TurboTax Basic

Step-by-step guidance

$49.99* Federal

State additional  |  Free federal e-file included

TurboTax Basic
CD/Download additional feature list

  • No tax knowledge needed

    We'll ask you easy questions about your year and fill in the right tax forms for you.

  • Personalized to your unique situation

    We ask questions to get to know you. Then, based on what you tell us, we'll search for every tax credit that applies to you.

  • Thousands of error checks

    You won't miss a thing, we'll double-check your tax return for accuracy before you file.

  • Finish your state return faster

    Once you complete your federal taxes, we can transfer your information over to your state return to help you finish quickly and easily. (Fees may apply*)

  • Go at your own pace—no appointment necessary

    Finish your tax return in one visit or do a little at a time. We automatically save your progress as you go, so you can always pick up where you left off.

  • Up-to-date with the latest tax laws

    When tax laws change, TurboTax changes with them, so you can be sure your tax return includes the latest IRS and state tax forms.

  • Your information is secure

    We're dedicated to safeguarding your personal information. We test our site daily for security, use the most advanced technology available, and employ a dedicated Privacy Team.

  • See your tax refund in real time

    We display and update your federal and state tax refunds (or taxes due) as you do your income taxes, so you always know where you stand.

  • Free federal e-file for your fastest possible tax refund*

    E-file your federal and state tax return with direct deposit to get your fastest tax refund possible. Free federal e-file is included.

  • Your tax refund, your way

    Choose to receive your tax refund by check or direct deposit to your bank account.

  • No money out of pocket

    Skip the trip to your wallet. We can conveniently deduct any TurboTax preparation fees from your federal tax refund and have the remaining balance deposited directly into your bank account. Additional fees may apply.

