1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 200820 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not So Great This Year Last year, I did a return with two businesses, real estate rentals, depreciation - and it was a breeze. Don't know what in the heck was done to the software in the interim, but this year was cruddy. It took a 53-minute call w/ an "expert" to help me find how to get to rental real estate depreciation. She had done it once before, but couldn't remember how she got there, so we kept going over the same screens again and again and changing answers until we got the magic formula. I did a direct debit for payment; it said I had to make the payment date after the filing date; so I did. Return was rejected. Got a notice from TT. Went back in - and there was no direct way to get to the payment date. It let me efile again. Rejected again. Got a notice. Went back in. Had to click through every single freakin' screen on the payment section and THE DATE HAD ALREADY BEEN CHANGED FOR ME. Filed again. I'm waiting to see if this one is rejected. This should not happen. C'mon guys, get it together.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredibly Awesome I filed last minute. Way to late and found myself in a panic. Having the chance to speak with a live person took the edge off. Did not prevent me from staying up until 4 in the morning but I feel like what I have to deal with moving forward is going to be easier having completed the Turbo Tax filing. I didn't realize I was paying a steep price for the Live version but at the end of day; money well spent.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've been Using Turbo Tax Since the 90s I've been Using Turbo Tax Since the 90s and have been happy to have it be my go to partner in doing my taxes every year. The process is very streamlined and effortless and have been pleased with the ease of use and the help windows when something doesnt make sense.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good but some hiccups I would recommend Turbo tax anytime for anyone but seriously complicated businesses
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Helpful! The con is not really a problem. The program is very easy to use. I love that you can go back and add items you might have forgotten. You learn by doing.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taxes Made Easy We've been using TurboTax since the company first set out on the world wide web! Yes, we are one of the original customers of this great app. Doing your taxes can be cumbersome and daunting. There are so many rules and regs to try to remember. TurboTax makes a complex process easy and understandable. Thanks TurboTax. Y'all totally ROCK each and every single year!!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from user friendly forever most complex returns Great tax filing tool with a few upgrades can gain even more market share
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad to be done I have us TT for many, many years and the issue I had this time was when you click on the 1st "start" in a list, when you hit 'done' , you get taken to the top of the list instead of at the next one. Made it quite irritating and too extra unnecessary time.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very Frustrating Although it imported my information from Quicken, I had to re-enter a lot of it differently. It took quite a bit longer than I was expecting to enter my information. Near the end, I got stuck on a worksheet that I didn't understand what it wanted me to do. The "Help" provided wasn't helpful, and there wasn't a phone# or an online chat option available. After repeated attempts to correct the problem, the only way I could go on, was to delete the worksheet, which also deleted my deductions and lowered my refund! When I was finally finished and was ready to submit, I ran into more problems. The program wanted an online confirmation # proving that I had already paid for the software. The problem was that I purchased a CD version and couldn't locate a confirmation #on the disk or online. Although I had forgotten my password and needed to reset it, the entire process took an unreasonable amount of time. I had to reset the password twice, enter confirmation codes sent to both my phone and my email about 4 times, log in again even though I hadn't logged out, and each time, I had to spend a long time repeatedly clicking on pictures to prove that I wasn't a robot. Although I completed my taxes in plenty of time, by the time I was able to pay and submit, my returns were 20 minutes late! I hope I don't get hit up with a late penalty. Although I've used TurboTax successfully in past on my personal returns, I found the home and business edition very time-consuming, even though I already had all of my information correctly entered into Quicken. There were also places that I had to enter the same information more than once. It would be nice if the information only needed to be input once, and the program would use that information each time it needed it, instead of asking for me to input it again. In summary, I've had good experiences with Turbo Tax in the past on my personal returns, but was quite unsatisfied with the home and Business edition. It could use some more work.