TurboTax Live Basic

File your simple tax return with unlimited
tax advice and a final review from real
CPAs or EAs.

Why use TurboTax Live Basic?

When you file your simple federal and
state taxes with TurboTax Live Basic,
you'll get on-
demand access to CPAs and EAs for unlimited tax advice, answers, and a final review to
make
sure your taxes are
done right with every dollar you
deserve, guaranteed.

Expert help on demand, so you
can file with 100% confidence

All tax advice, answers, and
reviews are guaranteed.

1. IT'S EASY TO GET YOUR TAXES
DONE RIGHT

Answer simple questions about your life—we do all
the math for you. And, if you ever need tax advice,
simply click the “Live Help” button to talk or chat with
a CPA or EA.

2. YOU'RE NEVER ALONE WITH A CPA IN
YOUR CORNER

Our CPAs and EAs are there
whenever you need them,
including
nights and weekends. Get unlimited tax
advice and answers as
you do your taxes.

3. A FINAL REVIEW BEFORE YOU FILE

Our CPAs and EAs can review, sign and guarantee
your return, so you can be confident that your unique
tax situation is handled right.

  • What customers are saying
    about TurboTax Live Basic

  • Made it
    so simple

    "I really am so glad that I did have the reassurance by a live CPA. This was my first time doing my taxes all by myself. TurboTax made it so simple! John was very patient, answered all of my questions, and made me feel more confident about my taxes."

    carolime07 -
    Southaven, MS

  • Deployed overseas?
    No problem.

    "My tax professional made what I thought was a difficult and arduous process super easy for me. I was able to successfully file my taxes to include both income at home, and overseas while deployed. Thanks for making it easy
    and painless!"

    ArtyParty -
    Ft Hood, TX

  • Simple enough for
    even ME!!

    "If I can do it, anyone can. It flowed very well with plenty of easy to understand instructions. I also had the CPA
    review, and she
    was FANTASTIC."

    TaxRef -
    Eastern Arkansas


*Actual customer testimonials. Photos are illustrative only.

View all product reviews

All TurboTax Live Basic features

For simple tax situations
  • Get every dollar you deserve, guaranteed

    We’re committed to finding every deduction and credit you qualify for and getting you your maximum refund, guaranteed.

  • Tax credits for
    your dependents

    Our CPAs and EAs can help you determine who qualifies as your dependents so you can get tax-saving credits like the Earned Income Tax Credit (EIC), and child tax credit.

    Tax credits for <br class="cgmt-visible-md" />your dependents
  • Simplified taxes for
    any situation

    We ask you simple questions, personalized to your situation. And if you ever need expert guidance, a CPA or EA is there
    to help.

    Simplified taxes for <br class="cgmt-visible-md"/>any situation
  • 50% done in a click

    If you’re a returning TurboTax customer, we’ll transfer last year’s information automatically to save you time.

  • Taxes are no longer a mystery

    We’ll show you updates to your tax refund (or taxes due) as you go. ExplainWhy™ provides personalized insights so you can truly understand the ‘whys’ behind your taxes.

  • Big life changes? We can help.

    Change jobs? Purchase a home, get married, or have a child? A CPA or EA can advise you on how these common life changes can impact your taxes.

Help & support
  • Unlimited expert
    tax advice

    A TurboTax CPA or EA is only a click away. Choose “Live
    Help” to connect and share your screen with a tax expert,
    who will guide you through all your questions and review
    your return when you’re ready
    to file.

    Unlimited expert <br class="cgmt-visible-md"/>tax advice
  • Product support

    Our TurboTax product specialists will provide customized answers to your questions and guide you by drawing on your screen.*

  • Expert Review

    Be 100% confident—we can review your return
    line-by-line, sign and
    file for you.

  • Community support

    Unlimited access to the helpful TurboTax community if you
    have questions.

    Community support
All TurboTax products are easy to use & guaranteed accurate
  • No tax knowledge needed

    We’ll ask you easy questions about your life and handle the math
    for you. You’ll get step-by-step guidance along the way.

  • Anytime, anywhere

    Finish your tax return in one visit or do a little at a time. We automatically save your progress as you go, so you can pick
    up where you left off
    from any device.

    Anytime, anywhere
  • No credit card? No problem.

    You can choose to pay for your tax preparation costs right out of your
    federal tax refund (fees may apply).

