TurboTax is up-to-date for your 2017 taxes, start now!

Learn more about Tax Reform here tax reform information.

TurboTax Basic

Step-by-step guidance

$49.99$39.99* Federal

State additional  |  Free federal e-file included

TurboTax Basic
CD/Download additional feature list

  • No tax knowledge needed

    We'll ask you easy questions about your year and fill in the right tax forms for you.

  • Personalized to your unique situation

    We ask questions to get to know you. Then, based on what you tell us, we'll search for every tax credit that applies to you.

  • Thousands of error checks

    You won't miss a thing, we'll double-check your tax return for accuracy before you file.

  • Finish your state return faster

    Once you complete your federal taxes, we can transfer your information over to your state return to help you finish quickly and easily. (Fees may apply*)

  • Go at your own pace—no appointment necessary

    Finish your tax return in one visit or do a little at a time. We automatically save your progress as you go, so you can always pick up where you left off.

  • Up-to-date with the latest tax laws

    When tax laws change, TurboTax changes with them, so you can be sure your tax return includes the latest IRS and state tax forms.

  • Your information is secure

    We're dedicated to safeguarding your personal information. We test our site daily for security, use the most advanced technology available, and employ a dedicated Privacy Team.

  • See your tax refund in real time

    We display and update your federal and state tax refunds (or taxes due) as you do your income taxes, so you always know where you stand.

  • Free federal e-file for your fastest possible tax refund*

    E-file your federal and state tax return with direct deposit to get your fastest tax refund possible. Free federal e-file is included.

  • Your tax refund, your way

    Choose to receive your tax refund by check or direct deposit to your bank account.

  • No money out of pocket

    Skip the trip to your wallet. We can conveniently deduct any TurboTax preparation fees from your federal tax refund and have the remaining balance deposited directly into your bank account. Additional fees may apply.

