1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 200820 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by from bugs are annoying Two very annoying aspects. i clicked on the wrong button and TT started a partnership entry that it would not delete. Also, at the end, it had an income summary that listed 'total income" that was considerably too high and didn't agree with return. no links or way to reconcile. These bugs exist year after year and are never fixed. Grrrr.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very poor customer service! I have used TurboTax for years. The first time....I was SOLD! I remember easy and helpful customer service. Unfortunately, each year after, I have been disgusted with the changes. The format changes drastically year after year. It’s inconsistent. Please keep it the same or nearly the same. That we we can use prior notes and become familiar with the program. As far as customer service...in 2016, I could NOT log on...it was relentless and had me jump through so many hoops that I passed the deadline and spent months stressing over it. So now I got penalized by being asked to mail in forms that I have lost due to theft. I KNOW I will get audited and I do not have supporting documents due to my loosing EVERYTHING. Just had a rep who could not help me cost me two hours and I figured answer out on my own
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always easy!! This is a great service. I've been using them for the last 6-8 years. I'll keep using it. Thanks TurboTax!!!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from one NASTY flaw spoiled the experience! You made me miss the deadline because TT would not accept my checking account number as printed on my checks! I have NEVER had this problem anywhere else. Finally when I added a 0 before the number it worked, but by then it was TOO LATE!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Getting better for multi-state returns I have to file returns in NY, CA, and IA, and it used to be a nightmare trying to get the state returns to e-file correctly. It was very hard to find where to input changes when an error was pointed out, especially for multiple extensions sent and estimates paid. It was especially difficult with 592-B withholding, and for years I was not getting credit from CA for withholding that was taken for a real estate investment out there-this has improved. The IA return is still a nightmare, and the 'easy step' is not too clear, and I am never sure what is actually going where, but I think that is more IA's fault than TT. For both IA and CA, there could be more instruction on the adjustments that need to be made on the federal numbers to come in line with state rules for non-residents. In all the programs there still is large room for improvement when redirecting after an error is found. One should be able to go to the error, click on it and be redirected to either the page in easy step, or the CORRECT form in forms to enter the correction. Too frequently one finds an error, and you try to click in a box in forms and make a change and nothing happens. If a change isn't allowed in that box in that form, then the program should take you to the spot where a change can be made. Also really annoying is the message 'there are no errors in your return', and yet when you go a few steps further in e-file process, you get another message that says, 'oh, we have found an error preventing e-file from continuing' or something to that effect, and back you go, clicking on a box, and not getting to make a change. I got almost all the way through the e-file process last night, and tried to transmit, and then got the message that there were updates needed and e-file could not be completed.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heck yea!! I love Turbo Tax and recommend whenever someone mentions.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Late Night Job Done Last minute Larry Over here putting in taxes at 10Pm on the 15th.. The easy to follow prompts and Welcoming User interface makes this the best Tax day I have had.. Ever!!!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One less headache.. Been using TurboTax for over a decade now and the product just gets better every year..
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Need TurboTax Business for Mac Will you ever make a TurboTax Business for the Mac?
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Would have been perfect, EXCEPT... Another bit, besides the Pros and Cons above: consider a checklist of the various sorts of ID info to gather in preparation for signing, filing, etc., especially for those filing jointly, perhaps for the first time after filing separately in the past. Getting up again and again for both sets of State ID numbers, prior year AGI values, and more, with the clock ticking closer to midnight, was extra pressure I could have done without. (Not THAT close, actually. It's after 10:30 pm but not yet 11, much less midnight. But still . . .). I still wouldn't have gone with anyone else's software. I'm a TurboTax fan for as long as I have income and, subsequently, taxes.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thanks Wonderfully detailed. Someone to help understand the gobbledygook of tax forms and instructions!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too expensive but no much better than TaxAct E-file states extension costs extra even after I bought the state filling.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service Great software program. Easy to use.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good experience This is one of my favorite products about filing my taxes.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No discounts, tried to upsell twenty times
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you! Great! Helps us to prepare our own tax returns. Keeps information on file from previous years.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick & Easy The questions were clear & understandable to a "common" adult and used very little "professionals only" vocabulary. It was easy, fast, and made me confident that I found every deduction and had accurate calculations.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always so easy I have used Turbo Tax for years and it just make filing taxes and extensions so easy. Love the step by step process it couldn't be any more simple for me. Thank you Turbo Tax!!!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tax Software Excellent tax software....I've been using it for decades. It helps to simplify an otherwise very complicated process of completing so many forms and calculations. Hats off to the team at Intuit TuboTax.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not user friendly I wanted to file for an extension from the beinging. I authorized payment after puting in all of my information in and had to go on a wild goose chase to finally find out how to request an extension. To which is did not ask me to pay my est amount due to the IRS in order to avoid penalties and interest. I will no use this service again
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my life once again! Overall I can't imagine doing my taxes without Turbo Tax. It makes it so much easier! Thank you!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deductions Maximized! Great product that has made it relatively easy for me to file for my small business on my own year after year. Thanks Turbotax!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd Time Using TT Would recommend this to anyone! We used to spend $450+ a year to file our taxes. Now, we spend less than half that and there's no headache or dealing with an Accountant.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from back to Turbo Tax after a 2 year hiatus! Turbo Tax is the one I have loved for 25 years. it asks the right questions, gives clear advice... I was sorry I didn't use the tax advisor I had the last two years, but he was on vacation. My need for advice was because of home sale and purchase, large charitable gift which has to be deducted over several years, consolidating my various 401 (a), 403 (b), and 457 accounts, and refinancing my home loan to a lower interest rate loan. I had a good set of 2016 files from my tax preparer last year so I was able to do it pretty easily. But i really missed the roll-over that Turbo Tax has offered me, which significantly reduces the chances of error inputing stuff and just feels great. Im actually looking forward to doing the 2018 taxes, because much of the info I need will be rolled over!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Money, money, money! Have been using it for 7 years now (accountant retired), some years with other states (gambling). Have had some big filings due to business, always had what I needed. Fairly easy to get used to after the first time.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellence There for me every year. Thanks
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I have used Turbotax for more than 5 years now. The updated version is less user-friendly and more difficult to Navigate
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love TurboTax! Easy to use, helpful suggestions and auditing throughout the process. Would definitely recommend TurboTax!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I hate the new format! I have used Turbotax for the past 5 years. Previous year's format were easy to understand and navigate, and it was useful to see a side-by-side comparison of expenses on my Schedule C worksheet. This year (2017) there was no comparison, and the format is awkward and difficult to navigate.
Date published: 2018-10-16
  • y_2018, m_10, d_20, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_81358, tr_119444
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 51ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.