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally filed I've successfully used TurboTax for more than a decade now, and don't think I'd ever go back to using an accountant or trying to write the whole thing on paper by myself. I like that your software does all the math, so I don't have to worry about messing it up. This year I did have one concern... it took several attempts to go back and re-enter a car mileage figure. It almost seemed I might have to start over, but then the "revisit" finally worked and I could enter the correct figure. Thank you for your help each year.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great SAervice I have been using Turbotax for years now and have always loved it. Each year tthey make improvements to the on-line version and it just gets better and better.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bugs? Bad download? Frustrating I've used TurboTax since 2008, and I don't know what went wrong for 2017. The software would not access my previous returns, so I had to start over completely entering all of my information. Some fields corrupted the numbers I had typed and I had to keep going back and correcting them. The Errors Check phase at the end turned into an endless loop that I finally just had to quit. When I tried to e-file, I got into another repetitive, time-wasting circle of entering the same information over and over. I waited until the last day to start entering info into TurboTax, which is my problem, but I allowed plenty of time for a typical TurboTax return. This one took at least twice as long, and by the time it FINALLY transmitted my e-filing, it was 12:08 AM--my return was late by 8 minutes.I a,m not pleased with TurboTax right now. You don't want to see my photo.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy I like the way the product takes you from the very beginning, all the way to sending the completed taxes. The itemization process and forms available for individual printing or PDF file saving.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not world class software I don't think TurboTax is a class act. A couple examples: * TurboTax does not automatically figure out if my CA state tax refund is taxable. I paid AMT last year AND used TurboTax '16 and yet TurboTax '17 makes you figure this out for yourself by going back to last year's TurboTax and grinding through it laboriously. What don't you guys understand about software that you can't automate that process and make it invisible to the user? * At the very last stage in filing my return, TurboTax would NOT let me file because my employer put $1900+ towards CA-SDI. The limit for CA-SDI is $998. Why is this flagged at the very last step AFTER going through all the check routines??? I checked my W2 and sure enough, my employer got it wrong. So why am I blocked from filing an accurate return that reflects my actual W2??? I figured out a way to finesse this rediculous problem, but it was 20 minutes of thrash before I got there. Thank you TurboTax may I have another. * There are numerous other clunky aspects to TurboTax. It is anything but slick. Seriously, do you guys talk to your customers?
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good overall experience This was the best experience with a TurboTax product that I have had in several years. I utilized the TurboTax Premiere with the access to Professionals as I was bit further behind getting started with my taxes. It was a bit pricey, but overall worth it between the ease of use and assistance from the professionals.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Refund Make Easy Love the Guide Me through and Explanation on how the refund is achieved. Keep documents on file
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mighty4 However, all I needed to do was press the continue button and my question was answered. Turbo tax program is great for me. All I need to do is input the information and TT computers and explains the information. For Whoever developed the program, I am forever grateful. See you next year!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor english & wouldn't let me e-file State 1.Complicated sentence writing, using double negatives, and other obtuse and confusing language to ask a question when a simpler, clearer way is totally possible. 2. Very difficult and unclear how to correct some of errors from k-1 info. could not track which worksheet or form is referenced, and the 2 options shown, don't let you look at them when choosing. 3. My packaging for Home & Business from Costco says 1 State filing is included. But it really wasnt. I attempted to purchase through multiple avenues, and each time got a different message that said it didn't work. It was on 10/15. 4. One of the poorest years. I hope this is not a sign of degrading quality in years to come. I've used for many years, but will switch if this keeps up. And the more $ charged for less. 5. For a small self employed, with no employees, and very very simple schedule C, this is over kill expense. I preferred using just Premier.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE TT I have been using TT T Tax for so many years and I love how easy it is to use it. It only takes me 45 minutes to file my long form 1040.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Little bit more time-consuming this year . . Overall, Turbotax seemed clearer this year but I was caught off guard by not having the automatic download of all prior general information, such as name, dependent info, employer, etc. In previous years, all the prior ID information transferred over to the new return. It is big time-saver to have the auto transfer of general information and the option to edit or delete. Thank you.