  • See your tax refund in real time

    We update your federal and state tax refund amount (or taxes
    due) as you work, so you always know where you stand.

  • Automatically add your
    tax forms

    We can access tax form information from over a million
    participating employers and financial institutions. If yours
    isn’t on the list, just snap a photo, tap, and you’re done.

    Automatically add your <br class="cgmt-visible-md cgmt-visible-xs" />tax forms
  • Get the fastest possible tax refund

    E-file your federal and state tax return with direct deposit to get your tax refund
    as fast as possible.

  • It's easy to switch

    You can easily save time by importing a PDF of last year’s tax
    return from other major tax
    prep companies.

  • Finish your state return faster

    Once you complete your federal taxes, we can transfer your
    information to your state return to help you finish quickly and
    easily. (Fees apply)

Narrow your results
Select all that apply to find reviewers similar to you.
Own a home
Kids
Own a business
Student
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and reliable on the mobile app, i ran into an issue where i couldn't really continue, but the customer service rep was helpful on that end. Other than that, this was quick and reliable, which is good for my first year filing taxes. Would highly recommend.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's ok I have used Turbo Tax for about 7 years This year I had fees I did not expect but paid them anyway. So the free free free commercials are misleading. Had to pay 39.99 because I choose to pay out of my very small refund. I chose this option because Iam a senior citizen on fixed income and did not have the funds to pay now. So I feel this was unfair otherwise am pleased with my experience
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hidden fees $154 to file a basic return??! Free? Not on this return.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from extra help! I was so thankful for the online help d/t change in my marital status! everyone was very helpful and provided me as much time as needed to understand everything and get my refund done correctly!
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Save me 1t my refund It was clear and easy . The staff readily helpful. Thank you so much I didn't think I could do it. Thank you so much for your understanding and patient.
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Getting too expensive I've been using TurboTax for the last four years, and prices continue to increase. I'm sick of getting spammed constantly to upgrade my package. All I need is basic as I have no complications on my deductions. Price was advertised as $40, but I paid $80 after all was said and done. With no explanation as to why. I'll take my business elsewhere next year!
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DiZzY such a dizzy array of questions that lead to nowhere...is there a simpler way to decide if you may qualify...in most cases, the disqualifications were by miles and that could have been made simpler...don't you think?
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Calmed this persistent procrastinator! Loved my cpa. Totally worth the upgrade to $159 and $200 cheaper than using a CPA although earlier returns were more complex. She was calm and helped me walk through what I needed. Hope I can save my files for next year.
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Use it every year! I have used TurboTax for quite a few years because of it's ease of use and filing. I also like that I have access to my refund info all year long just by logging in - instead of having to keep up with paperwork...
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Searched hard for us! Have been using Turbo Tax now for several years and have been very pleased! They work hard to ensure everything has been thoroughly gone through and all deductions that apply have been utilized.
Date published: 2019-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Service Scheduling took a day but that had more to do filing so close to the deadline. Other than that personnel was very helpful and answered all my questions.
Date published: 2019-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocked my Refund The live chat was VERY Helpful.
Date published: 2019-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing better out there!
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy to use For a first time filer this was incredibly easy to use, and helped me through the whole process.
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfied Very fast and efficient and accurate!! One stop shop at home.
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great job guys Thank you ladies fine job you did.
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Myfirsttimeturbo It's okay!
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Multiple accounts I've been using Turbo tax for several years now. My daughter just started, this is her second year. Unfortunately, she filed last year, forgot about it, and set up a new account this year. It's a NIGHTMARE. Login, logout, login, logout. WHY are they not linked via Social Security Numbers?
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth I titled this review as (worth) because its worth every penny I spend, I love doing my own taxes, and turbo tax gives me the confidents and piece of mind knowing when I hit that send button it's all good:)
