1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.4 out of 5 average

(4.4/5 | 201556 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best way to file returns I have been using TurboTax for many years now. Every year they seem to get better and easier to use. I had to file the last three years with a tax company (for complicated reasons), and this year I went back to filing on my own with TurboTax. It is not only much less expensive to file, but it provided me with multiple ways to find deductions. I just love the "take me through it all" approach. It makes things very easy to use. Thank you for continuing to improve an already great product.
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to file
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Turbotax Pro 2018 I spent almost all day, going between quickbooks and turbotax, how to transfer data from quickbooks to turbotax. Eventually, turbotax got fixed.
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Self Employed Plus Awesome Live CPAs are super helpful given so many tax forms and income from rental, partnership and self employment.
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY PEASY.... I feel totally confident that this is secure, safe, and updated.. especially with all my personal vital information..
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some glitches in the program Does a very good job of covering all possible factors and potential deductions. However, some glitches in the program create problems here and there. For example, property taxes get added to credits and deductions early on but then the program asks the filer to enter home property taxes again in the section, Employee Expenses, Home Office. And once you add property taxes paid again in the Home Office section, the deduction for property taxes improperly doubles, and trying to correct this is difficult. It took me about 15 minutes to get the initial property tax entry to delete, and then discovered after much trial and error that the only way the program will work properly is if the taxes are entered in the Home Office section first! But no one would do that because the Home Office section comes much later in the sequence of completing information. These types of glitches create a great deal of frustration when trying to efficiently complete this already arduous task.
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what it used to be Trying to talk to a real person for assistance is like pulling teeth. If I didn't use this for 25 years, I wouldn't ever buy it again. No worth the money you pay for it.
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refund Great product and is very easy to use. Thanks.
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy taxes
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Filing 2 state&Federal return
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Customer Service I use Turbo Tax every year. I have never had a problem filing.
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use - Got fairly complicated taxes. Along with Mint - Turbo Tax makes filing my taxes easy. I've got rental property and a home business - and some stocks. So my taxes could be a hassle. What's really nice is how TT downloads my stocks automatically.
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tax return 2018 It will be helpful if we can see side by side form while entering data using your interview question. This will help seeing where data goes rightaway.....not sure if these comments are read and implemented or answered at the least.
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LongTimeUser I have been using Turbo Tax since it came out 20 plus years ago. It was so expensive when it came out, that friends and I would divide the cost so would could afford it. It was about $80 plus for Deluxe and you still had to buy the state. But it was always worth it.
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like my own accountant! The software looked for ways to save me money, and it did! It examined all possible credits as well as deductions and compared itemizing or taking the standard deduction. It then made a suggestion to use the method that saved me the most money. The ability to review the return as many times as I want is a fabulous feature!
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Trouble this year
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2018
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Service! I filed my return late after filing an extension, and had some problems modifying my original return. The Turbo Tax representative was very knowledgeable and helpful in walking me through this via an online video chat.
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Interminable Loops!!! Have used TurboTax for many years. It is a good basic tax program. However, there are too many assumptions that everyone has the same basic tax situation. Therefore I always use J.K. Lasser for definitive guidance. Must override in certain areas where TurboTax assumes wrong. Interminable loops are a decided pain!!
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful but more would be awesome Overall, I would recommend TurboTax, I have used it for years and it has been so helpful! Just wish you could chat with someone for clarity sometimes. I will definitely be back in 2019. :)
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from TurboTax Payment Troubles for US Expat in Canada It was very difficult to pay TurboTax as I could not use a Canadian credit card. The only way I could pay was to change my address in the tax return from a Canadian address to a US address. Then I had to use a family member's credit card from that US address. Finally, I had to go back into the tax return and change the address back to my real Canadian address before I e-filed. I hope next year Turbotax sorts out this problem.
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slayed My Taxes Fast , easy and you can u nderstand it ...Loved it
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Helpful I was very pleased with the ease of use. Will continue to use Turbotax products in future
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Finally done! Had to do some research, but finally completed our taxes. I like the organization of Turbotax, but there are some spots that get confusing!
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love, Love Turbotax I love turbotax; every tax question is laid out with explanations. You can ask questions, and most of the times the answers are already provided for you. You can scale back on your forms if you think you have made an error, and you have options for filing. Outstanding program!
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from turbotax 2015 Review More explanations and guidance needed for the individual taxpayer. Audit help should remain an option and not be terminated because of timely filing.
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yay for Turbotax! I'm very thankful for Turbotax and we've been using it for years! The help files are great and almost always answer my questions. I do wish the interface was a little easier to jump around without having to answer the same questions over and over again. It would also be nice if it was easier to connect the actual form number to the matching section of Turbotax.
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent help for my errors After hours of getting the same circular error messages at the very end of my return, I called TurboTax and spoke with a real pro. Over an hour we worked through the section 179 errors I kept getting. His patience was wonderful. Eventually, he discovered that I had entered my carryover depreciation in two places. His name is Gus and he really helped me avoid pulling my hair out.
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy peasy Easy as all get out and i use it every year
Date published: 2019-06-03
  • y_2019, m_6, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_70270, tr_131273
  • loc_, sid_TT_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 153ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return between 4/16/19 and 10/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See https://quickbooks.intuit.com/self-employed for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.