1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(4.7411/5 | 29240 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Experience Filing 2017 Return I wish I could rate zero stars. Turbo Tax's software was not prepared for the extension to file your 2017 tax return. As a result, if you filed after the initial deadline but in time based on the extension you could not electronically process payment to the IRS or e-file your return. I incurred the expense of using Turbo Tax and was unable to process my return. I spent hours with Turbo Tax's online and phone. The representative had me change the date on my computer in addition to numerous other troubleshooting ideas in an effort to e-file my return. Nothing worked. In order to pay my taxes I had to go through another website and incurred an additional processing fee.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tools Turbo Tax is a fantastic and easy way to get through the difficult job of tax reporting
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just like riding a bike I filed with TurboTax a very long time ago (AOL - dial up internet - type long time ago) and it was fairly easy back then. Turn that clock forward a marriage, a few kids, rental property in a different state, college, and several investments. The last 10 - 15 years I've been using a company to file my taxes because it was just too complicated to figure out myself. This year I decided to give Turbo Tax a try again. I was quite surprised at how automated the process is and how easy it was to get my taxes filed. If anything the program is too thorough. There were questions asked that I hadn't even begun to think of which will come in handy when it's time to file next year.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from it was ok only issue i had was when in final review is said i had to line 3 d on the 2210 review over and over. google'd a fix and it fixed it, but still, annoying.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Learning about deductions I used several sessions to file my returns. The software continued to give me advice to deductions and my refund was increased every time I thought about new situations.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surely a Success This was easy compared to going to find to someone to help do taxes.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy yet challenging I did love the fact my information transferred without me having to find it. Some of the questions were a bit confusing but I don't blame Turbo tax completely since the information I needed from the previous financial institution was confusing as well. The price of the product also had me a bit confused as well. It gave me a price which I am assuming was an estimate only for me to find the true price once I was finished.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from last year info does not populate in current return I've used turbotax since 2008. I remember prior years' returns would pull info from previous tax returns. This has not continued since 2016 which makes the process that much more irritating and time consuming -
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Appears to be solid Turning 65 makes for new issues around health care payments that are not clear when your kid is still on the books and also not really a kid anymore!
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful Used Turbo tax for years when I only had w2 & now as self employed they were even more helpful. Thank you
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great program. Great support We have used TurboTax for over 10 years for home and for our corporation. It is easy and accurate, especially when interfaced with QuickBooks. We had a minor glitch this year but customer service (knowledgeable English speaking and in the USA) rep was able to walk us through a work around. We will continue using TT in the future.
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy P-Z
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Easy Loved the ease of this program! Help was only a phone call away! This is the first time we didnt take our taxes to a preparer. Definitely will use this every year! Would recommend to anyone!
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great program and Great Expert Help! I've been using turbotax for five years consecutively and I love the convenience, the ease and the relatively low cost compared to a tax place or a personal accountant. This year I had a question on one part so I paid the extra fee to have an expert call me back. The person was very knowledgeable and walked me through everything! It was work the peace of mind and still cheaper and easier than having a professional tax service file for me. I am very pleased.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Experienced some problems 1. TT said they improved my State Return and made it easier. I found the first number of screens on the State Return confusing and not helpful. This needs to be changed next year. I wasted some time trying to figure out what TT was trying to say. 2. As part of the final sign out process TT asked for our drivers license information for security purposes. However it would NOT accept the formats used by my state. This needs to be corrected
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Reliable and Easy to Use Great software has saved me time and money over twenty years
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just great.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Handled ALMOST Everything Well... It's disappointing that the cost of the Home & Business version does NOT include 1041 Trust returns (which requires paying another $100+ to ALSO buy Corporate version), the H&B return coverage is otherwise very complete. And it is SO NICE to get phone support that is consistently knowledgeable and helpful.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is good! For three times the price my tax service provided results limited by my understanding of taxes . Turbotax provides me at least an equal return and I understand what's going on . I do not wonder if I missed anything .
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Failed to file return. When searching the IRS site for "where's my return", I discovered it had never been filed. Somehow TurboTax let me think it had been filed, and even had my file copy dated 4/15/2018, but it didn't happen. Even if it was a communication problem, or misinterpretation of instructions, there should be a fail safe built in - perhaps a confirmation message or follow up message if the filing date was missed for any reason. Spoiled my entire experience of timely self filing.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotax Review Each year TurboTax makes the entire filing process less complicated. Each step through the entire process is explained in detail, which, as a customer, lessons the anxiety of filing and the easement of knowing that all aspects of the process is being reviewed prior to filing. Thank you. See you next year!!
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 2017 Tax Return
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thorough and simple Turbo Tax gets me the best refund and tells me about deductions I would never have thought of. I like that I can do this in the comfort of my home.
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally Done!!! Easy and painless in every step. Helpful links and soothing interface.
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable, easy, thorough Have used this for years. Gets better with age. No worries about missing anything. Chasing down paperwork takes the most time, but so worth the extra $ that I would not have.
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well organized intelligent workflow Calculations are straight forward with additional drill down explanations available along the whole process which is well tuned to only ask questions for your particular case. Well done.
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good job very pleased with the site very well done first time doing my taxes by myself and it was easy peasy
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Missing forms preclude filing - no support of valu I have not been able to file my Fed and CA returns due to a recording warning that I need updated forms in order to file. Updating does absolutely nothing, and there is no useful support. I have been using since decade ago, and never had such problems with no path to solutions of any use... 2017 = fail Turbotax
Date published: 2018-07-03
  • y_2018, m_7, d_21, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80378, tr_117492
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 491ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.