1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(4.7411/5 | 29240 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome to Use I have been using turbotax for years and each time I have not had any issues with filing. The only issue I had this time around is the help section. The explanation provided was not very clear. However I was able to use the community help option to get the information needed.
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consistant Excellent quality product I have been using TurboTax since 1984. I was an old user of Quicken and TurboTax was the perfect product to use, same logic, same accuracy and easy to use.
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy as 123! Very efficient, and straightforward help.
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo tax refund rocks! TurboTax makes it so easy to do your taxes. They go through itemizations and to deductions I would've never thought of. Wonderful service
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE the In Person Help Just finished filing. My '17 situation was a little unusual and I felt that TurboTaxed was fairly rigid in what it allowed for entry. It got a little confusing at times. However, the ability to set up a quick phone call with somebody was a lifesaver, the staff was super-courteous and helpful. I love this feature.
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Helpful but Overpriced An extra charge of $40 for the convenience of the e-file and direct deposit out of the tax return is ridiculous. The ease of using this product is only convenient at this price if you already half understand what you need to do. My taxes are very straightforward still and it was confusing to me to try to figure out if random things applied and what documents or information I needed to figure out. Would be easier to just use a profession who knows what they're doing and can gather the information from me directly before filing. Especially once my taxes get more complicated. Most likely will never use again.
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Intuitive State returns were not worth it and could not be reconciled for prorated states. Could not correct mortgage interest error for rental property. Had to clear and start all over. State taxes were easier to do manually.
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth and Easy Will be doing this for life. No more H&R BLOCK AND LIBERTY TAX!!!!
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Going Downhill I've been using MacInTax/Turbo Tax for about 20 years and now that there are options Turbo Tax has given me reasons to look into them. I had to file an amendment because of a mistake I made that I believe turbo tax should have caught. Also, I hate it hate Turbo Tax now collaborates with the OS developers and only makes Turbo Tac available to the latest OS. Some people have reasons for not wanting to constantly update the OS.
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peasy This was the easiest tax return ever, and I've been doing my own taxes since forever. A very slick program. And the tech support was great. The people were knowledgeable, spoke ENGLISH, and were patient and not in a big hurry to get me off the line. The final review by STEVE in Chicago was actually fun.
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy easy Software is a breeze to use and the live help was friendly and efficient.
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Last Year With Turbo Tax I was one of the first to begin using Turbo tax individual and business back in the 90's. After an initial great start, the software started showing problems, but more importantly, the customer service has become "self-service." I stopped using the TT individual software 6 years ago, and 2017 will be the last year I will be using TT business. I am sorry that the leadership of this company has lost touch with its' customer base; maybe they don't care about us since they are quite successful in the accounting sector? Bye-bye. You will be history soon.
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax Home & Business English is my second language and if I can use TurboTax Home & Business without any difficulty than many people can use it easy too.
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User Friendly I prefer this over ANY other tax system!! I started using H&R Block to file my taxes; got all the way to the end and started having problems. I KNEW better... I knew to use Turbo Tax from the start! I even started from the beginning with Turbo Tax because I knew it would work out better! Thanks Turbo Tax!
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Tax Program Love it, ease to use, highly recommended even with complex tax return with LLC self employment users.
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great even for a first time beginner! Thanks for making the process so simple. I now have confidence that I can manage my finances by myself.
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Live Expert Help is a Great Plus
Date published: 2018-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still a great program after all these years I've used TurboTax to file my taxes for more than 20 years and my tax situation has always been fairly complex. In that time I've had a minor problem or a question I couldn't resolve maybe once or twice. But never one serious enough that I had to give up on TurboTax and hire an accountant or a tax professional that year. Privacy and control over my personal financial information are important to me, so I always purchase my own copy of TurboTax to install on my own desktop computer so I can keep ALL my data files on my own hard drive. (All except the file containing my final return that I file electronically with the IRS, of course.) Even though I could use the free version offered by various financial institution for free - I don't use those because I'd lose control over where my information and data files are stored. I hope TurboTax doesn't decide to switch to only a subscription based, cloud-based format like another well known money management software recently did. I had to drop that other program after having used it for over 20 years also. They wanted to force me to put my data "in the cloud" and I won't do it.