Reviews from TurboTax Basic CD/Download users

Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax saw Me! Our tax year included Married, Joint Return with one over 65 and one under 65. One with only S/S income and the other with wages, S/S and 401K distribution. We also had one year of full medical and one without any medical. TurboTax was the only online tax preparer that had the forms that would include ALL the worksheets to render a return!!!
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Meh I feel like they are not very clear from the outset on what additional fees you may have to pay. I was under the impression that the packaged I purchased had everything I needed (it was the one they recommended) but it didn't include state filing info, so that was extra. Then filing the state info was an additional fee as well. I get that it may vary from state to state, but the whole process ended up costing me far more than I anticipated. Will probably find another option next year.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy for Refund! I have used Turbo Tax since 1987. I recomend it to all friends and relatives.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy Return When reviewing tax form it did not specify why the form needed correction. However there was only one correction and the rest was easy and well explained.
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the product Everything is good other than above comment.
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Program I've used TurboTax for longer than I care to remember. It just gets easier every year. Thanks TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cost after Cost Easy to use, but bought software at the store for $30. Then mid-process, had to pay $45 for the state. Then at the end of the process there was an additional $25 fee for the checking that the software did? I had expected the initial payment would be sufficient, but that does not appear to be the case.
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost TOO simple..... Being old, slowing down, but doing my year to year taxes, is still a breeze .
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Simple, A Caveman Can Do It! I haven't done my own taxes since 1976, so I was extremely hesitant to buy TurboTax and do them myself. Well, the basic edition of TurboTax was easy to use, contained very clear instructions and provided an easy, step-by-stop process to enter in all the required data...including confusing IRA forms (since I had a major rollover in my accounts last year). At the end of a very easy process, I had my return ready to go and file with the IRS. I don't see how this can get any easier!!!
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from glitch the submit return had a glitch. no number to talk to a human given. help page was no help. shutting program down and walking away then trying again worked.
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refund I've used TurboTax for many years and have been happy with it.
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from printing a return in the past it would print when asked now ....it has to be saved to adobe and then go there to print my adobe cant find the file I had to download the whole thing to another computer bummer now this stupid review must have a nickname that is not mine how d stupid is that
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great again Always satisfied with TurboTax. Still number 1 tax software and I will re-use next year.
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I did it! Thank you for making the process easy to follow for this 1st timer!! Had to step up to the plate as hubby has medical challenges . I am happy to say we're all squared away and appreciate the simplicity of filing our taxes and hopefully hubby can sleep better tonight ! Casa Hendrix is one happy place! See you or should I say, will use you in 2019 if God wills it and the creeks don't rise....oops we don't have any creeks around here!! lol!
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I did it! I am thrilled to do this for the 1st time and was able to follow and complete return. Husband Marvin was soooo nervous as that is his nature, but I have learned to step up to the plate and take care of many duties as he has had several health challenges. Thank you for assisting us and making this process easy for us! I know I failed to enter dr visits, but really wanted to make sure we filed so Marvin can sleep well tonight. LOL! Some people are just worry warts 24/7! Thanks again! We'll use you again in 2019 ...if the Lord wills it and the creeks don't rise!!!
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from money in the BANK so easy to use, any questions ,you answer, thanks
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for what I needed. Quicken - thanks again. I love TurboTax!
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank You Thank you for assisting me with filing my tax return. The only Con that I have is the use of the program to get the user to purchase more products from TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy I have used TurboTax for many years. Each year it has improved and I believe this year they have out-done themselves. I feel comfortable and supported throughout the entire process.
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Devils in the Details TurboTax has been my only tax prep tool for 20+ years because it is better than the competition. Unfortunately, the product is marred by vexatious nits. Worse, TT/Intuit doesn't seem to care about feedback from customers as great suggestions with lots of support in the customer forums are ignored and TT reps push the "ask your friends" mentality instead of providing direct answers. To wit ... 1 - Foreign tax credit for more than one country requires an artificial workaround documented by a generous contributor. 2 - Guidance for required Explanatory Statements is missing, when the Explanation is trivial and could be (and sometimes is) supplied by TT automatically. 3 - Basic editing tools like copy/paste and using Enter or Tab to move to a new field don't work smoothly. 4 - Formatting and font selection for imported documents is poor. Long descriptions of stock transactions (Sched D) are shrunk to become unreadable instead of truncated. The user must change each entry manually in a place reached by several clicks. These and other problems should not deflect anyone from using TT as it has many great features and is easy to use for 95% of my return.
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comments - TTBasic2017 TT Basic doesn't accept phone numbers if : - the number exceeds 10 digits; most foreign numbers will have 11 digits: (2) for the country code and (9) for the phone number - if one tries to only enter the phone number without the country code, the number is not accepted if it starts with a "0" which is the case for most mobile numbers.... - the summary sheet doesn't display the phone number correctly if there is a foreign phone number.
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from simple to use product
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Double Jeopardy Very easy to use; With thorough checkpoints to ensure no entry errors. Need to inform sooner of extra surcharges - surcharges stated as last final item before submitting state efiles
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hidden Fees Abound I had to pay for use of State (which is fine) but then I got charged again another State filing fee and then another fee for wanting direct deposit. It seems absurd. I understand that Turbotax needs to make money but you are also already paying for the software. It's like they know people will have to file so they can charge whatever fees they want.
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hidden Fees Galore Turbotax had these hidden fees: -Illinois State Filing ($49.95) -Indiana State Filing ($49.95) -Electronic Filing for Illinois ($24.99) -Electronic Filing for Indiana ($24.99) If I had known about these up front I would have considered other options.
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from rtjTT2017 Got new PC, copied (I thought) the file from old PC to new PC. and it appeared to recognize me for personnel data, but not all last year tax data
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good program but unhappy with State filing I've used TurboTax before and like the program. When it comes to them filing your state return though it gets very confusing and expensive. This is the first year I opted for them to file my state taxes. I purchased Turbo Tax Basic first for $53.11. Then discovered I had to pay an additional $50 for the state "forms" and then they hit me up for another $25 to e-file. Will be the LAST time I file my state return through Turbo Tax.
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smith Barney Investments If I put down the data from Smith Barney, then if there is a question about the data why not ask Smith Barney who put this information on their 1099 forms. I am not equipped to answer how they invested my money.
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love TurboTax User since 1989. Still best tax program around.
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Easy Year As a member of the clergy, I have a more complicated return than most folks of the relatively low income I earn. Turbo Tax "gets" these complexities and produces an accurate return -- something I did not get years ago when I was using a competitive product.
Date published: 2018-03-16
  • y_2018, m_7, d_21, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_96, tr_242
  • loc_, sid_600_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 460ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Minimum requirements for your computer

Windows® CD/Download Products

Below are the minimum requirements for TurboTax Federal 2017 software installed on a Windows computer.

