TurboTax Basic

Step-by-step guidance

$49.99$39.99* Federal

State additional  |  Free federal e-file included

TurboTax Basic
CD/Download full feature list

  • No tax knowledge needed

    We'll ask you easy questions about your year and fill in the right tax forms for you.

  • Personalized to your unique situation

    We ask questions to get to know you. Then, based on what you tell us, we'll search for every tax credit that applies to you.

  • Thousands of error checks

    You won't miss a thing, we'll double-check your tax return for accuracy before you file.

  • Finish your state return faster

    Once you complete your federal taxes, we can transfer your information over to your state return to help you finish quickly and easily. (Fees may apply*)

  • Go at your own pace—no appointment necessary

    Finish your tax return in one visit or do a little at a time. We automatically save your progress as you go, so you can always pick up where you left off.

  • Up-to-date with the latest tax laws

    When tax laws change, TurboTax changes with them, so you can be sure your tax return includes the latest IRS and state tax forms.

  • Your information is secure

    We're dedicated to safeguarding your personal information. We test our site daily for security, use the most advanced technology available, and employ a dedicated Privacy Team.

  • See your tax refund in real time

    We display and update your federal and state tax refunds (or taxes due) as you do your income taxes, so you always know where you stand.

  • Free federal e-file for your fastest possible tax refund*

    E-file your federal and state tax return with direct deposit to get your fastest tax refund possible. Free federal e-file is included.

  • Your tax refund, your way

    Choose to receive your tax refund by check or direct deposit to your bank account.

  • No money out of pocket

    Skip the trip to your wallet. We can conveniently deduct any TurboTax preparation fees from your federal tax refund and have the remaining balance deposited directly into your bank account. Additional fees may apply.

Reviews from TurboTax Basic CD/Download users

Rated 5 out of 5 by from The tax file was not started in a tax directory, I could not begin by clicking Turbo Tax always wanted to start a new return. I always had to go to a directory and click on the tax file
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Excellent
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from how eays it was to use! i enjoyed using this product immensely, mainly due to the fact that it was very user friendly and easy to use, i will defiantly be using this more for next years tax's.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Saving Federal and State Tax to CD I have used TurboTax for years and I have had very few problems. There are a few pitfalls along the way, especially if at the end of the review and some errors are found. TTax will point out the error, but will give you very little information on how to correct it........in this regard you will have to use your own ideas, or go to online help. I think that at the very end when TTax asks you if you want to save the to a PDF file, it should also ask you if you would like to burn a CD copy for your records, just in case your hard drive crashes irrecoverably and you would lose all electronic copies of your return.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Somewhat awkward I like to address the issues I know apply first, then go back for the rest of the required information. Turbotax is great for that. It was a let-down, however, when printing my return to have the bottom of each page cut off AND to have no ability to shrink the pages on TT's print menu. Especially since so many people are e-filing, it's important to be able to get a good copy.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Question I have been troubled for years using TurboTax that you do not list a worksheet for the Simplified Method in your list of forms. There is one lost under Schedule A but it lacks adequate instructions i.e. Line 7 in the form says "Age Factor." It is not clear what this means. Please place a worksheet in the idex of forms and rework the complete instrutions .
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Program
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax is intuitive and straightforward. It gives information that is understandable to feel comfortable about inputting the correct figures.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Got my refund Put my disc in and it wouldn't load went to web site and got my free download. This was easy to do was well pleased.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could not do this without Turbotax Can't image doing my taxes without TurboTax. It guides me through a lot of stuff I can only barely begin to understand. I also like to use it to do some what if analysis and plan for the next year.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from glad it is done Turbo tax walks you through most every situation to make sure you don't leave anything out.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Great Many thanks for a really easy and complete way for us to file our income tax. Be Blessed!
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from what a way to pay taxes the business side of the tax forms are not very easy.
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Major problem Traditional IRA data did not transfer from previous year; consequently no form 8606 was generated. ???? Had to go into worksheet and manually enter previous year info to get it to work.
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great and Simple If you dont have complicated taxes and you are paying someone to do them for you, then you are making a massive mistake. Turbo Tax is cheap and easy and will get you just as much in your refund as any expensive accountant.
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quickest filing ever! Finished my Federal 1040 in just 1 hour! My fastest filing yet!
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User Friendly! This is my second year using TurboTax. Before, I had someone else file for me, and the fees cut significantly into my refund. I need easy, simple, and user friendly or I will get stressed out and upset. The folks at TurboTax couldn't have made it any easier and the language is so pleasant and casual. You are guided easily each and every step of the way. Even though tax time is "official" businesss and not such a fun time for many, they really take that seriousness and unpleasant tone of taxes out of it. I appreciate that and highly recommend!
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Filing from overseas I live in France not in the US yet the forms require me to pick a State - I pick one at random - and a US telephone number - I make one up just to pass to the next form. Luckily I still have a US driving licence for the final ID check. However, it's a VA licence that doesn't have an issue date. Hitting the radio button for no issue date doesn't work. So I entered a fictitious date (1888). Hope the IRS doesn't catch that. Once I have entered the information for filing from overseas you shouldn't ask any more questions as though I was filing from the US. And I don't have a non-swearing nickname!
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better each year Have been using TT for more than 10 years for self and family (I am the official family tax preparer). Have always found your system to be fast efficient and accurate. Your CD is the first item on my Xmas list each year. Keep up the great work!
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PRODUCT This is truly an amazing product. So easy to follow and understand. It is so easy, even I can file my own taxes.
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Done! It would be easier to assemble and order the paperwork if there were an ordered list of topics and paperwork required at the beginning of the process.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once again TurboTax makes it easy! For several years, I have used TurboTax and have always been very satisfied.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Right On the Money - Turbo Tax I have re-checked my tax return with a certified accountant two separate years now to make sure that Turbo Tax is correctly doing my taxes and I am happy to confirm that each time Turbo Tax was "Right on the money".
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rough but resolved Had a little trouble with the download for a previous tax year. But, it was resolved rather quickly by the support team. Did my previous tax year just as quickly as the current year. Much thanks!
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Returns Have used turbo tax since it was introduced. Have found it the best amongst all the tax software (and I have used a couple of your competitors). I like downloads from past year returns that makes it so easy to enter this year returns. I also like the pop up explanations that helps me to understand if a certain item is applicable to me or not.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast N' Easy Refund! Turbo Tax is great! You don't have to be a tax professional; it is very simple. The hardest part is doing it for the first time, and easily done the years that follow. Try it!
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good steady reliable software I have used for 10 or so years and find it acceptable and can see no reason to change.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got It Done We have used TurboTax for several years and find it is comfortable to use. Mentioning the need for financial institution accounts to be on line would be a help.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A ok like the ability to move between screens and not lose data
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The year was complicated but not my taxes With inherited property and income, personal book sales, tour guide work, stocks, investment losses, and major purchases, this tax year would have been a nightmare (or an expensive year for outside tax form preparation). However, it was rather easy with TurboTax's intuitive software.
Date published: 2017-03-30
  • y_2017, m_11, d_24, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_121, tr_294
  • loc_, sid_600_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 212ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Minimum requirements for your computer