Reviews from TurboTax Basic CD/Download users

Rated 5 out of 5 by from The year was complicated but not my taxes With inherited property and income, personal book sales, tour guide work, stocks, investment losses, and major purchases, this tax year would have been a nightmare (or an expensive year for outside tax form preparation). However, it was rather easy with TurboTax's intuitive software.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fed is a Good Deal..State, no so much I have used Turbo Tax for years and love it and this year purchased it for the Illinois return. Could not believe it was extra to efile the state return after paying $45 for the state product.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Accurate Refund TurboTax continues to search for ways to save you money. I would suggest that you add more customer service reps available by telephone for questions.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely easy to use For many years, I would have my taxes done by a CPA but once my deductions dwindled away, I was paying the CPA more to do my taxes than my return was worth. Needless to say, I started doing my own taxes and this is the first time I've had to pay, not much but I am paying this year. It could have been worse without using Turbo Tax.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Will go back to Tax Act next year. Still unable to access Turbo Tax with the enlargement program Zoom Text engaged so had to have my wife access the program and then turn on the enlargement program. Once accessed it was easy to read in enlargement and easy to answer questions but Turbo Tax refused to download the Tax Act returns from last year even though they were filed as a PDF file. When it came to the state the charges were so exorbitant that there was no comparison to using Tax Act which I used last year because Turbo tax was so unfriendly to the sight impaired user in 2015.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful way to file I have been using turbotax for about 12 years and love doing it myself. The program is like having an accountant there to advise you at a fraction of the cost. Many resources to research any topic you may have questions about as well.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from state taxes I will never use turbo tax again. I am trying to file my state taxes. I have to buy turbo tax and then pay to file my state tax. I cannot get help when I call turbo tax you hang up and will NOT connect me to a person to answer my question. In the past years I have been able to print my state taxes and mail them in without paying. I am SOOOOO disappointed in turbo tax this year!!!!!!
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My 2016 Taxes The handling of IRAs with cost basis etc was somewhat confusing to me.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Some picky points I prepare my taxes as the 1099s and other info arrive, so I have to start some topics and then come back to edit them. And when I do, TurboTax not only walks me through interview questions I have previously answered, but it "undoes" my answers by going back to the interview's default response until I change it again. Another issue is filing electronically. I cannot, because a special situation requires that I override one entry on Form 1040. But TT considers that an "error" and does not allow electronic filing. That's OK --- but TT leads me through the entire electronic filing drill, including identity verification, before telling me it cannot file my return electronically because I refuse, for the umpteenth time I am asked, to correct that one "error." An early warning about electronic filing would be better.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peasy Brought in all the info from last year's return. Calculated SSI taxable for me. This saved a lot of time as SSI taxable is a real pain. Would have been easier if TT asked if I just wanted standard deduction first.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tax tool I've used TurboTax for many years and it keeps getting better. I appreciate the ease of using it and it's totally accurate!
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for Old Folks I'm 76, and of course, began in the last century filling out tax forms with pen and ink (had to be black!). So you can appreciate that I'm very grateful for TurboTax. As long as you keep a folder of financial income and expenses throughout the year, it's an easy exercise to plug in the data in TurboTax. You can do it, too!!!
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I tried e-mail but didn't have 2015 agi. tried mailing put couldn`t get iot to print forms. now what? I cant find 2015 filing even though I used turbo Tax. I have 2011, etc. but no 2015. can you possibly generate this for me?
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hard to open return Each time I go to open TT there's no obvious way to open the return I have been working on. Choices are to start a new return, refile a submitted return, etc., but I have to go to File on the main menu to find the return I want to work on.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2016 Taxes On a number of occasions, Turbo Tax asked me if I wanted to import carry-overs from last year (or something like that)... I had no idea what it was talking about and if I did, wouldn't Turbo Tax already know about them from last year's filing?
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesomely easy for these Seniors At 73 I filed our first tax return without the CPA in 39 years! I was terrified but decided to try it at the urging of our adult kids. WHAT WAS I WAITING FOR??? This was very straightforward, with superb coaching and guidance. No mystery at all, and I won't go back to the "old way".
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Stars Long time user of TurboTax and have been consistently satisfied with its ability to fit my tax filing needs and the proven accuracy it provides.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Three Problems for Foreign Filers 1. The contact info field for phone number is formatted only for U.S. numbers. Had to enter my son's stateside number. 2. Driver License or State ID requests should allow for None. I have no U.S. driver's license nor a state I.D. 3. Paying by credit card still requires a U.S. (or Canada) billing address. I have a U.S. Visa Card but my billing address is Costa Rica, so every year I have to temporarily change my billing address to my son's address in the U.S. in order to pay. Intuit really needs to fix this. It's the only purchase I have to do this for.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Okay I've used Trubo for more than 10 years and really liked it because it was fast and easy. This year not so much. Lots of questions and very frustrating
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax 2016 Was very easy once I had all the required forms handy.
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My tax return Turbotax did my taxes in record time and better still, find no error.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bravo to TurboTax As a first time user, I was pleasantly surprised as to how user friendly TurboTax is to use! It seemed to anticipate any questions I had with each step of the easy well developed process.
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Very easy to use and navigate through. Just had some issues trying to find out if I needed to submit a return for another state which I have rental property for........still no answer but from what I saw at the end, its a no. I was forced to pay for forms for the other state and an eFile for that state when I didn't owe or receive anything back from the state where my rental property is located......
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from lousy version of turbotax I have been using TurboTax for years and I have never had a single problem until this year. Specifically, when I got to enter my wife's and my drivers license to protect against fraud, it accepted it but when I said that I had a ISS number and all that detail that went with it, (but really did not have a number), it kept saying I did not have a valid number and would not let me clear those yellow highlighted items. It would not allow me to "continue" on. Somehow by the grace of God, I was able to move on (I don't know what I did) and file my return.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Help I Needed I have no complaints about TurboTax. I have used it every year and it has never let me down yet. As long as I have to do taxes, Turbo Tax will always be my faithful sidekick. When you have Turbo Tax to walk you through it you really don't need to spend money to have somebody else do them for you.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love TurboTax I've used TurboTax for several years and it keeps getting better and easier. My returns are not overly complex but I do itemize and have a number of other deductions. I particularly like the ability to import info from previous year which saves a lot of time
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had a very hard time finding out if the basic version included questions for Schedule A (it did). I only found out after I took a chance and bought the basic. This should not be so hard to find out. I realize this is a marketing ploy, but it was very annoying.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed The most disturbing aspect was that despite my having alerted TurboTax last year, they still does not realize that Social Security benefits are NOT taxable for a dual citizen of the USA and Israel. In 2010 and 2011 this cost me more than $8000 since I did not know it until it was too late to get a refund. I hold TurboTax responsible. The other aspect is that using the step by step method, there is no way to enter expenses for rental activity. You have to remember and initiate going to the Forms.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review of TurboTax Basic Improved data entry guidance from previous versions. Really easy data import from stock broker, but could not find a way to import data from my bank. e-file is great, and free, too! I found it hard to verify some data that had been imported. I had to try 6 times to get a nickname that works....
Date published: 2017-03-21
  • y_2018, m_1, d_23, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_121, tr_295
  • loc_, sid_600_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 87ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Minimum requirements for your computer