Processor

  • Pentium 4 or Later.
  • Athlon or Later.

Monitor

  • 1024x768 or higher recommended.

Operating Systems

  • Windows 7 (Service Pack 1 or latest)
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 8.1
  • Windows 10
  • Administrative rights required.

RAM

  • 1 GB or more recommended.

Hard Disk Space

  • 650 MB for TurboTax (plus up to 4.5 GB for Microsoft .NET 4.5.2 client if not already installed).

Third Party Software

  • Microsoft .NET 4.5.2 included with TurboTax Installer.
  • Adobe Reader 11 or higher.
  • Administrative rights required.

Internet Connection

  • 56 Kbps (Broadband connection recommended).

Printer

  • Any Windows-compatible inkjet or laser printer.

CD/DVD drive required

Mac CD/Download Products

Below are the minimum requirements for TurboTax Federal 2017 software installed on a Mac computer.

Processor

  • Multi core Intel Processor with 64-bit Support.

Monitor

  • 1024x768 screen resolution or higher.

Operating Systems

  • Mac OS X v10.11 or later [64-bit required].

RAM

  • 2 GB or more recommended.

Hard Disk Space

  • 650 MB for TurboTax

Internet Connection

  • 56 Kbps (Broadband connection highly recommended).

Printer

  • Any Macintosh-compatible inkjet or laser printer.

