TurboTax Basic

Step-by-step guidance

$49.99* Federal

State additional  |  Free federal e-file included

TurboTax Basic
CD/Download additional feature list

  • No tax knowledge needed

    We'll ask you easy questions about your year and fill in the right tax forms for you.

  • Personalized to your unique situation

    We ask questions to get to know you. Then, based on what you tell us, we'll search for every tax credit that applies to you.

  • Thousands of error checks

    You won't miss a thing, we'll double-check your tax return for accuracy before you file.

  • Finish your state return faster

    Once you complete your federal taxes, we can transfer your information over to your state return to help you finish quickly and easily. (Fees may apply*)

  • Go at your own pace—no appointment necessary

    Finish your tax return in one visit or do a little at a time. We automatically save your progress as you go, so you can always pick up where you left off.

  • Up-to-date with the latest tax laws

    When tax laws change, TurboTax changes with them, so you can be sure your tax return includes the latest IRS and state tax forms.

  • Your information is secure

    We're dedicated to safeguarding your personal information. We test our site daily for security, use the most advanced technology available, and employ a dedicated Privacy Team.

  • See your tax refund in real time

    We display and update your federal and state tax refunds (or taxes due) as you do your income taxes, so you always know where you stand.

  • Free federal e-file for your fastest possible tax refund*

    E-file your federal and state tax return with direct deposit to get your fastest tax refund possible. Free federal e-file is included.

  • Your tax refund, your way

    Choose to receive your tax refund by check or direct deposit to your bank account.

  • No money out of pocket

    Skip the trip to your wallet. We can conveniently deduct any TurboTax preparation fees from your federal tax refund and have the remaining balance deposited directly into your bank account. Additional fees may apply.

