Skip To Main Content

TurboTax Basic

4.4398 (2817 reviews)

Quickly file your simple tax return

Includes extra guidance and support for your taxes:

  • Transfer info from last Year's TurboTax return
  • Get answers by phone or live chat* (Fees may apply)
  • Get ongoing access to previous TurboTax returns
  • Get an extra 5% on top of your refund with our exclusive bonus* (See offer details)

Efile up to five federal tax returns for free

  • Support available by chat
  • Support available by phone
  • Support available by phone or live chat
TurboTax Basic Desktop
Buy Now

$39.99*

Key Features of TurboTax Basic CD/Download:

Step-by-step guidance

We'll walk you through your income taxes step by step and give you tax tips and advice along the way, so you don't miss a thing.

Returning customer? Transfer info from last year's return

No retyping necessary. We'll automatically pull in information from your previous year's TurboTax return to help save time and increase accuracy.

Automatic import of your W-2 and 1099 info

We can automatically import your W-2 and 1099 tax form data from over 400,000 participating employers and financial institutions.

Live answers by phone*

Get personalized, expert answers to your toughest tax questions. Our credentialed TurboTax experts, all CPAs and EAs, are here to talk to you one on one, by phone, if you need it. (Fees may apply)*

  • Maximum tax refund, guaranteed


    If you get a bigger refund using any other tax preparation method, we'll give you your money back.
  • 100% accurate calculations, guaranteed


    If you receive an IRS or state penalty or interest due to a TurboTax calculation error, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee


    Get free one-on-one audit guidance year-round from an experienced tax expert.

Plus, get all these helpful features to make your taxes easier:

No need to know taxes

Just gather your W-2s and any other tax documents. We’ll ask you easy questions and fill in all the right tax forms for you, including 1040EZ, 1040A and 1040.

Support by phone or chat

Get one-on-one answers to your questions from our Customer Support Agents via phone or live chat, free.*

Get tax deductions for your dependents

We'll show you who qualifies as your dependent, and find tax-saving deductions and credits like the child and dependent care credit, earned income credit (EIC), and child tax credit.

No appointment needed—go at your own pace

Do your income taxes at your own pace, at any time of day. We automatically save your progress while you do your taxes. Take a break whenever you'd like.

Your information is secure

We're dedicated to safeguarding your personal information. We test our site daily for security, use the most advanced technology available, and employ a dedicated Privacy Team.

Free efile: Get your fastest possible tax refund

Efile your federal and state tax return with direct deposit to get your fastest tax refund possible. Free federal and state efile is included with TurboTax Online.

Personalized to your unique situation

We ask questions to get to know you. Then, based on what you tell us, we'll search for every tax break that applies to you.

Thousands of error checks before you file

Before you file, we complete thousands of error checks to ensure your tax return is accurate and you avoid triggering an audit.

Transfer your federal tax info to state—finish up fast

Once you complete your federal taxes, we can transfer your information over to your state return to help you finish quickly and easily. Additional fees apply.

Always up-to-date with the latest tax laws

When tax laws change, TurboTax Online changes with them, so you can be sure your tax return includes the latest IRS and state tax forms.

See your tax refund in real time

TurboTax displays and updates your federal and state tax refunds (or taxes due) as you do your income taxes, so you always know where you stand.

Your tax refund, your way

Choose to receive your tax refund by check, direct deposit to your bank account, or to a pre-paid NetSpend® Premier Visa® Card.

Compare to our other TurboTax CD/Download products

Your biggest possible tax refund, guaranteed

100% accurate calculations, guaranteed

Easy questions to get to know you

Get live help by phone and chat* (Fees may apply)

