1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(4.7411/5 | 29240 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tax Prep Tool Questions and concerns were resolved online with Tax Pro reviewing my return.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Your Ohio state was NO HELP with a missing data item. I got all these messages about walking me through the problem and you dropped me cold!!!!
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocked my refund Great services!
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2017 irs prep I called your help desk and had good discussions with your staff. This was a good and fast service.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 electronic tax return problems Sandra helped me understand that I was unable to electronically file because the IRS system broke down. She explained that the IRS extended the deadline for filing to April 22, 2018. Also she taught me that since I am expecting a refund, I would NOT have been penalized for filing after the deadline. Overall, my phone support service was pleasant and quick! Thank you for all your help.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent support! An agent spent over an hour with me ensuring that my questions about my review were answered at that I was getting the maximum refund possible. He was friendly and took the time to listen and triple check everything. I am thoroughly impressed and highly recommend TurboTax!
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Advice For The Future This year was a tax doozey for my wife and I. First time filing as Married Jointly. I was on a 1099-Misc for 3 months and then a W-2 for the remaining 9. Lots of questions and anxieties going in. Putting in the info I had (income, deductions, expenses, etc.) was as easy as it always has been, even with the added variable of filing as married. We were a little upset in how expensive we thought it was at first, but then decided to take advantage of what we were paying and have our forms reviewed by a tax expert before filing. Our TurboTax expert Diane was amazing. She spent 30 minutes going over everything with me to make sure it was all up to snuff and then provided some advice on how to move forward for the next tax year to make sure we didn't have a large tax bill come April, 2019. Everything was explained clearly and without the burden of legalese language. The whole process was about as painless as you could hope for when filing your taxes.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product - Takes long to send I think on the tax return preparation side of things, this software is amazing; I have confidence in that. On the transmission side of things, this thing lags. I get checking the returns for errors before sending them out, but it seems like it takes just as much time to fill out the return as it does to actually send them. I also don't like that I have to start from scratch with state returns if I choose not to e-file. Being in a rush was the only thing that grifted me out of $39.99.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was charged an amount that I did not want and was told I could not receive a refund until possible 3weeks. Misleading fees!!
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLY Great tool and gets better as the years move ahead.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big fan of turbotax A+
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Failed to Resolve Critical Issues After timely completing my taxes, I tried three times to file and three times the filing was rejected. I get charging extra for tax advice or counseling, but without paying an absolute premium for this product there is almost no avenue for even basic customer service as to critical issues like repeated tax rejection even after the identified issue has been repaired. I was unable to get assistance, and still to-date have been unable to file my taxes. As a result, my taxes are now late and I am having to independently resolve the issue. I see no benefit to using this over any other tax software product, and the download is grossly reduced support that renders the product unable to accomplish its single goal of getting your taxes filed. I will absolutely be switching to a comparably priced competitor next year that offers better service.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy to Use TurboTax has provided all the tools I need to file my tax return for over 10 years. Its quick and easy to use.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worried My refund was rejected because of confusion due to being a full time student, I could not claim my daughter as a dependent. I could not figure out how to fix the problem before refileing. All I could do was to file again.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just on Time took me sometime to get to the 2017 Schedule NR but made it.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FAIR CHANCE II used Turbotax to file as a chef and independent contractor and found the site helpful. It was a good learning experience for me and a bit of a challenge. I really appreciated having the ability to consult with Turbo's tax professionals. However, fortunately I did not accept the advice from the first representative I spoke with. She was either misinformed or too focused on getting to her next client. I spoke with three others in the process of doing my taxes and they were great in helping me through the process.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from AGI was 174K- told me I could not contribute to IRA after contributions to my 401K- do not believe that is correct however did not have time to research further.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy! Turbo tax is great. It guides you through all areas. That helped a lot because I didn’t have a W-2. I was on Workers Comp all year. I didn’t know if I had to do my taxes. I had a 1099 form, and head of household with a dependent. I am receiving more back then I thought!
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes it Easy I have used the site for the last few years and it really does help you make sure to not miss anything along the way.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Costs too much What's the purpose of paying all of this money to do the paperwork and efile when you have to mail the forms?
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Near Miss Turbo Tax is always my go to. Filing late makes you jump through a hoop of buying and downloading software... ok. Then theres the fact that you can't E-File which you don't find out until the very last step... less ok, but whatever. Then theres the mail it in step... but the software freezes when you choose the file by mail option. Let's say that it's a legal reason that you have to file by mail the fact that I paid money for this software and if fails right at that point of filing that's a HUGE FAIL.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Problem with spouses in different states I have used TT for years and am generally pleased with it. However, my husband and I separated and this last year lived in different states. TT could not deal with this situation, although it cannot be that rare. At least they explained a workaround, which is cumbersome.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from terrible terrible experience.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Turbo tax getting bad Stupid to have to keep paying for more when the service used to be better and affordable.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Problem with the date It was easy to fill out, but don't wait until the last day to file. The date of filing and paying is not helpful, and has resulted in me being late filing my taxes because it keeps forcing me to use dates that won't process
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Intuitive, but irritating at times TurboTax is relatively easy to use. The help features are great. I did however find the ads peppered throughout the program irritating and some misleading, almost intentionally deceptive. Finally, some parts of the program are difficult to access if you want to review all the steps you've accomplished.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so helpful! i appreciate the ease of the website. the tips are a very good feature.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst everything was done, I thought, but then received an email the next morning that said my taxes had not been filed. I did not look at my email for a day... If I get a penalty, will never use turbo tax again
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Easy data entry - painful e-filing Using the program to enter the information wast too bad, but the process for e-filing was a nightmare! I tried to e-file four times and thought everything went through only to get an email a few hours later that my returns were rejected. This was completely frustrating! Not a cheap enough program to use to have this much issue with filing the returns.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from screwed me over After being bilked for $120 simply to itemize a few deductions for my schedule C, I have had my refund rejected several days in a row and now will likely have to print and file by mail and face late fees. Turbotax instructed me that if I am e-filing I need to set the direct debit date for one day after the day I file my return. Each time I get an error message it says it is because the IRS requires me to submit payment on the same day as I am e-filing. Turbotax software will not allow me to set the date as the same day I am attempting to e-file, for the third day in a row. This is an abject contradiction. What gives? I want a full refund for my $120 as your software as failed to meet IRS compliance. Boo.
Date published: 2018-04-20
  • y_2018, m_4, d_24, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80952, tr_106627
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 71ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.