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beats dealing with people best way I've ever done my taxes. won't do it any other way in the future
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Filing The reviewer helped me to go through the doubts, which I had before eFiling my return.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First time I've had to file in 30 years My wife has always done our taxes, so I haven't looked at taxes for 30 years, and never at state taxes. She passed last year, so on top of everything else, I'm stuck with taxes. When I hit questions, the TurboTax staff was quick, friendly, and helpful, and didn't make me feel like the idiot I'm sure I sounded like. Even with the help during filling everything out, I was nervous, but the CPA I talked to at the end eased my fears and caught a couple minor errors, making me much more confident about submitting my taxes. Cons: The questions didn't quite apply to my state. Granted, my state doesn't do things the way a normal state would, and I'm sure the Turbotax is set up to ask questions applicable to most states, not the oddballs.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy and assuring very simple to complete with step by step instructions.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from RLF 2018 Tubo Tax Review I enjoyed feeling like my hands were being held. I didn't like the package upgrade removal option was buried.
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very professional live help I was very pleased with how easy it was . When I doubted myself all I had to do was get Live Help . Will be using again next year .
Date published: 2019-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made Filing For Deceased Relative Easy Needed to file a final tax return for my father who passed last year. Usually, I have someone prepare my own taxes. I wanted to handle this myself and Turbotax made it easy.
Date published: 2019-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overcame my fear of filinf There were a number of screens to fill out. It is quicker if one had one on one with an accountant than typing out each one of the screens. Overall, though it took me a long time, it was worth saving over $125.00 accountant fee and I did get a refund this year.
Date published: 2019-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent ALL WAS PERFECT, AND EASY JUS NEED PATIENCE
Date published: 2019-03-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from taxes done I didn't like the fees Turbotax charges they can charge less on the fess.
Date published: 2019-03-29
  • y_2019, m_12, d_11, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_781, tr_1240
  • loc_, sid_530_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 264ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Narrow your results
Select all that apply to find reviewers similar to you.
Own a home
Kids
Own a business
Student
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and reliable on the mobile app, i ran into an issue where i couldn't really continue, but the customer service rep was helpful on that end. Other than that, this was quick and reliable, which is good for my first year filing taxes. Would highly recommend.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's ok I have used Turbo Tax for about 7 years This year I had fees I did not expect but paid them anyway. So the free free free commercials are misleading. Had to pay 39.99 because I choose to pay out of my very small refund. I chose this option because Iam a senior citizen on fixed income and did not have the funds to pay now. So I feel this was unfair otherwise am pleased with my experience
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hidden fees $154 to file a basic return??! Free? Not on this return.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from extra help! I was so thankful for the online help d/t change in my marital status! everyone was very helpful and provided me as much time as needed to understand everything and get my refund done correctly!
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Save me 1t my refund It was clear and easy . The staff readily helpful. Thank you so much I didn't think I could do it. Thank you so much for your understanding and patient.
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Getting too expensive I've been using TurboTax for the last four years, and prices continue to increase. I'm sick of getting spammed constantly to upgrade my package. All I need is basic as I have no complications on my deductions. Price was advertised as $40, but I paid $80 after all was said and done. With no explanation as to why. I'll take my business elsewhere next year!
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DiZzY such a dizzy array of questions that lead to nowhere...is there a simpler way to decide if you may qualify...in most cases, the disqualifications were by miles and that could have been made simpler...don't you think?
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Calmed this persistent procrastinator! Loved my cpa. Totally worth the upgrade to $159 and $200 cheaper than using a CPA although earlier returns were more complex. She was calm and helped me walk through what I needed. Hope I can save my files for next year.
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Use it every year! I have used TurboTax for quite a few years because of it's ease of use and filing. I also like that I have access to my refund info all year long just by logging in - instead of having to keep up with paperwork...
