY! Easiest site i've ever used. User-friendly; even first time users can follow.
Date published: 2018-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No money back, but didn’t have to pay in! So easy to do - they take you through all the steps! I am not great with numbers, but TurboTax makes it a piece of cake!
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn’t have state taxes and it refused my payment. Had to file extension and just now got all to go through.
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Suitable but with flaws I was late because I did not have information about last year's taxes, and I did not realize I would need it beforehand.
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Easy Turbo Tax was extremely easy and quick!
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and Easy Absolutely keeps getting better.
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Opt out of State Filing so, that's it.
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professionals The first experience is always dreadful but your staff made the experience a delight. Looking forward to next year.
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from IRS NEVER ACCEPTED MY RETURN IRS never accepted my return no explanation given. No guidance from turbo tax if successfully transmitted but not accepted. Had to pay penalty and interest!!
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Headaches by the dozen Could not get around to make it connect to submit my return. it kept giving me an error 2 and try again later....I change all kinds of security settings in my compouter to no avail....now I am not sure how my computer is set up. I even try to contact them and sent an email but no response
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty complicated could use some more help with whether special situations apply; and some explanation as to the calculation logic for some forms e.g., Form 6251, 8960 and W/S e.g., Sched D Tax W/S
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Did a great job on my returns
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Refund Me Please Easy to maneuver!!!! My daughter was able to do her own taxes.
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Have no idea how I'd file my taxes without turbota The year I lived in two countries, two states and worked in a third state. I also ran two partnerships. I think it'd be virtually impossible for me to file my taxes using the IRS forms - I'd be at it for weeks. Turbotax makes the process doable by translating the dense IRS instructions into intelligible, answerable, largely intuitive questions.
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy-Refund! I'm so glad I bought the software instead of paying a tax preparer.
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nearly a quarter-century with TT! I first did my taxes with TurboTax (back then, "MacInTax") in about 1993 or 1994. I've done it with TT every year since then, and right now, I can't imagine doing it any other way. I love how it imports previous-year information, and importing from other financial institution is easy, too. The Q&A format is more and more intuitive every year. (One curiosity… why does it prompt us to print records both immediately before and immediately after clicking "transmit"? This could be explained a bit better.) I wish it included free state filing as well… it used to be so, I think. Still, I just print the state return and then log on to my state's website and enter the numbers myself. Keep it up, TT folks!
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use Loved using this, will use again next year.
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I appreciate the evolution of this application.
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, easy, peasy tax return This was so easy and I will use them again next year.
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Late Than Never I don't know how others do their taxes, but everyone should be using Turbo Tax!
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from tax expert messed up our return I can't fault the software, it is good. However, I paid extra for a tax expert who walked me through both my son and I's refund. It wound up being wrong and we missed out oun $600 in refund money and a lengthy time without filing our refund. I spend a long time talking with a "supervisor" afterwards who promised a refund that was never given.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So kind andknowlegable I am so glad this is over. I put way too much time into filling my taxes out. In future years, I will request to speak with someone.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yea! It was certainly a more pleasant experience than was several years ago
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sergio Helped me "Get it done"! I very much appreciated this assist. I have used turbo tax for many years with any need of assistance. But this year was quite different as I experienced some drastic life changes. Thank you!
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from last time using this service i paid for the "Expert" help. what a joke. Expert told me I had to pay $50 for access to a 2015 return, when i was asking a question about 2017 return. i filed, but i will be looking for a local solution next year. if you're taxes have anything other than a simple w-2 from one employer in one state, don't use this.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as it used to be My state payment never arrived, had to pay a penalty, no way to check it. Attempts all failed to verify either Fed or State payments. Your product is going down hill, not sure I will use again.
Date published: 2018-06-25
  • y_2018, m_7, d_21, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80378, tr_117492
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 270ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.