Windows® CD/Download Products

Below are the minimum requirements for TurboTax Federal 2017 software installed on a Windows computer.

Processor

  • Pentium 4 or Later.
  • Athlon or Later.

Monitor

  • 1024x768 or higher recommended.

Operating Systems

  • Windows 7 (Service Pack 1 or latest)
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 8.1
  • Windows 10
  • Administrative rights required.

RAM

  • 1 GB or more recommended.

Hard Disk Space

  • 650 MB for TurboTax (plus up to 4.5 GB for Microsoft .NET 4.5.2 client if not already installed).

Third Party Software

  • Microsoft .NET 4.5.2 included with TurboTax Installer.
  • Adobe Reader 11 or higher.
  • Administrative rights required.

Internet Connection

  • 56 Kbps (Broadband connection recommended).

Printer

  • Any Windows-compatible inkjet or laser printer.

CD/DVD drive required

Mac CD/Download Products

Below are the minimum requirements for TurboTax Federal 2017 software installed on a Mac computer.

Processor

  • Multi core Intel Processor with 64-bit Support.

Monitor

  • 1024x768 screen resolution or higher.

Operating Systems

  • Mac OS X v10.11 or later [64-bit required].

RAM

  • 2 GB or more recommended.

Hard Disk Space

  • 650 MB for TurboTax

Internet Connection

  • 56 Kbps (Broadband connection highly recommended).

Printer

  • Any Macintosh-compatible inkjet or laser printer.