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Searched hard for us! Have been using Turbo Tax now for several years and have been very pleased! They work hard to ensure everything has been thoroughly gone through and all deductions that apply have been utilized.
Date published: 2019-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Service Scheduling took a day but that had more to do filing so close to the deadline. Other than that personnel was very helpful and answered all my questions.
Date published: 2019-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocked my Refund The live chat was VERY Helpful.
Date published: 2019-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing better out there!
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy to use For a first time filer this was incredibly easy to use, and helped me through the whole process.
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfied Very fast and efficient and accurate!! One stop shop at home.
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great job guys Thank you ladies fine job you did.
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Myfirsttimeturbo It's okay!
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Multiple accounts I've been using Turbo tax for several years now. My daughter just started, this is her second year. Unfortunately, she filed last year, forgot about it, and set up a new account this year. It's a NIGHTMARE. Login, logout, login, logout. WHY are they not linked via Social Security Numbers?
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth I titled this review as (worth) because its worth every penny I spend, I love doing my own taxes, and turbo tax gives me the confidents and piece of mind knowing when I hit that send button it's all good:)
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beats dealing with people best way I've ever done my taxes. won't do it any other way in the future
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Filing The reviewer helped me to go through the doubts, which I had before eFiling my return.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First time I've had to file in 30 years My wife has always done our taxes, so I haven't looked at taxes for 30 years, and never at state taxes. She passed last year, so on top of everything else, I'm stuck with taxes. When I hit questions, the TurboTax staff was quick, friendly, and helpful, and didn't make me feel like the idiot I'm sure I sounded like. Even with the help during filling everything out, I was nervous, but the CPA I talked to at the end eased my fears and caught a couple minor errors, making me much more confident about submitting my taxes. Cons: The questions didn't quite apply to my state. Granted, my state doesn't do things the way a normal state would, and I'm sure the Turbotax is set up to ask questions applicable to most states, not the oddballs.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy and assuring very simple to complete with step by step instructions.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from RLF 2018 Tubo Tax Review I enjoyed feeling like my hands were being held. I didn't like the package upgrade removal option was buried.
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very professional live help I was very pleased with how easy it was . When I doubted myself all I had to do was get Live Help . Will be using again next year .
Date published: 2019-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made Filing For Deceased Relative Easy Needed to file a final tax return for my father who passed last year. Usually, I have someone prepare my own taxes. I wanted to handle this myself and Turbotax made it easy.
Date published: 2019-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overcame my fear of filinf There were a number of screens to fill out. It is quicker if one had one on one with an accountant than typing out each one of the screens. Overall, though it took me a long time, it was worth saving over $125.00 accountant fee and I did get a refund this year.
Date published: 2019-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent ALL WAS PERFECT, AND EASY JUS NEED PATIENCE
Date published: 2019-03-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from taxes done I didn't like the fees Turbotax charges they can charge less on the fess.
Date published: 2019-03-29
  • y_2019, m_12, d_11, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_781, tr_1240
  • loc_, sid_530_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 25ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Commonly Filed Tax Forms and Schedules
Free Edition
Basic Live
Deluxe
Deluxe Live
Premier
Premier Live
Self-Employed
Self-Employed Live
1040U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
Schedule EICEarned Income Credit
Schedule 1Additional Income and Adjustments to Income
Schedule 2Tax
Schedule 3Non-refundable Credits
Schedule AItemized Deductions
Schedule BInterest and Dividend Income
Schedule C/C-EZProfit or Loss from Business (Income)
Schedule SESelf-Employment Tax
Schedule DCapital Gains and Losses
Schedule ESupplemental Income and Loss, including rental property
Schedule C/C-EZProfit or Loss from Business (Expenses)
Other Tax Forms and Schedules
Free Edition
Basic Live
Deluxe
Deluxe Live
Premier
Premier Live
Self-Employed
Self-Employed Live
Form 1040-ESEstimated Tax for Individuals
Form 1040-VPayment Vouchers
Form 1040XAmended U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
