1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.7/5 | 285077 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Forced me into paying for TurboTax I could not finish filing my return without paying the $34.99 plus "fees" which equated to $100. I tried re-starting 3 times and finally said that taking it out of my return was worth finishing. But I'm a college kid. $100 isn't even one of my books this semester, thanks TurboTax...
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TURBO TAX IS AMAZING! TURBO TAX was awesome and gave me all that I could get back and deducted the most I could from my taxes. I had a good experience and they sure know how to make filing taxes more fun and a whole lot easier!
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stated 34.99 and then it jumps to 69.98. I do not understand why there is such a difference. I will use a different company next year. I do not think hidden fees is acceptable....
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Effective but Expensive 62+79=$141 This is way too much, and I has a $20 discount from USAA. The step by step/no mistake input helps, and the audit protection and getting the refund sooner are benefits
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fast but fees add up Was all cool but than all the fees came and I couldn't file with absolute zero i had to choose deluxe plus had to pay extra to file both state and federal together so free turned into 106
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Breezy Turbo Tax was simple, free, and easy to use for form 1040ez! This was my first time using it and it was truly a breeze. The system walked me through everything step by step.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Annoying App didn't work, froze up and I had to use the site. Wouldn't load previous year's info even though I used turbotax. Apparently I had a different account so they wanted to charge $30 to transfer it. I had to start all over. Very frustrating.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Straight
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always reliable I have been using Turbo Tax for 12 years and never think of using anything else. I find it easy to follow and it always makes me feel confident that I am doing everything I can to get my full refund.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely convenient! It's my first time using TurboTax. I used to find an accountant and paid $60 every time. However TurboTax this year provided FREE online filing for both federal and state, which is SO convenient!
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy and quick I've used turbo tax now for the past 2 years and love how quick and easy to use it is. No matter what your status, business or rentals you have, the different packages they have lead you through all areas.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from free not free had one w-2, no house, and took the standard deduction. TurboTax still made me use the deluxe edition. Not sure who has a more basic tax return to file than me.
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Use to be much better This used to be free, now you guys are charging more, so more this year may be the last for me. I might as well have a person do the work if I'm going to have to pay to do it all myself anyway.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Special Situations Disappointed that even though I listed a dependent as deceased, my efiles were rejected because the SSN was linked to a deceased person! Now I have to print & file and most likely pay a late filing fine.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worse than last year The increased $ to do it online and get max benefit was ridiculous and makes me not want to use you again. Your online format update from last year terrible to use, less user friendly and more time consuming and my return is pretty simple. Not impressed.
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Aged 10 years I think its a shame that it took me over an hour just to finalize my return. I used this site for several years yet unless I pay you I can not access last years return. I was made to go to the IRS site for my adjusted gross income. I was very disappointed. Not sure I will use Turbo again.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Maximized my Refund in Little Time I love TurboTax! I have been using it for 10 years now. It's so easy to comprehend, precise, in depth and affordable. I recommend it to everyone I talk to!! Thank you TurboTax for making my life easier!
Date published: 2017-04-19
  • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_121454, tr_163388
  • loc_, sid_TT_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax Self-Employed ExpenseFinder: ExpenseFinder™ is available year round as a feature of QuickBooks Self-Employed (available with TurboTax Self-Employed, see the “QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed” details below.) ExpenseFinder™ expected late January (late February for mobile app). ExpenseFinder™ not available from within TurboTax Self-Employed for people with certain types of expenses and tax situations including paying contractors or employees, home office or vehicle actuals, inventory, self employed health insurance or retirement, asset depreciation, sale of property or vehicles, and farm income. Availability of historical transactions for import may vary by financial institution. Not available for all financial institutions or all credit cards.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return by 4/18/17 and receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 4/30/18. Activation required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed by 7/15/17 via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 4/18/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2015 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2011 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.