1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.7/5 | 294440 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features Great program for self-employed people to calculate their refund. Makes a dreaded process much simpler.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Thorough This made doing my taxes very easy. It also helped me think of things I might have left off on my own.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Transmission Glitch Made me Late TurboTax gets better every year in ease of preparation, but sometimes there is a hangup at the file & transmit stage. The captcha test at the end did not appear, and I had to start the efile transmit process over several times before it would take. By this time, it made my return 12 minutes late. That is sure to cost me money.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from much easier then last year
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mostly easy to use! long time user with minimal difficulties but this year almost did me in! lost data while going thru the review stage - had to call your tech support to get help. On phone an hour before we finally found data - it was saved but hidden - only empty categories were showing on my screen and I found I had to hit review buttons in every category to retrieve it. it did work and I was able to file but it was a gruesome hour trying to find it with your person who was great! also, I have difficulty every year with K-1's and only way I can fill in all the blanks is to put in 0's or 1's in spaces that your system says needs a response. Very annoying but my system works without impacting my tax amounts. sometimes I have to erase investment of K-1 info and start over to get your system to accept data properly.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super! I am very thankful to Turbotax, and I get a free year of Quickbooks Self Employed!! Awesome!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love turbo tax I really like the questions that describe what I need to enter in order to receive the biggest refund. There are also help topics for every question so you can understand what they are asking for. I will definitely recommend turbo tax!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Underwhelmed I hate the way Turbo Tax has changed from last year! I had to search forever to figure out how to put employee wages in. I had tons of trouble finding all the business deduction categories and I never found where to enter my rental property information. Guess I'll be filing an amended return if I ever figure it out. So disappointed.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes Doing Taxes So Easy!! Makes doing your taxes so easy and hassle free especially if you do the small upgrade option to their "PLUS" level (not necessary and "Free" version is great too-- I utilized the "Free" version last year and the "PLUS" this year, both of which I recommend!). Their "PLUS" feature/version takes the guesswork and pain out of the process and it saves everything as you go as well as copy and pastes your personal info on each new form. Just fantastic!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to get taxes done Easy to use software for tax preparation; it will guide step by step during the process. Had used for several years already and continue to be a happy customer.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my 1st refund For my first time, this was my best experience to file my taxes. I will be using Turbo Tax for a long time!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy with Step by Step Awesome and thorough
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2016 TAXES Would like the choice about submitting employer has contributions as taxable for state. My employer taxes the H.S.A contributions that the employer makes and Turbo tax added the funds to my return. Should be given the choice. I feel that I was double taxed.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needed to file form not available on turbotax Now I must spend additional money to file an amended form since I could not file a form D
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax is Best Choice for Self Employed Turbo Tax is the best way to get the most for your money in Tax Prep costs. It walks you through every scenario and you can feel assured you are not missing any deductions or needed info. Self employed this is the best way to go - Been using it for over 10 years and still think it's GREAT!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great... but a rough in spots Had the self-employed turbotax. Found the business information gathering difficult. There were not places for paying contract services, nor enough line items for all the categories. In addition, home office tax deduction did not work as it should, so we had to delete the information and re-enter it elsewhere.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfied I've filed every year with Turbo Tax for over 10 years. I do personal and business, which allows me to utilize all deductions. Unfortunately, I will have to amend a filing because I was not able to talk to anyone regarding losing family property that the County was holding me responsible for as the heir. I was unaware I was the legal contact or never would have lost the property. Now, I have to find out how to write-off $30K
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from boo i hated how the extra fee for deducting turbo tax deluxe cost from tax return was not obvious to me and seemed impossible to reverse once i had agreed. i wanted to pay by card at that point but out of time and couldn't begin again. boo!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of mind! Turbo tax gives me peace of mind that I haven't missed a tax credit. They also guide me where to input numbers such as 1099s and that crazy Obamacare stuff. I never would have guessed where to put it. My husband paid a high insurance payment and still owed money. Our state didn't have extended Medicaid. Supposedly he qualified for it if we did. He got a lot of his retirement money, which we had to use to live on,and it raised our income. He got the money because his job was lost. The company closed.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from First Time User This is my first time filing my own taxes. I usually use a CPA. Without my tax return from last year, I would have been lost. Disappointed that it couldn't upload my pdf of previous year taxes, and I had to call for support on a more complicated issue. It was impossible to find where to enter this information without assistance. It does make everything simple for you once you do the work.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for most things If you own properties in multiple states and finally have to claim income on one of them you will need to call customer service to resolve because turbo tax will give you some bogus numbers expecting you to pay a ton of money in a state where you did not make much money,,,, now I know so it is easy; glad I called customer service; they resolved it right away.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good till you try to Verify This is pretty smooth if you do not have overly complicated Taxes
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easiest way to do taxes l love turbo tax, I've been using it for over 10 years. You don't have to worry about keeping up with any tax changes, or wonder if you're getting all your deductions and the best refund you can, Turbo tax does all that for you. And if you forgot a form, you can walk away and get it, there's no driving home and making another appointment to finish your taxes. (or have an agent laugh at you, as that happened once when I was married.) I'm just not sure why it dated my filing as a day late using EDT instead of Central time where I live.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NO OPTIONS Very disappointed after several years of use, by the 'suprise' at the end before filing that one has to pay, otherwise it won't let you. It isn't free, even though the EZ simple return should be.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful and encouraging! Fun format!! Loved stepping out of my comfort zone and learning this new, needed thing...tax prep! Great graphics, endless encouragement and fab format... All business but good! Do have plenty of time to prepare and file, you will need it. An overall excellent experience!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wrong submission date I was racing the clock to submit it on 10/16/2017. I made it on time for Utah time which is where I am. Turbo tax recorded it as Eastern time as if I had submitted it on the 17th after 12:00. I really submitted it at 10:55 pm on the 16th!!!!! I better not get a late fee just because I lived in Ohio in 2016 part of that year. I live in Utah now and submitted it from Mountain Standard time! Come on!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from where does it say that the return will be filed on eastern time? now my return was filed late...according to this its was filed at 12:58 on Oct 17th not 11:48 CST on Oct 16th what do you suggest i do? are you going to pay any penalties?
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Easy Mine was pretty straightforward and was relatively quick and cheap!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT HELP! I like using Turbo Tax year after year because of the ability to compare years. It is easy to use and answers many questions to my satisfaction.
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2017, m_11, d_18, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_125172, tr_169268
  • loc_, sid_TT_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.