Form 1095-AHealth Insurance Marketplace Statement
Form 1099-DIVDividends and Distributions
Form 1099-INTInterest Income
Form 1099-OIDOriginal Issue Discount
Form 1099-RDistributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement, etc.
Form 1310Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer
Form 14039Identity Theft Affidavit
Form 2120Multiple Support Declaration
Form 2210/2210AIUnderpayment of Tax/Annualized Income
Form 4506Request for Copy of Tax Form
Form 4852Substitute for Form W-2 or 1099-R
Form 4868Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File
Form 8332Release of Claim to Exemption for Child of Divorced or Separated Parents
Form 8379Injured Spouse Allocation
Form 8453U.S. Individual Income Tax Transmittal for an IRS E-File Return
Schedule 8812Additional Child Tax Credit
Form 8822Change of Address
Form 8857Request for Innocent Spouse Relief
Form 8862Information to Claim Certain Refundable Credits After Disallowance
Form 8863Education Credits
Form 8888Direct Deposit of Refund
Form 9465Installment Agreement Request
Form W-2Wages and Tax Statement
Form W-4Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate
Commonly Filed Tax Forms and Schedules (new forms for 2019)
Form 1098Mortgage Interest Statement
Form 1098-CContributions of Motor Vehicles, Boats and Airplanes
Form 1098-EStudent Loan Interest Statement
Form 1098-TTuition Statement
Form 1099-AAcquisition or Abandonment of Secured Property
Form 1099-CCancellation of Debt
Form 1099-GCertain Government Payments
Form 1099-KPayment Card and Third Party Network Transactions
Form 1099-MISCMiscellaneous Income
Form 1099-QPayments From Qualified Education Programs
Form 1099-SADistributions from an HSA, Archer MSA, or Medicare Advantage MSA
Form 1116/AMTAMT Foreign Tax Credit/Foreign Tax Credit
Form 2106Employee Business Expenses
Form 2441Child and Dependent Care Expenses
Form 2555Foreign Earned Income
Form 3903Moving Expenses
Form 4137Tax on Unreported Tip Income
Form 4562Depreciation and Amortization
Form 4684Casualties and Theft
Form 4952/AMTAMT Investment Interest Expense Deduction/Investment Interest Expense Deduction
Form 4972Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions
Form 5329Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (including IRAs)
Form 5405First-Time Homebuyer Credit and Repayment of the Credit
Form 5695Residential Energy Credits
Form 6251Alternative Minimum Tax
Form 8283Non-cash Charitable Contributions
Form 8396Mortgage Interest Credit
Form 8582/AMT/CRPassive Activity Loss Limitations/AMT/Credit Limitations
Form 8606Nondeductible IRAs
Form 8615Tax for Certain Children who have Unearned Income
Form 8801Credit for Prior Year Minimum Tax
Form 8814Parents' Election To Report Child's Interest and Dividends
Form 8815Exclusion of Interest from Series EE and I U.S. Savings Bonds
Form 8834Qualified Electric Vehicle Credit
Form 8839Qualified Adoption Expenses
Form 8853Archer MSAs and Long-Term Care Insurance Contracts
Form 8859Carryforward of D.C. First-Time Homebuyer Credit
Form 8880Credit for Qualified Retirement Savings Contributions
Form 8889Health Savings Account
Form 8910Alternative Motor Vehicle Credit
Form 8911Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit
Form 8915AQualified 2017 Disaster Retirement Plan Distribution and Repayments
Form 8915BQualified 2017 Disaster Retirement Plan Distribution and Repayments
Form 8919Uncollected Social Security and Medicare Tax on Wages
Form 8936Qualified Plug-in Electric Drive Motor Vehicle Credit
Form 8938Statement of Specified Foreign Financial Assets
Form 8958Allocation of Community Property Amounts
Form 8959Additional Medicare Tax
Form 8960Net Investment Income Tax
Form 8962Premium Tax Credit
Form 982Reduction of Tax Attributes Due to Discharge of Indebtedness
Form SS-4Application for Employer Identification Number
Form W-2GCertain Gambling Winnings
Schedule HHousehold Employment Taxes
Schedule RCredit for Elderly or Disabled
Form 8995Qualified Business Income Deduction
Form 8995-AQualified Business Income Deduction Simplified Computation
From 8995-A Sch ASpecified Service Trades or Businesses
From 8995-A Sch BAggregation of Business Operators
From 8995-A Sch CLoss Netting and Carryforward
From 8995-A Sch DSpecial Rules for Patrons of Agricultural or Horticultural Cooperatives
Form 1099-BProceeds from Broker Transactions
Form 2210-FUnderpayment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and Fishermen
Form 2439Notice to Shareholder of Undistributed Long-Term Capital Gains
Form 3468Investment Credit
Form 3800General Business Credit
Form 4136Credit for Federal Tax Paid on Fuels
Form 4255Recapture of Investment Credit
Form 4797Sales of Business Property
Form 4835Farm Rental Income and Expenses
Form 6198At-Risk Limitations
Form 6252Installment Sale Income
Form 6781Gains/Losses from Section 1256 Contracts and Straddles
Form 8586Low-Income Housing Credit
Form 8824Like-Kind Exchange
Form 8949Sales and Other Dispositions of Capital Assets
Schedules K-1 (Form 1041)Estates and Trusts
Schedules K-1 (Form 1065)Partner's Share of Income, Credits, Deductions
Schedules K-1 (Form 1120S)Shareholder's Share of Income, Credits, etc
Form 8829Expenses for Business Use of Your Home
Form 8881Credit for Small Employer Pension Plan Startup Costs
Form 8885Health Coverage Tax Credit
Form 8941Credit for Small Employer Health Insurance Premiums
Schedule FProfit or Loss from Farming
Schedule JIncome Averaging for Farmers and Fishermen
Form 1040-NRNon-Resident Aliens (includes international students)
Minimum Operating Systems and Browsers