Windows® CD/Download Products

Below are the minimum requirements for TurboTax Federal 2017 software installed on a Windows computer.

Processor

  • Pentium 4 or Later.
  • Athlon or Later.

Monitor

  • 1024x768 or higher recommended.

Operating Systems

  • Windows 7 (Service Pack 1 or latest)
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 8.1
  • Windows 10
  • Administrative rights required.

RAM

  • 1 GB or more recommended.

Hard Disk Space

  • 650 MB for TurboTax (plus up to 4.5 GB for Microsoft .NET 4.5.2 client if not already installed).

Third Party Software

  • Microsoft .NET 4.5.2 included with TurboTax Installer.
  • Adobe Reader 11 or higher.
  • Administrative rights required.

Internet Connection

  • 56 Kbps (Broadband connection recommended).

Printer

  • Any Windows-compatible inkjet or laser printer.

CD/DVD drive required

Mac CD/Download Products

Below are the minimum requirements for TurboTax Federal 2017 software installed on a Mac computer.

Processor

  • Multi core Intel Processor with 64-bit Support.

Monitor

  • 1024x768 screen resolution or higher.

Operating Systems

  • Mac OS X v10.11 or later [64-bit required].

RAM

  • 2 GB or more recommended.

Hard Disk Space

  • 650 MB for TurboTax

Internet Connection

  • 56 Kbps (Broadband connection highly recommended).

Printer

  • Any Macintosh-compatible inkjet or laser printer.

