1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.7411/5 | 29240 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I submitted my taxes on the 17th and it was rejected because the debit due date I selected (4/17/2018) needed to be fixed. It is the 19th and my tax return is still being rejected and Turbo Tax is no where to assist with explaining what in the world is going on. I am not paying you beyond the already astronomical amount I am paying to have my taxes prepared by ME. Explain what is going on with the debit due date so i can submit my darn taxes already....Last year using turbo tax.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Way Too Many Fees Tons of fees at the end, ended up paying around 184$ just to have turbo tax file my tax return. Any other year that i have used this resulted in way lower fees.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & worth the money I did my not too hard but not entirely simple taxes by myself in less than 2 hours. It kind of felt like I was taking a buzzfeed quiz. They make it very simple and you pretty much can't submit your taxes with a mistake, unless it's a typo
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed Why doesn't your expensive service catch a simple error like date of payment for bank payment on taxes due? If you can't determine what day is accurate to avoid rejection by the IRS and the associated State return how can we possibly have any confidence that you have properly and correctly instructed consumers how to accurately file their taxes. Lost customer. I will use a different method next year.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy filing easy software that is user friendly
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My 1st turbo tax experience. This was a scary experience for me being in fear of my information being used improperly. But turbo- tax made it extremely easy to navigate through the site and steps. Having all the information necessary to complete the return also eased my fears with the this whole e-file thing. Im pleased with no complaints about this experience so hopefully, all goes well.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO EASY!!! This is the way to go. Even if you had a pro do your taxes last year, you can get the same results or better by filing yourself. The descriptions and instructions are easy to understand, and when you get in a pickle, you get live assistance from a CPA online. Amazing!
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Job I'm one to wait until the last minute to file my taxes and with Turbo Tax on beside me everything comes out amazing.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from texas50 I liked having a live person to talk with. Sonia in Arizona was awesome ,helpful and interesting.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Challenging process Great help, finally done! I had a very complex and complicated year with many life changes.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes life easier Had various different things happen for this year's taxes. TurboTax guided me through the pieces the first time I worked through my paperwork. Then, when I made small changes, I could select just the parts I knew had to be changed. I've used TurboTax for a loooong time, and like that I know what information to collect before bringing up the software to enter the info.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy I have used turbo tax for years. It is very user friendly. Details and instructions are clear and understandable. A very quick process to e-file or print and mail. I recommend them highly and have. Msright
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best refund yet helped me to find how to enter my 401 ks and other information about investments
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth a second chance I had a change in my tax status this year due to Hurricane Harvey. I wasn't sure if the information I was using was correct. Unfortunately my first call with a CPA did not go well and the individual was not well versed on the matter. I was going to go to a local CPA for a review and decided to give TurboTax another try. I had the luck of getting Fred on the line (in 2 minutes of my request for help). He listened to the information I provided and was able to assure me what I was planning to file was correct and why. Glad I gave TurboTax a second chance. This is my 6th year in using TurboTax and have always had great results!
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Efficient The process was easy overall. When I had to update a mistake on my rejected return I was a little unsure what to do. Once I figured out the mistake I was able to file easily once again!
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Enough this is the second year in a row that I have a problem with TurboTax that will cost me late charges, because of problems on their part. I think that this will be my last year using TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Deficiency Complaint I've been doing my own taxes for over 30 years as a USA resident and using Turbo Tax program as long as it has been available. I'm generally happy with the software. I've had some complications over the years and, therefore, use the Premier version. However, my primary disappointment is the lack of details for individuals with foreign (i.e. Canadian) capital and investments.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Way easier than I thought H&R Block wanted to charge me $450 to file 2 W2s and one 1099. I looked at Turbo Tax and it was only $119 total plus $39 to file my state tax for CA. It was so easy, they know youre not an accountant so they built it so all the questions are fool proof. Never using anything else again! Just saved so much freaking money!
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from expensive Its great just like the past years, but a bit more expensive. Worth the not to worry feeling
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HAPPY The process was simple. But more important. My return was rejected. I was worried. Tried to correct the problem but used the wrong method. I sent and email to the contact us number. Within seconds I received a call. The person helping me was sooo kind and patient he was able to locate my mistake, I corrected it and sent the taxes forward. The help person made me fill accomplished, his name was Brent O. His compassion was felt. Lastly he also assured me that if needed to call back don't hesitate
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finished my taxes! I was little hesitate to use a online tax program to do my taxes but once you get on it almost intuitively leads you to proper spots for majority of details. The Search box was extremely helpful in explaining many items terms used tax forms. I'm glad I used TurbolTax to complete this years return for 2017
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Getting status on filing not sure yet if I have filed. Answers from Turbo Tax are nonexsistent and cannot get a live person on line to help. I have used TT for over 20 years and this is first time it has been totally screwed up in helping me file. I also do taxes for AARP and we would be out of business if we could not provide answers to our customers. 1-10 scale, TT is 0 right now.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better than the rest but not good enough After trying out many different SASS tax products, Turbotax was clearly the best - other software couldn't handle anything but a simple tax situation. However, there were conflicts during the 'review' stage and the messages were very unclear. Trying to get help led to customer service agents hanging up (dropped calls with no call backs), or messages that I hadn't purchased the 'premium' package that allowed me to get help (when I did). Filing for an extension brought me to an old Turbotax page for Federal tax payment, which once filled out gives no confirmation that taxes have been paid. Customer service agents were unable to verify if payment was successful. Once you make a payment, it says that your tax burden is $0 - which propagates through the system as if you have no taxes to pay instead of saying you paid X of N amount of taxes. This was very confusing.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from "free" is not free My "free" return cost $70. Yeah, it's easy, but it ain't cheep, let alone "free". I kept going back but it never let me undo any of the things that added charges and an exta $30 was smacked on at the very end.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Extremely helpful Turbo tax is very helpful. Would not have known where to begin if I hadn't used turbo tax.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Contradictions The running total of taxes owed/due is sometimes difficult to understand. Further, it is difficult to investigate the sources of tax liability at the end of the reporting process. Last, the filing process provided recommendations that led to my return being rejected. The solution was simple, but I had to invest further time in what is supposed to be an easy process.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I hate doing taxes but, I used a Tax Pro in the past for a couple years only. It turns out you have to do all the hard work up front anyway for them and they make mistakes. Only you have the skin in the game to dive into the details at tax time.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Efile notice i was notified that my e filing was rejected 2 days after the tax filing deadline had passed
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service was forced to contact live tax help and finish return on Mozilla Firefox browser. Had several issues but live rep was very knowledgeable and we worked it out.
Date published: 2018-04-19
  • y_2018, m_4, d_24, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80952, tr_106627
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 107ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.