Windows
  • Windows 10.x

    • Firefox 65.x
    • Chrome 73.x
    • Opera 60.x
  • Windows 8.1

    • Firefox 65.x
    • Chrome 73.x
    • Opera 60.x
  • Windows 8

    • Firefox 65.x
    • Chrome 73.x
    • Opera 60.x
  • Windows 7

    • Firefox 65.x
    • Chrome 73.x
    • Opera 60.x
  • Android 5.x

    • Chromium default browser
  • Kindle Fire

    • Silk
  • Chromebook

    • Chrome
Mac
  • Mac OS X 10.15.x (Catalina)

    • Firefox 65.x
    • Safari 13.x
    • Chrome 73.x
    • Opera 60.x
  • Mac OS X 10.14.x (Mojave)

    • Firefox 65.x
    • Safari 13.x
    • Chrome 73.x
    • Opera 60.x
  • Mac OS X 10.13.x (High Sierra)

    • Firefox 65.x
    • Safari 13.x
    • Chrome 73.x
    • Opera 60.x
  • Mac OS X 10.12.x (Sierra)

    • Firefox 65.x
    • Safari 12.x
    • Chrome 73.x
    • Opera 60.x
  • Mac OS X 10.11.x (El Capitan)

    • Firefox 65.x
    • Safari 11.x
    • Chrome 73.x
    • Opera 60.x
  • Mac OS X 10.10.x (Yosemite)

    • Firefox 65.x
    • Safari 10.x
    • Chrome 73.x
    • Opera 60.x
  • Mac OS X 10.9.x (Mavericks)

    • Firefox 65.x
  • iOS 11.x

    • Safari
    • Chrome
    • Firefox
Mobile / Other
  • iOS 9.x

    • Safari
  • Android 4.x

    • Chrome default browser
  • Kindle Fire

    • Silk
  • Chromebook

    • Chrome

Frequently Asked Questions


What do I need to get started?

You don't need anything but your email address to get started with TurboTax. Just answer a few simple questions and you're on your way.

You don't even need to have your W–2s or 1099s, we can import that information directly from more than a million participating employers and financial institutions. Learn more about importing into TurboTax.

For more complex tax situations you may need additional documents, like mortgage statements or other detailed financial information. But since we save your return as you go, you can
finish anytime.

My tax situation is complex. Can I still use TurboTax?

Because you’re with TurboTax Live, you’ve got access to CPAs and EAs with an average of 15 years experience preparing tax returns. It’s like bringing the tax store to your home computer.

Not only that, TurboTax double-checks your return for errors as you go, and before you file your taxes. We also guarantee our calculations are 100% accurate, or we'll pay you any IRS penalties plus interest.

If you have questions about how to use TurboTax, just ask us. We have knowledgeable agents available by phone* or live chat to answer any questions you may have.
(Fees may apply.)

What do the CPA and EA
certifications mean?

A CPA is a Certified Public Accountant. They’re licensed to provide accounting services to the public only after completing the appropriate education, experience, and testing. CPAs maintain their certification through ongoing education.

An EA is an Enrolled Agent. EAs are certified to represent taxpayers before the IRS. They have passed rigorous exams, and must complete ongoing education to maintain their EA certification. This is the highest status the IRS awards.

Simply select “Live Help” and you’ll be connected with a certified CPA or EA. TurboTax Live is an unlimited service, so you can have as many sessions as you need to get your taxes done right.

Am I covered if I get audited?

Yes. We offer free one-on-one audit guidance year-round from our experienced and knowledgeable tax staff. We'll let you know what to expect and how to prepare in the unlikely event you receive an audit letter from the IRS.

If you've already received a letter from the IRS for a return you filed with TurboTax, please review our Audit Support Guarantee for instructions on how to receive FREE step–by–step audit guidance and the option to connect with an expert.

We also offer full audit representation for an additional fee with TurboTax
Audit Defense.



Unsure TurboTax Live Basic is right for you?


We’ll help you find the right
TurboTax product for your situation.

Get your maximum tax
refund — guaranteed

  • We search over 400
    tax deductions

    We find every tax deduction and credit you qualify for to get you the biggest tax
    refund, guaranteed.

  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee

    If you pay an IRS or state penalty
    (or interest) because of an error that
    a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty
    and interest.

  • 100% accurate calculations

    Our calculations are 100% accurate so your taxes will be done right, guaranteed, or we’ll pay you any
    IRS penalties.