Date published: 2018-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome This is 3rd year straight I am using Turbotax, this tool is getting better every year. Do not have much cons on this, except in some sections like AMT they need to have better "Help" section to understand better, I know some of them are complicated, they could had some FAQ type of notes, so it makes easy to understand. Other than this the tool is simply awesome. Keep up the good work TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST.SOFTWARE.EVER I buy TurboTax Deluxe for my federal and state returns every single year without fail, and have been doing so for maybe 10 years. Quite simply it's the best software bargain ever. I find it to be very user-friendly and I have complete confidence that it is accurate and comprehensive and asks every single question that can possibly be asked. That kind of confidence - that my return is accurate and that I have maximized my refund check - is well worth the price every year.
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent except for K1 Have used Turbo Tax for many years and love it! Until today, my father-in-law died in 2016 and after we did the 2017 taxes we were notified by his accountant that there were items to be added to our return. Doing the amended return said we needed Turbo Tax Business, which we got and then realized we didn't need. You really need to combine into Home and Business.
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't use if out of country Numerous phone calls and work around are required if you live out of the country and have any foreign income to declare. Need to improve before i will attempt again
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from OMG, it was almost perfect! There I was, procrastinating and dreading the e-file dance. Again! Every year I wondered why I had to search for online e-filers, even having to RE-enter EVERYTHING in TT Online when I'd bought TT Home & Business to use on my computer. So I summoned up my energy and started TT. The usual updates, then onto the e-file page. But something looked odd. Like something had changed this time. And then (it sounds so melodramatic, but I mean it) a blessed miracle... ONE SIMPLE CLICK and BOTH NYS and Federal returns e-filed at the same time! Hallelujah! (I am so excited that if I don't stop now, I will carry on like a crazy person.) Thank you, THANK you, THANK YOU!!
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No agent help I like being able to do my own return. If I went to a service and later realized I needed to change something it would be difficult. Turbo Tax allows that simply. I HATE that I cannot speak to an agent if I am hung up on something. If it is close to deadline I am out of luck & must file an incorrect return because I cannot get answers.
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overpriced for States It is not transparent that you pay for the form and again to e-file. They do not tell you when you buy the form that you pay additionally to their company just to file.
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressed I have been using another program for the last five years, but after using turbotax, I am back for good. So simple with the assisted filing. The text notification when I had a problem with my e-filing. So much relief. Thanks.
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Is there really any other way to do taxes? Everything about the process is excellent, I almost can't imagine doing taxes pre-TurboTax years. My situation is that I struggled to get one of my W-2s from a former employer. Because of that, and from some personal challenges, I was not able to complete my 2017 taxes until today. I did not do research to see how filing so late will affect me, and TurboTax only asked if I applied for an extension. If I hear from the IRS about being late, then the only suggestion I would have is to somehow catch these things before finalizing filing. We will soon see.
Date published: 2018-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ease of use I thought it was easy to use and covered all the bases. Thought it was expensive because I have filed with free software before and they were just as good due to my simple return.
Date published: 2018-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User Friendly Way to File Taxes I've tried several different software packages for tax preparation and Turbo Tax is the best hands down.
Date published: 2018-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used to be great experience... I have been using Turbotax for many years now. Love it. Since last two years, the software has changed. Might be the product owners are trying too hard. In that process, have started seeing many glitches in the software. It goes in loops. Keeps asking same questions. This was a great product, simple, fast and very intuitive. Felt like someone holding ur hand and taking till end. This experience changed recently. Wish someone can take the product back by 3 years to the original simplicity.
Date published: 2018-07-22
  • y_2018, m_8, d_14, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80451, tr_117630
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 420ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.