1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.4 out of 5 average

(4.4/5 | 201836 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard to file deceased return Early on, the software asked if I was filing for someone that was deceased. But then then software kept saying "Did YOU have..." or "What were YOUR deductions". Filing paperwork for a deceased person is hard enough. Remove the extra mental hurdle of having to translate for everyone.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 2018 Product was a challenge TurboTax has been fantastic up until this year. I spent hours on the phone with tech support never to have my issue solved. I ended up manually filing some returns. Very disappointed
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Critique This year the Q&A was confusing because of the Form 2106 not applicable. Yet, the Q&A asks these questions regarding Business Expenses only to discover at the end, none of the expenses are deductible. 1. I believe your Q&A should have notified you that Unreimbursed Employee Business Expenses are no longer deductible unless you meet one of the three requirements that classify you as a “Statutory Employee”, then list those. 2. Your live agents should be better equipped with the changes to provide an educated answer when asked this question- Can a person who receive a W2 form from an Employer where Federal Income and Social Security Taxes are withheld file Schedule C? I was told by several of your agents and question sent in, that I could not and referred me to several IRS Publications that did not quite provide a definitive answer. Further researched on my own provided the answer- “Statutory Employee” receiving a W2 can claim business expenses on Schedule C although bob 13 is not check. 3. TT should have provided this option if box 13 on the W2 is not check with the Declaration Form one needs to fill out to avoid any penalty should one get audit down the line. My situation might have been unique, but I noticed doing a google search, that it was not but everyone was getting the same answer. I work from home full-time as a contractor through a Contracting Agency (Company A) but by service is dedicated to one Company (Company B) who provided me with a Laptop and supplies that must be returned to Company B once my assignment is over. I earned 100% of my income working from my Office at Home and incurred the following unreimbursed expenses in 2018 that were reported on Form 2016 in 2017. Use of personal car to go to various locations to perform certain tasks for Company B Travel out of area for Company B assignments Must provide my own Cell Phone, Internet Access at home, separate phone line, etc., etc. Company A provided a W2 Form with box 13 uncheck although I fall under the Statutory Employee where IRS agree and so is a Tax Attorney I contacted. I believe TT should have provided that option to file Schedule C with the declaration form.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from TT needs to work on translating IRS TT seems to forget that lay people using their product aren't CPAs and use the software because they can't understand a lot of the IRS guidance. Example: Form 1116 uses jargon not easily penetrated, but instead of using plain English to explain it, TT repeats the jargon. Over time, TT has improved the user's ability to navigate selectively on the federal return but not so much on the state return (not mine, anyway). It forces me to walk back through every bit of EasyStep if I have just one change to make. Come on! You can do better than that.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy for the most part easy, but if stopped somewhere it was very difficult to get back where you left off. Started over twice!
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Have been using TurboTax for years It would be nice if the e-filing of at least one state tax return were included in the purchase price. The best part is the e-filing. The next best is the importing of data from the previous year's TurboTax forms.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Problems 2018 Ever now and then I have navigation issues. Mostly my fault I'm sure but it seems every year I have problems with the Royality income mentioned above. Just doesn't seem to flow easily. One area is expense area. Dealing with taxes as there are state income taxes in NM OK not TX also severance taxes and then additional small expenses in some cases getting this all straight and entered properly is a challenge sometimes
Date published: 2019-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Software have been using Turbo Tax for many years. I've never had a problem with it and my taxes are fairly complicated. I'll keep using it in the future I'm sure.
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Every year there are bugs that means it always takes way longer than it should, some that have been known for years. You always have to find work arounds and navigation is slow.
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Worth It When I purchased this, CD or download seemed to be the only option for Turbo Tax Business. I have used Turbo Tax for individual returns online for years, and I will continue to use the online version. But I had to use this version for an estate return. Even finding out which version I needed took several phone calls and several discussions, and then I had to sort out the conflicting information I was given. I had no idea that, unlike the online version, there was no human support consultation available for the download. What a ripoff. I do understand the difference between asking questions about taxes vs the product. My questions were about how to use the product, and still there was no support. A minor example: The estate tax year was fiscal, 2018-2019, but the distribution field said 2018 only. I was worried about this discrepancy. I asked and did not get an answer. The person on the phone tried to help, but said that the person who would know was not in. I finally viewed the printout of the tax return and noticed that on the printout, it says "2018 or tax year," so I decided the fact that the form did not realize my tax year was fiscal on that particular page was their mistake but would not have a material impact on the accuracy of the return. I have no complaints about the person I dealt with on the phone. At least she spoke to me even though there is no support for the product. And she tried her best. But next time, please offer Turbo Tax Business online so we can get the same value for our money. The human support is critical. Otherwise I'll just go to a CPA if I ever have to do another estate return, knock wood.
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SO GRATEFUL Hard to find where you can edit things at times when there are 2 properties or 2 businesses. My rental prop in Fl but. I live in NC and at end of return it suggested I should do a 2nd state of Fl state return too./ however reading the tax law it was not required?
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple to use. Software guides you thru every aspect of the return as well as making correction to each page.
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No easy contact Intuit/Turbo Tax gives no easy way to find the programs you have already purchased. It is a mess and you cannot contact anyone by email, you have to call and wait. I am going to have to spend hours trying to figure out how to access my account programs and saved information. What a total waste of time. Worst site I have ever with regard to account and profile access.