CD/DVD drive required

Tax Forms included with TurboTax CD/Download products

Commonly Filed Tax Forms and Schedules
1040 U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
1040A U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
1040EZ Income Tax Return for Single and Joint Filers With No Dependents
Schedule A Itemized Deductions
Schedule B Interest and Dividend Income
Schedule C Covers miscellaneous income and some related expenses (1099-MISC)
Schedule C-EZ Net Profit From Business
Schedule D Capital Gains and Losses
Schedule E Supplemental Income and Loss, including rental property
Schedule EIC Earned Income Credit
Schedule SE Self-Employment Tax
Other Tax Forms and Schedules
Form 982 Reduction of Tax Attributes Due to Discharge of Indebtedness
Form 1040-ES Estimated Tax for Individuals
Form 1040-V Payment Vouchers
Form 1040X Amended U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
Form 1095-A Health Insurance Marketplace Statement
Form 1095-B Health Coverage
Form 1095-C Employer-Provided Health Insurance Offer and Coverage
Form 1098 Mortgage Interest Statement
Form 1098-C Contributions of Motor Vehicles, Boats and Airplanes
Form 1098-E Student Loan Interest Statement
Form 1098-T Tuition Statement
Form 1099-A Acquisition or Abandonment of Secured Property
Form 1099-B Proceeds from Broker Transactions
Form 1099-C Cancellation of Debt
Form 1099-DIV Dividends and Distributions
Form 1099-G Certain Government Payments
Form 1099-INT Interest Income
Form 1099-K Payment Card and Third Party Network Transactions
Form 1099-MISC Miscellaneous Income
Form 1099-OID Original Issue Discount
Form 1099-Q Payments From Qualified Education Programs
Form 1099-R Distributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement, etc.
Form 1099-SA Distributions from an HSA, Archer MSA, or Medicare Advantage MSA
Form 1116/AMT AMT Foreign Tax Credit/Foreign Tax Credit
Form 1310 Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer
Form 2106/EZ Employee Business Exp/EZ Employee Business Expenses Short Form
Form 2120 Multiple Support Declaration
Form 2210-F Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and Fishermen
Form 2210/2210AI Underpayment of Tax/Annualized Income
Form 2439 Notice to Shareholder of Undistributed Long-Term Capital Gains
Form 2441 Child and Dependent Care Expenses
Form 2555 Foreign Earned Income
Form 3115 Application for Change in Accounting Method
Form 3468 Investment Credit
Form 3800 General Business Credit
Form 3903 Moving Expenses
Form 4136 Credit for Federal Tax Paid on Fuels
Form 4137 Tax on Unreported Tip Income
Form 4255 Recapture of Investment Credit
Form 4506 Request for Copy of Tax Form
Form 4562 Depreciation and Amortization
Form 4684 Casualties and Theft
Form 4797 Sales of Business Property
Form 4835 Farm Rental Income and Expenses
Form 4852 Substitute for Form W-2 or 1099-R
Form 4868 Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File
Form 4952/AMT AMT Investment Interest Expense Deduction/Investment Interest Expense Deduction
Form 4972 Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions
Form 5329 Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (including IRAs)
Form 5405 First-Time Homebuyer Credit and Repayment of the Credit
Form 5695 Residential Energy Credits
Form 6198 At-Risk Limitations
Form 6251 Alternative Minimum Tax
Form 6252 Installment Sale Income
Form 6781 Gains/Losses from Section 1256 Contracts and Straddles
Form 8283 Non-cash Charitable Contributions
Form 8332 Release of Claim to Exemption for Child of Divorced of Separated Parents
Form 8379 Injured Spouse Allocation
Form 8396 Mortgage Interest Credit
Form 8453 U.S. Individual Income Tax Transmittal for an IRS E-File Return
Form 8582/AMT/CR Passive Activity Loss Limitations/AMT/Credit Limitations
Form 8586 Low-Income Housing Credit
Form 8606 Nondeductible IRAs
Form 8615 Tax for Certain Children who have Unearned Income
Form 8801 Credit for Prior Year Minimum Tax
Form 8814 Parents' Election To Report Child's Interest and Dividends
Form 8815 Exclusion of Interest from Series EE and I U.S. Savings Bonds
Form 8822 Change of Address
Form 8824 Like-Kind Exchange
Form 8829 Expenses for Business Use of Your Home
Form 8834 Qualified Electric Vehicle Credit
Form 8839 Qualified Adoption Expenses
Form 8853 Archer MSAs and Long-Term Care Insurance Contracts
Form 8857 Request for Innocent Spouse Relief
Form 8859 Carryforward of D.C. First-Time Homebuyer Credit
Form 8862 Information to Claim Earned Income Credit After Disallowance
Form 8863 Education Credits
Form 8880 Credit for Qualified Retirement Savings Contributions
Form 8881 Credit for Small Employer Pension Plan Startup Costs
Form 8885 Health Coverage Tax Credit
Form 8888 Direct Deposit of Refund
Form 8889 Health Savings Account
Form 8903 Domestic Production Activities Deduction
Form 8910 Alternative Motor Vehicle Credit
Form 8911 Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit
Form 8917 Tuition and Fees Deduction
Form 8919 Uncollected Social Security and Medicare Tax on Wages
Form 8936 Qualified Plug-in Electric Drive Motor Vehicle Credit
Form 8938 Statement of Specified Foreign Financial Assets
Form 8941 Credit for Small Employer Health Insurance Premiums
Form 8949 Sales and Other Dispositions of Capital Assets
Form 8958 Allocation of Community Property Amounts
Form 8959 Additional Medicare Tax
Form 8960 Net Investment Income Tax
Form 8965 Health Coverage Exemptions
Form 9465 Installment Agreement Request
Form 14039 Identity Theft Affidavit
Form SS-4 Application for Employer Identification Number
Form W-2 Wages and Tax Statement
Form W-2G Certain Gambling Winnings
Form W-4 Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate
Schedule 8812 Child Tax Credit
Schedule F Profit or Loss from Farming
Schedule H Household Employment Taxes
Schedule J Income Averaging for Farmers and Fishermen
Schedule R Credit for Elderly or Disabled
Schedules K-1 (Form 1041) Estates and Trusts
Schedules K-1 (Form 1065) Partner's Share of Income, Credits, Deductions
Schedules K-1 (Form 1120S) Shareholder's Share of Income, Credits, etc
Don't see the form you're looking for?
Change the filter above to view forms for different products.

Compare TurboTax Basic CD/Download to our other products

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.