Reviews from TurboTax Basic CD/Download users

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been using Turbo Tax for years and have always been very satisfied with it.
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from windows 10 problems I will never use TurboTax again after the problems I had trying to file an amended return. First it wouldn't open, then it lost my original return so I had to do it manually anyway.
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick, Simple, and Easy to use Overall, very satisfied
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Great Not sure why a person wouldn't use Turbo Tax. A simple and cost effective way to file your taxes.
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from K-1 Entries Extremely complex in entering K-1 from Blackstone PTP. I spent several hours trying to get it to balance and correct errors. Everything I tried failed, but tax due didn't change. Blocked efile process. I finally gave up and filed by mail with 4 trivial errors noted.
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievably quick This is my second year and I did not have any problems with filling it out compared to last years and worrying about doing it right.
Date published: 2018-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax is easy to use and looks very stable software, I trust it.
Date published: 2018-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taxes filed!!!! Been using Turbo Tax for years. Switched to Basic this year as we are retired and no need for anything other than the basics. Quick and easy download, had all items ready for input, and walah!!!! it was done.
Date published: 2018-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been using TurboTax for many years I have been using TurboTax for my personal tax returns for years, and plan to continue. I like being able to save copies on my computer and to have printed copies as well. The software is very easy to use and understand the results, with the worksheets available. Keep up the good work and appreciate the price not going up for CDs, the only way I will use tax prep software.
Date published: 2018-04-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed in being nickle 'n dimed! I've been using Turbo Tax for quite a number of years now to process my own, as well as the returns for two of my three children. This year, because of relocation, one of my kids had two state returns to process. Not only was I charged $45.00 for each state program but then an additional $25.00/each to electronically file. And then to boot, if I wanted to use the refunds to pay for the filing fees it was going to be another $40.00! Are you kidding me!!! Rip off. The prices and extra charges have been inching up for years now but this has gone too far. I go back to using H&R Block
Date published: 2018-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Have been using this program for many years and i am totally happy with it.
Date published: 2018-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Foreign filing I file from a foreign country (France) and do not have a residence in the US. In the questions about State residence there should be an option for "None" and the ability to enter a foreign telephone number +33 555604724, for example. Otherwise it's a good program.
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DOWNGRADED I've used TurboTax to file my 2015 and 2016 taxes, but this year it was a pain. It used to be easy. I also never remembered having to pay so much for additional fees and taxes. The only nice part is that I can do it from home. After doing my taxes this year, I feel like I should have given my taxes to someone else to deal with and pay just a tiny bit more than what I paid for TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great Program, Hidden Fees!!! I have used turbotax now for the past 3 years. It is a great program for guiding non-tax preppers through their own taxes. Just be careful, there are many hidden and additional fees for simple things such as downloading a state version of the program (you would think this is included when you purchase the software to start) as well as e-filing the state return (you would also think this included in the cost to start). Be mindful that when you pay for this software you are not done paying yet.
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User friendly application Have used Turbo Tax for over 25 years. Wouldn't do taxes any other way.
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast! I use this software every year. Almost makes doing taxes fun!
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome program Use the software every year. Very easy. Sometimes difficult to explain to a income tax knowledge challenged individual.
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY & ACCURATE HAVE BEEN USING TURBO TAX FOR MANY YEARS & LOVE IT. NEVER HAD A PROBLEM FILING ELECTRONICALLY.
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from deduction error on IT201 line 34 Overall the process was swift and accurate , however, the error noted above concerns me and the possibility that it may cause a delay in receiving my refund. Since "standard" was incorrectly selected instead of itemized, form IT201-D is missing from the return.
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good to go easy this year....next year I'll need help with foreign tax credits....!
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax 2017 First year I had to do Alternative Minimum Tax and Turbo Tax had almost no "What's This" kind of help resident in the program. No warm fuzzy I did it correctly.
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst ever difficult to save lost first data and had to start over 2015 turbo was much better
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Basic is a bust As a young adult who's new to filing taxes, I didn't realize the Basic plus State ended up costing more than the Deluxe. Turbotax should take new users into account and help new users. My mom did it last year, and I did it myself this year.
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product! I love this product, but with my aging eyes, I find the font sizes you use on the forms too small for ease of use. I am quite bleary eyed now after filing my 2017 taxes. Thanks, though, for a wonderful product!
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from wrong e-mail address I put in my e-mail address and the software changed it several times on it's own. my e-mail ends with .net and the software changed it several times to .com
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Time User I'm a long time user of TurboTax and it's prevented quite a few gray hairs! Saved me from the stress of manual filing and trying to interpret the ill-logic of the US tax code! One thing I found out this year that could be improved... I filed my 94 year old mother's Federal Return and the application prompted me to buy the CA state program, however she isn't even REQUIRED to file with the state because her AGI is below the threshold. It would be nice if Turbotax brought that to my attention and didn't offer to sell me software she didn't need. Overall, however, I'm very happy with the program.
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from first time using a MAC TO complete my turbo tax filing after many years using Windows PCs. Was a little troublesome getting started, but once I got the tax file opened, everything went smoothly, even somewhat easier than past years.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very complete even though I have done taxes for years, I still appreciate being walked through each step. I want to make sure I have not overlooked anything.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Year I have used TurboTax for many years and have been completely satisfied with its accuracy and ease of use.
Date published: 2018-03-24
  • y_2018, m_6, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_94, tr_242
  • loc_, sid_600_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 163ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Minimum requirements for your computer

Windows® CD/Download Products

Below are the minimum requirements for TurboTax Federal 2017 software installed on a Windows computer.

Processor

  • Pentium 4 or Later.
  • Athlon or Later.

Monitor

  • 1024x768 or higher recommended.

Operating Systems

  • Windows 7 (Service Pack 1 or latest)
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 8.1
  • Windows 10
  • Administrative rights required.

RAM

  • 1 GB or more recommended.

Hard Disk Space

  • 650 MB for TurboTax (plus up to 4.5 GB for Microsoft .NET 4.5.2 client if not already installed).

Third Party Software

  • Microsoft .NET 4.5.2 included with TurboTax Installer.
  • Adobe Reader 11 or higher.
  • Administrative rights required.

Internet Connection

  • 56 Kbps (Broadband connection recommended).

Printer

  • Any Windows-compatible inkjet or laser printer.

CD/DVD drive required

Mac CD/Download Products

Below are the minimum requirements for TurboTax Federal 2017 software installed on a Mac computer.

Processor

  • Multi core Intel Processor with 64-bit Support.

Monitor

  • 1024x768 screen resolution or higher.

Operating Systems

  • Mac OS X v10.11 or later [64-bit required].

RAM

  • 2 GB or more recommended.

Hard Disk Space

  • 650 MB for TurboTax

Internet Connection

  • 56 Kbps (Broadband connection highly recommended).

Printer

  • Any Macintosh-compatible inkjet or laser printer.