Date published: 2019-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellence, as usual Turbotax is one of the coolest computer programs I have used. Thanks for sharing your expertise. Keep up the good work!
Date published: 2019-08-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Filing a LLC Income Tax If you follow the questionnaires and enter the data, it is straightforward. But for new users, there are some information that are not found on the community forum. The lack of personal customer service makes this software non user friendly specially for complicated tax preparation, like business such as LLC and Corporations.
Date published: 2019-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotax Review With all the tax changes I needed the additional help to finally file my 2018 Taxes.
Date published: 2019-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Annoying Errors carried over from prior years
Date published: 2019-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Preferred earlier formats The current base format didn't ask questions about trusts or partnerships, S-Corps, etc. I had to look for them. Could have easily overlooked.
Date published: 2019-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Detailed Excellent program. Many things are done automatically like total interest on vehicles used in business is automatically percentage adjusted based on personal and business mileage that you input. So its important not to do this yourself let the program deduct the percentages. About the 20% pass-through deduction new for 2018 for 1099/independent contractors, I really don't know how that's done within the program. Need to research that further.
Date published: 2019-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2016 Dealing with tons of medical issues. specialist miga and John were very helpful getting me back on track.
Date published: 2019-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice refund Turbo tax has always been the easiest way to file, no fuss no muss. using the itemized filing help and it deductible is such a plus and help.
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The final straw I've used turbotax for about 10 years, and every year it seems there is some bug that I have to talk to someone about (once I find the phone number that you seem to hide very well). This year I was all done, and then a Turbotax technical glitch wouldn't allow me to e-file. The suggested fix was to shut the computer down, wait an hour, and try again!! Come on. Get the bugs out before it goes on the market.
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Complicated to maneuver I felt instructions were not clear and I made many mistakes as a result. I literally "started" completely over 5 times because I could not figure out how to correct the errors!
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some Bugs but Convenient Did not let me eFile the Federal return but let me go through the eFile process for the state return and ended with an error, which was irrelevant and did not make sense. i had to call the customer support to find out that if the Federal return is not being eFiled then the state cannot be eFiled either.
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful tool... I have used Intuit TurboTax online for quite a few years now and I have always found it to be very helpful along with the various support options (technical/legal/financial) that they provide.
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tax Review Solid software. Very through. Very well laid out. Seem to cover all the bases.
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has minor flaws, but much better than HR Block s/w After I purchased the H&R Block package, I ran into trouble on something as simple as recovering all the information that I had saved with a "Save As". The Block s/w lost the Michigan f4884 reason for retirement income being exempt, and I had to enter the info a second time (and then a third time when the s/w lost it again). So I deicded to eat my purchase price of the Block s/w and purchase TurboTax. It handled everything fine, and both the SAVE and SAVE AS worked as I expected they would work from my prior Microsoft Office experience. However TTax wasn't perfect in its human interface. Some TTax screens required explicit YES/NO answers to questions. Other screens merely used CONTINUE to imply a NO. That slowed me down when I reviewed the return since I had to look carefully to see if it was a YES/NO screen or merely a YES/CONTINUE screen. Nevertheless, TTax got the same $ amounts as I had manually computed in two difficult areas: 1) handling f8606 when I had both QCDs and Conversion to a Roth out of a traditional IRA with a basis, and 2) adding another year of passive loss carryover into my "passive loss carryover kitty", so that I will have the correct cumulative passive loss carryover to reduce my income when I finally end my interest in rental property.
Date published: 2019-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Always returned to the Beginning Every time I would go out and back into the software even though I clicked on the icon to "continue" from where I left off it would start all over from the beginning as if I had never entered any info. Then when I got to the "deductions" section and clicked on "walk me through it" like every year in the past this time didn't seem to work or flow through the questions. It was my worst experience with TurboTax Deluxe I have ever had in 20+ years.
Date published: 2019-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from helpful software First off, I was really frustrated that Turbo Tax couldn't import my data from last year, even though I had used a different software (Tax Act). When I had switched from Turbo Tax before, to last year's software, I didn't have any issues. But coming back to Turbo Tax was not friendly. While they ask good questions and I like the step by step phasing, when I got stuck, I really got stuck and didn't know where to look for the answer. In this case, this was the first year I had to deal with selling stocks from a mutual fund (inherited). I really struggled and ended up leaving it for a week or two because I'm just that stubborn. Finally it occurred to me where to look but a simple helpful statement (like, 'check the fine details on your financial tax document') would've saved a few hairs on my head. My last frustration is the fact that I didn't realize I should be paying a quarterly estimated tax this year; if I had known that prior to filing, I would've had my refund applied to this year's taxes! This is the first time I've been instructed to pay estimated taxes so it did not occur to me to check for this. I'm educated now but Turbo Tax should've mentioned that when asking if I wanted to apply this year's refund.
Date published: 2019-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful The live tax help was very helpful. I called twice and was able to delete unneeded forms and fill in missing information. I appreciated the extra assurance that my filing was correct.
Date published: 2019-07-27
  • y_2019, m_8, d_17, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_70353, tr_131478
  • loc_, sid_TT_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 239ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return between 4/16/19 and 10/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See https://quickbooks.intuit.com/self-employed for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.