Transfer info from last year's TurboTax return

Maximize tax deductions and credits

Find big tax deductions for your home

Accurately value donations to charity

Extra guidance for investment income

Maximize rental property tax deductions

Find refund-boosting business tax write-offs

Guidance for S Corp, partnership, C Corp, or multi member LLC

TurboTax Basic CD/Download screenshots

TurboTax Basic CD/Download Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5by 2783 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5by Suggestions for improvement I appreciate being able to carryforward from the prior year. It helps me keep things straight. The depreciation for 50% property does not seem to work and I have to override the numbers. Also, please inclued form 1045 and instructions. April 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5by Rebate Process Obnoxious The rebate instructions are unclear. Forums are difficult to find. Why does it take 4-6 weeks when Turbo Tax receives my money instantly? Why do we have to pay for E-file when it's a free service? February 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5by Easy access of info Great , have been using it for a few years.! April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5by Easy and Quick! I have used TurboTax for many years. Each year it gets better and better. It takes the stress out of doing taxes. April 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5by I've Done It Again I have successfully used this product for several years. Am very comfortable with it and would recommend it. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5by ChiefW I found Turbo Tax to be very simple and easy to use. I used other versions of Turbo Tax in the past but found now that I am retired the Basic version is all I need. April 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5by Always an easy experiance I've uses Turbo Tax for years and have found it to be consistently simple but thorough. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5by So Easy Turbo Tax is so easy to use. I used to be a tax preparation professional for many years. I have since retired, and Turbo Tax is a good tool for me to prepare my own taxes, plus those of some family members. March 2, 2014
2 3 4 5 ... 56 next>>
Please stand by...
We're out gathering the most recent reviews. It’s worth the wait, promise.

Minimum requirements for your computer

Windows® CD/Download Products

Below are the minimum requirements for TurboTax 2013 software installed on a Windows computer. The 2013 versions are Basic, Deluxe, Premier, Home & Business, and Business.

Processor

  • 1 GHz 32-bit (x86) or faster processor

Monitor

  • 1024x768 or higher recommended

Operating Systems

  • Windows XP (32-bit) Home/Pro with Service Pack 3 or higher
  • Windows Vista (32-bit and 64-bit) Home Basic/Home Premium/Business/Ultimate
  • Windows 7 (32-bit and 64-bit)
  • Windows 8 (32-bit and 64-bit)
  • Administrative rights required to install TurboTax

RAM

  • 1 GB or more recommended

Hard Disk Space

  • Federal Products: 500 MB for TurboTax (plus up to 1.5 GB for Microsoft .NET 4 client if not already installed)
  • State Products: 15 MB
  • Federal plus State Product: 515 MB for TurboTax (plus up to 1.5 GB for Microsoft .NET 4 client if not already installed)

Third Party Software

  • Microsoft .NET 4 (included with TurboTax Installer)
  • Adobe Reader 8 or higher

Internet Connection

  • 56 Kbps (Broadband connection recommended)

Printer

  • Any Windows-compatible inkjet or laser printer

Mac CD/Download Products

Below are the minimum requirements for TurboTax 2013 software installed on a Mac computer. The TurboTax 2013 versions are Basic, Deluxe, Premier, and Home & Business. TurboTax Business is not available for the Mac.

Processor

  • Multi core Intel Processor with 64-bit Support

Monitor

  • 1024x768 screen resolution or higher

Operating System

  • Mac OS X v10.6.8 or later
  • Mac OS X v10.7.5 or later

RAM

  • 1 GB of memory

Hard Disk Space

  • Federal Products: 330 MB
  • State Products: 30 MB
  • Federal plus State Products: 360 MB

Internet Connection

  • 56 Kbps modem (Broadband connection recommended)

Printer

  • Any Macintosh-compatible inkjet or laser printer
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax Online pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Special $14.99 TurboTax Federal Free Edition State price is valid only when you file by 2/17/14. All other federal and state prices are expected to increase on 03/22/14. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax CD/download products: Price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected on 03/22/14. Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns, and is subject to change without notice. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our Customer Support Agents: Tech and product support (phone & chat) hours vary by time of year. Phone not available in Free Edition.
  • Live tax advice: Live Tax Advice service is free for TurboTax Online, SnapTax and TurboTax for iPad customers. Fees apply for CD/download. Service experience levels, hours of operation and availability are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • *Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ("GCs") cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1-rated, best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for tax year 2012 and press reviews for TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, and Home & Business for tax year 2012.
  • Over 200 million returns filed: Estimate based on efile data for federal and state returns.
  • Most trusted brand name in tax software: Based on Intuit-commissioned survey 10/13.
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars: Based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2012, as of 03/2/13.
  • Save $100 vs. the leading tax store: Average savings based on 1040EZ filers who claim the Earned Income Tax Credit. May vary by location. Not all returns include EITC.
  • In as few as ten minutes: Based on survey of consumers preparing the 1040EZ Form. Actual times will vary based on your tax situation.