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and Easy I have been using Turbo Tax for several years and they make it easy to complete and file.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tax Prep Software I have been using this software for years and appreciate the ease of use. The question/answer format leads you to put in the correct information. The only confusion lies when you have to add in both business and personal information because they can be used together and separately to calculate your expenses and credits. However, try it out! You can revise the figures if you make a mistake, and the software can e-file your taxes when you're done.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from helped me complete my returns She was, Lataya, great. Stayed with me for a few hours. Patient and understanding. Thorough and had good information to help work through a couple of issues that were complicated.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASIEST (AND MOST PROFITABLE) TAX RETURN EVER! MY 79 YEAR-OLD MOTHER HAS BEEN USING TURBOTAX FOR YEARS, BUT I WAS NOT INTERESTED IN BUYING SOFTWARE TO DO MY TAXES! SO GLAD I DID - MAXIMIZED DEDUCTIONS AND INCREASED REFUND. I WILL NEVER DO ANOTHER TAX RETURN WITHOUT IT!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Millennial Bliss Love it. Makes my life easier as a small business owner. I am grateful Turbotax exists.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet Good job, I have been a developer for many years (40 years), I enjoy using this product. Used it for many years.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Customer Support Overall, I was very happy with the level of support and the personal attention I received all along the way. I felt confident I was handling tax situations correctly after visiting with CPA's and EA's.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great until paying for state e-filing I have used TurboTax for many years on a Mac computer. I even bought a new computer this year because I learned that the next version of TurboTax would not work on my old model. Have always had a CD, but the new computer doesn't have a CD drive, so I had to download. I figured it out. I really appreciated the links in the Home and Business version to filing 1099-MISC for contracted workers. I was disappointed not to easily find where to deduct expenses for education that was not part of a higher ed system...specifically for music lessons for a music performance business. I stuck them under Legal and professional services for that business, but am not sure that's right. Also found the instructions for sale of equipment previously deducted as a Section 179 asset, WAY TO COMPLICATED to understand. But most things were clear and easy to use. The problem came at the very end after I decided to pay for e-filing to my state for the first time ever. I had to log into Intuit, which I have done many times before to create 1099s and to buy TurboTax. But it took me around and around a loop that I could not get out of and I could not see the button to close the window, so I could not get back to my return. It was late at night and I was really upset not to be able to finish. Fortunately, it was just the 14th, so on the 15th I called tech support and managed to get logged in and have the Credit Card processed, but then late I realized that I still had not officially filed. I thought when the payment went through we were done, but "NO," there were more steps. Fortunately I figured it out. Taxes are just HARD to do, for those with multiple businesses and wages. They take an inordinate amount of time, but I can't imagine doing them at all without TurboTax. Please don't abandon us Mac users.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disaster My electronic filing was rejected because I selected to pay on the day I electronically filed it. However, the message from Turbo tax said that I filed it a day earlier! Because the payment wasn't scheduled for the date of filing, it was rejected. The paper copy for filing did not include a mailing address. This is the worst filing experience I have ever had. What a crock.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Using for 20 years, worst so far! I've been using TurboTax for over 20 years now and the 2017 (2016 tax year) version is by far the worst yet. Past versions allowed adding "supporting details" on any question where a dollar amount was entered. This version does not have that option in so many of the most important places! This is a HUGE issue! Supporting details are a great reminder of exactly what the reported total consists of! The Medical expenses related itemized deduction questions were terrible! The second question is total for doctor bills. So you spend a few hours figuring this out (if you're lucky only a few hours) only to go to the next question and find it now wants separate amounts (subtotals) for stuff like x-rays, eye care, etc. Combine this with being unable to enter supporting details and it's a HUGE waste of time! This will likely be the last time I use TurboTax. What a joke.
Date published: 2018-10-16
  • y_2018, m_10, d_20, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_81358, tr_119444
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 48ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.