CD/DVD drive required

Tax Forms included with TurboTax CD/Download products

Commonly Filed Tax Forms and Schedules
1040 U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
1040A U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
1040EZ Income Tax Return for Single and Joint Filers With No Dependents
Schedule A Itemized Deductions
Schedule B Interest and Dividend Income
Schedule C Covers miscellaneous income and some related expenses (1099-MISC)
Schedule C-EZ Net Profit From Business
Schedule D Capital Gains and Losses
Schedule E Supplemental Income and Loss, including rental property
Schedule EIC Earned Income Credit
Schedule SE Self-Employment Tax
Other Tax Forms and Schedules
Form 982 Reduction of Tax Attributes Due to Discharge of Indebtedness
Form 1040-ES Estimated Tax for Individuals
Form 1040-V Payment Vouchers
Form 1040X Amended U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
Form 1095-A Health Insurance Marketplace Statement
Form 1095-B Health Coverage
Form 1095-C Employer-Provided Health Insurance Offer and Coverage
Form 1098 Mortgage Interest Statement
Form 1098-C Contributions of Motor Vehicles, Boats and Airplanes
Form 1098-E Student Loan Interest Statement
Form 1098-T Tuition Statement
Form 1099-A Acquisition or Abandonment of Secured Property
Form 1099-B Proceeds from Broker Transactions
Form 1099-C Cancellation of Debt
Form 1099-DIV Dividends and Distributions
Form 1099-G Certain Government Payments
Form 1099-INT Interest Income
Form 1099-K Payment Card and Third Party Network Transactions
Form 1099-MISC Miscellaneous Income
Form 1099-OID Original Issue Discount
Form 1099-Q Payments From Qualified Education Programs
Form 1099-R Distributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement, etc.
Form 1099-SA Distributions from an HSA, Archer MSA, or Medicare Advantage MSA
Form 1116/AMT AMT Foreign Tax Credit/Foreign Tax Credit
Form 1310 Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer
Form 2106/EZ Employee Business Exp/EZ Employee Business Expenses Short Form
Form 2120 Multiple Support Declaration
Form 2210-F Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and Fishermen
Form 2210/2210AI Underpayment of Tax/Annualized Income
Form 2439 Notice to Shareholder of Undistributed Long-Term Capital Gains
Form 2441 Child and Dependent Care Expenses
Form 2555 Foreign Earned Income
Form 3115 Application for Change in Accounting Method
Form 3468 Investment Credit
Form 3800 General Business Credit
Form 3903 Moving Expenses
Form 4136 Credit for Federal Tax Paid on Fuels
Form 4137 Tax on Unreported Tip Income
Form 4255 Recapture of Investment Credit
Form 4506 Request for Copy of Tax Form
Form 4562 Depreciation and Amortization
Form 4684 Casualties and Theft
Form 4797 Sales of Business Property
Form 4835 Farm Rental Income and Expenses
Form 4852 Substitute for Form W-2 or 1099-R
Form 4868 Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File
Form 4952/AMT AMT Investment Interest Expense Deduction/Investment Interest Expense Deduction
Form 4972 Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions
Form 5329 Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (including IRAs)
Form 5405 First-Time Homebuyer Credit and Repayment of the Credit
Form 5695 Residential Energy Credits
Form 6198 At-Risk Limitations
Form 6251 Alternative Minimum Tax
Form 6252 Installment Sale Income
Form 6781 Gains/Losses from Section 1256 Contracts and Straddles
Form 8283 Non-cash Charitable Contributions
Form 8332 Release of Claim to Exemption for Child of Divorced of Separated Parents
Form 8379 Injured Spouse Allocation
Form 8396 Mortgage Interest Credit
Form 8453 U.S. Individual Income Tax Transmittal for an IRS E-File Return
Form 8582/AMT/CR Passive Activity Loss Limitations/AMT/Credit Limitations
Form 8586 Low-Income Housing Credit
Form 8606 Nondeductible IRAs
Form 8615 Tax for Certain Children who have Unearned Income
Form 8801 Credit for Prior Year Minimum Tax
Form 8814 Parents' Election To Report Child's Interest and Dividends
Form 8815 Exclusion of Interest from Series EE and I U.S. Savings Bonds
Form 8822 Change of Address
Form 8824 Like-Kind Exchange
Form 8829 Expenses for Business Use of Your Home
Form 8834 Qualified Electric Vehicle Credit
Form 8839 Qualified Adoption Expenses
Form 8853 Archer MSAs and Long-Term Care Insurance Contracts
Form 8857 Request for Innocent Spouse Relief
Form 8859 Carryforward of D.C. First-Time Homebuyer Credit
Form 8862 Information to Claim Earned Income Credit After Disallowance
Form 8863 Education Credits
Form 8880 Credit for Qualified Retirement Savings Contributions
Form 8881 Credit for Small Employer Pension Plan Startup Costs
Form 8885 Health Coverage Tax Credit
Form 8888 Direct Deposit of Refund
Form 8889 Health Savings Account
Form 8903 Domestic Production Activities Deduction
Form 8910 Alternative Motor Vehicle Credit
Form 8911 Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit
Form 8917 Tuition and Fees Deduction
Form 8919 Uncollected Social Security and Medicare Tax on Wages
Form 8936 Qualified Plug-in Electric Drive Motor Vehicle Credit
Form 8938 Statement of Specified Foreign Financial Assets
Form 8941 Credit for Small Employer Health Insurance Premiums
Form 8949 Sales and Other Dispositions of Capital Assets
Form 8958 Allocation of Community Property Amounts
Form 8959 Additional Medicare Tax
Form 8960 Net Investment Income Tax
Form 8962 Premium Tax Credit
Form 8965 Health Coverage Exemptions
Form 9465 Installment Agreement Request
Form 14039 Identity Theft Affidavit
Form SS-4 Application for Employer Identification Number
Form W-2 Wages and Tax Statement
Form W-2G Certain Gambling Winnings
Form W-4 Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate
Schedule 8812 Child Tax Credit
Schedule F Profit or Loss from Farming
Schedule H Household Employment Taxes
Schedule J Income Averaging for Farmers and Fishermen
Schedule R Credit for Elderly or Disabled
Schedules K-1 (Form 1041) Estates and Trusts
Schedules K-1 (Form 1065) Partner's Share of Income, Credits, Deductions
Schedules K-1 (Form 1120S) Shareholder's Share of Income, Credits, etc
Don't see the form you're looking for?
Change the filter above to view forms for different products.

Compare TurboTax Basic CD/Download to our other products
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.