CD/DVD drive required

Tax Forms included with TurboTax CD/Download products

Commonly Filed Tax Forms and Schedules
1040 U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
1040A U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
1040EZ Income Tax Return for Single and Joint Filers With No Dependents
Schedule A Itemized Deductions
Schedule B Interest and Dividend Income
Schedule C Covers miscellaneous income and some related expenses (1099-MISC)
Schedule C-EZ Net Profit From Business
Schedule D Capital Gains and Losses
Schedule E Supplemental Income and Loss, including rental property
Schedule EIC Earned Income Credit
Schedule SE Self-Employment Tax
Other Tax Forms and Schedules
Form 982 Reduction of Tax Attributes Due to Discharge of Indebtedness
Form 1040-ES Estimated Tax for Individuals
Form 1040-V Payment Vouchers
Form 1040X Amended U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
Form 1095-A Health Insurance Marketplace Statement
Form 1095-B Health Coverage
Form 1095-C Employer-Provided Health Insurance Offer and Coverage
Form 1098 Mortgage Interest Statement
Form 1098-C Contributions of Motor Vehicles, Boats and Airplanes
Form 1098-E Student Loan Interest Statement
Form 1098-T Tuition Statement
Form 1099-A Acquisition or Abandonment of Secured Property
Form 1099-B Proceeds from Broker Transactions
Form 1099-C Cancellation of Debt
Form 1099-DIV Dividends and Distributions
Form 1099-G Certain Government Payments
Form 1099-INT Interest Income
Form 1099-K Payment Card and Third Party Network Transactions
Form 1099-MISC Miscellaneous Income
Form 1099-OID Original Issue Discount
Form 1099-Q Payments From Qualified Education Programs
Form 1099-R Distributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement, etc.
Form 1099-SA Distributions from an HSA, Archer MSA, or Medicare Advantage MSA
Form 1116/AMT AMT Foreign Tax Credit/Foreign Tax Credit
Form 1310 Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer
Form 2106/EZ Employee Business Exp/EZ Employee Business Expenses Short Form
Form 2120 Multiple Support Declaration
Form 2210-F Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and Fishermen
Form 2210/2210AI Underpayment of Tax/Annualized Income
Form 2439 Notice to Shareholder of Undistributed Long-Term Capital Gains
Form 2441 Child and Dependent Care Expenses
Form 2555 Foreign Earned Income
Form 3115 Application for Change in Accounting Method
Form 3468 Investment Credit
Form 3800 General Business Credit
Form 3903 Moving Expenses
Form 4136 Credit for Federal Tax Paid on Fuels
Form 4137 Tax on Unreported Tip Income
Form 4255 Recapture of Investment Credit
Form 4506 Request for Copy of Tax Form
Form 4562 Depreciation and Amortization
Form 4684 Casualties and Theft
Form 4797 Sales of Business Property
Form 4835 Farm Rental Income and Expenses
Form 4852 Substitute for Form W-2 or 1099-R
Form 4868 Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File
Form 4952/AMT AMT Investment Interest Expense Deduction/Investment Interest Expense Deduction
Form 4972 Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions
Form 5329 Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (including IRAs)
Form 5405 First-Time Homebuyer Credit and Repayment of the Credit
Form 5695 Residential Energy Credits
Form 6198 At-Risk Limitations
Form 6251 Alternative Minimum Tax
Form 6252 Installment Sale Income
Form 6781 Gains/Losses from Section 1256 Contracts and Straddles
Form 8283 Non-cash Charitable Contributions
Form 8332 Release of Claim to Exemption for Child of Divorced of Separated Parents
Form 8379 Injured Spouse Allocation
Form 8396 Mortgage Interest Credit
Form 8453 U.S. Individual Income Tax Transmittal for an IRS E-File Return
Form 8582/AMT/CR Passive Activity Loss Limitations/AMT/Credit Limitations
Form 8586 Low-Income Housing Credit
Form 8606 Nondeductible IRAs
Form 8615 Tax for Certain Children who have Unearned Income
Form 8801 Credit for Prior Year Minimum Tax
Form 8814 Parents' Election To Report Child's Interest and Dividends
Form 8815 Exclusion of Interest from Series EE and I U.S. Savings Bonds
Form 8822 Change of Address
Form 8824 Like-Kind Exchange
Form 8829 Expenses for Business Use of Your Home
Form 8834 Qualified Electric Vehicle Credit
Form 8839 Qualified Adoption Expenses
Form 8853 Archer MSAs and Long-Term Care Insurance Contracts
Form 8857 Request for Innocent Spouse Relief
Form 8859 Carryforward of D.C. First-Time Homebuyer Credit
Form 8862 Information to Claim Earned Income Credit After Disallowance
Form 8863 Education Credits
Form 8880 Credit for Qualified Retirement Savings Contributions
Form 8881 Credit for Small Employer Pension Plan Startup Costs
Form 8885 Health Coverage Tax Credit
Form 8888 Direct Deposit of Refund
Form 8889 Health Savings Account
Form 8903 Domestic Production Activities Deduction
Form 8910 Alternative Motor Vehicle Credit
Form 8911 Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit
Form 8917 Tuition and Fees Deduction
Form 8919 Uncollected Social Security and Medicare Tax on Wages
Form 8936 Qualified Plug-in Electric Drive Motor Vehicle Credit
Form 8938 Statement of Specified Foreign Financial Assets
Form 8941 Credit for Small Employer Health Insurance Premiums
Form 8949 Sales and Other Dispositions of Capital Assets
Form 8958 Allocation of Community Property Amounts
Form 8959 Additional Medicare Tax
Form 8960 Net Investment Income Tax
Form 8965 Health Coverage Exemptions
Form 9465 Installment Agreement Request
Form 14039 Identity Theft Affidavit
Form SS-4 Application for Employer Identification Number
Form W-2 Wages and Tax Statement
Form W-2G Certain Gambling Winnings
Form W-4 Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate
Schedule 8812 Child Tax Credit
Schedule F Profit or Loss from Farming
Schedule H Household Employment Taxes
Schedule J Income Averaging for Farmers and Fishermen
Schedule R Credit for Elderly or Disabled
Schedules K-1 (Form 1041) Estates and Trusts
Schedules K-1 (Form 1065) Partner's Share of Income, Credits, Deductions
Schedules K-1 (Form 1120S) Shareholder's Share of Income, Credits, etc
Don't see the form you're looking for?
Change the filter above to view forms for different products.

Compare TurboTax Basic CD/Download to our other products

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed return by 4/17/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.