TurboTax is up-to-date for your 2017 taxes, start now!

Learn more about Tax Reform here tax reform information.

  1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.7/5 | 294517 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from non fluid system
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly very good Sometimes it would be easier to just enter information rather than going through a slew of inane questions
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy & Loyal Taxpayer I've been a loyal customer of Turbo-Tax for the last 15 years and will continue to use this excellent program So far so good, I've been able to access my income-tax from anywhere in the world and truly enjoy how my identity has always been protected and all my documents are always at my fingertips
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great It is a great app, it would be better if there was 24/7 live chat assistance.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's getting too locked down It is frustrating that over the years the product get more and more forced. Once you could easily navigate to any schedule you needed and not be forced to buy premier products - unless you needed the guidance. I don't need to be walked through everything. Also I despise holding my prior returns hostage unless I pay for a package. What the heck? I have to pay to see my own returns? Please roll that back.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Confusing Made Simple Turbo Tax was very easy to use. We have two rentals and this software walked me through each step. When having to look-up information the system would log me out. For the coming year, it would be helpful if there was a Turbo Tax organizer.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a breeze I've used TurboTax forever and it seems to just get better and better! I love that it takes you through each step in detail and explains what information is needed and why and also where you'd find it! I forgot how to import my info from ItsDeductible so I searched through Help and found the answer and got it done! I feel empowered that I can fill out my own return and I like seeing that it's been checked and I'm submitting a return with the best possible results. I paid for the MAX benefits because my W2 and my tax returns were hacked last year. I feel safer with the extra layer of security and monitoring. I felt really violated last year when I found that another return had been sent in with my SSN. I called Turbo Tax and they found the return that was submitted by someone else and invalidated it. Friendly and thorough...I love Turbo Tax - online and on the phone!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for last-minute warriors! great product and stores from year to year for retrieval
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from "Improvements" not felt by the Consumer This is the first year I was nearly as frustrated as using the old paper forms. TurboTax has chopped up the interview process into too many drop downs that 'hide' once you click through them. I believe the old interface and flow was better, and would again like the ability to readily see tax forms and progress in the process. It felt like I was being forced to use a MOBILE platform with my desktop. I would GREATLY APPRECIATE the option to display the interview in the old style, and to "see forms" at any part of the process. Please LOSE the 'mobile' interface styling, it is slow and unwieldy for keyboard and mouse users.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yeah! I hate taxes!!!! But you made it simple enough and easy so I could do it myself and get it done! Thank you Turbo Tax! You have an amazing tax service and it keeps getting better!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally done Overall, a good program. A no brainer.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I think it's expensive for what the program is and I will look into other programs next year. I also didn't like that every time I tried to check out and added a 39.99 fee for audit defense which I did not want and it kept removing. However it kept adding it back on. I also don't like that I can't see my return while I'm working on it.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A life saver Last minute filings are all too common, and wouldn't be possible without TurboTax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refund on Fleek!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from annoyed could not edit info on drop down option rather upsetting when I could not change an error on the drop down option, i,e, state,zip code, it happened several times.prices are going up too! it took me 2 hours to finally go back and have to redo everything because it would not let me change the state, which obviously the zip did not match, very annoying
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from maddening at the strangest moments
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocked my refund! Loved it!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST!!! Very easy to manage. great guide
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing service Great quality option. I was very impressed.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Breeze To File Tax Returns Great tax product. I switched over from H&R Block, and will stick with Turbo Tax from now on.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dual States I like that I can get my tax return finished on my time line. Sometimes it takes me days to find all the info I need to refer to. I can come & go on Turbo Tax on line. I can review everything as many times as I need to. I live in one state & lease out my owned home in another state. Turbo Tax makes it easy to meet all tax filing requirements.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not So Fun this year. Can't justify paying 100$ for the product. I wont be returning next year.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thanks for the Help Thanks for helping remove some of the fear from the process.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always clutch Many years using it and it's always clutch. My returns are always great. I just finished my taxes, in the last minute. So, I'm felling pretty good and happy with Turbo Tax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as Good/Easy as it used to be Comprehensive and accurate (I trust ), but you cannot get to the forms screen to look at your return in progress as easily as in previous years, and the color and contrast on the screen is not as easily read as I previous years.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a relief! It's done!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super easy and clear Overall easy to use and file tax return! thanks!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It gets easier every year. Turbo Tax is perfect for self employed people like myself with multiple small businesses. I have been using this for the past 5 years and every year it becomes easier to use. I prefer the online version because I don't need to worry about OS requirements and software updates. This is really easy to use. The software will walk you through a series of questions which is easy to understand. If you get bogged down with a question, help links really helps. If someone like me who is bad with computers is able to use this then anyone can. :-)
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NO last years data pre-populated Every year I do my taxes with you and it was always easy because all my data from the previous year was already loaded into the current year. I just needed to edit a few things and I was finished. I never saved anything because I never needed to. This year there was NO saved info from the prior years data. I had to input everything from scratch. I doubt I will use Turbo Tax again next year because of this!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth sail to file returnd It great software but its slow specially while filing investment income (security transactions)
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2018, m_1, d_23, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_125197, tr_169320
  • loc_, sid_TT_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 98ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed return by 4/17/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.