CD/DVD drive required

Tax Forms included with TurboTax CD/Download products

Commonly Filed Tax Forms and Schedules
1040 U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
1040A U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
1040EZ Income Tax Return for Single and Joint Filers With No Dependents
Schedule A Itemized Deductions
Schedule B Interest and Dividend Income
Schedule C Covers miscellaneous income and some related expenses (1099-MISC)
Schedule C-EZ Net Profit From Business
Schedule D Capital Gains and Losses
Schedule E Supplemental Income and Loss, including rental property
Schedule EIC Earned Income Credit
Schedule SE Self-Employment Tax
Other Tax Forms and Schedules
Form 982 Reduction of Tax Attributes Due to Discharge of Indebtedness
Form 1040-ES Estimated Tax for Individuals
Form 1040-V Payment Vouchers
Form 1040X Amended U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
Form 1095-A Health Insurance Marketplace Statement
Form 1095-B Health Coverage
Form 1095-C Employer-Provided Health Insurance Offer and Coverage
Form 1098 Mortgage Interest Statement
Form 1098-C Contributions of Motor Vehicles, Boats and Airplanes
Form 1098-E Student Loan Interest Statement
Form 1098-T Tuition Statement
Form 1099-A Acquisition or Abandonment of Secured Property
Form 1099-B Proceeds from Broker Transactions
Form 1099-C Cancellation of Debt
Form 1099-DIV Dividends and Distributions
Form 1099-G Certain Government Payments
Form 1099-INT Interest Income
Form 1099-K Payment Card and Third Party Network Transactions
Form 1099-MISC Miscellaneous Income
Form 1099-OID Original Issue Discount
Form 1099-Q Payments From Qualified Education Programs
Form 1099-R Distributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement, etc.
Form 1099-SA Distributions from an HSA, Archer MSA, or Medicare Advantage MSA
Form 1116/AMT AMT Foreign Tax Credit/Foreign Tax Credit
Form 1310 Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer
Form 2106/EZ Employee Business Exp/EZ Employee Business Expenses Short Form
Form 2120 Multiple Support Declaration
Form 2210-F Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and Fishermen
Form 2210/2210AI Underpayment of Tax/Annualized Income
Form 2439 Notice to Shareholder of Undistributed Long-Term Capital Gains
Form 2441 Child and Dependent Care Expenses
Form 2555 Foreign Earned Income
Form 3115 Application for Change in Accounting Method
Form 3468 Investment Credit
Form 3800 General Business Credit
Form 3903 Moving Expenses
Form 4136 Credit for Federal Tax Paid on Fuels
Form 4137 Tax on Unreported Tip Income
Form 4255 Recapture of Investment Credit
Form 4506 Request for Copy of Tax Form
Form 4562 Depreciation and Amortization
Form 4684 Casualties and Theft
Form 4797 Sales of Business Property
Form 4835 Farm Rental Income and Expenses
Form 4852 Substitute for Form W-2 or 1099-R
Form 4868 Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File
Form 4952/AMT AMT Investment Interest Expense Deduction/Investment Interest Expense Deduction
Form 4972 Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions
Form 5329 Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (including IRAs)
Form 5405 First-Time Homebuyer Credit and Repayment of the Credit
Form 5695 Residential Energy Credits
Form 6198 At-Risk Limitations
Form 6251 Alternative Minimum Tax
Form 6252 Installment Sale Income
Form 6781 Gains/Losses from Section 1256 Contracts and Straddles
Form 8283 Non-cash Charitable Contributions
Form 8332 Release of Claim to Exemption for Child of Divorced of Separated Parents
Form 8379 Injured Spouse Allocation
Form 8396 Mortgage Interest Credit
Form 8453 U.S. Individual Income Tax Transmittal for an IRS E-File Return
Form 8582/AMT/CR Passive Activity Loss Limitations/AMT/Credit Limitations
Form 8586 Low-Income Housing Credit
Form 8606 Nondeductible IRAs
Form 8615 Tax for Certain Children who have Unearned Income
Form 8801 Credit for Prior Year Minimum Tax
Form 8814 Parents' Election To Report Child's Interest and Dividends
Form 8815 Exclusion of Interest from Series EE and I U.S. Savings Bonds
Form 8822 Change of Address
Form 8824 Like-Kind Exchange
Form 8829 Expenses for Business Use of Your Home
Form 8834 Qualified Electric Vehicle Credit
Form 8839 Qualified Adoption Expenses
Form 8853 Archer MSAs and Long-Term Care Insurance Contracts
Form 8857 Request for Innocent Spouse Relief
Form 8859 Carryforward of D.C. First-Time Homebuyer Credit
Form 8862 Information to Claim Earned Income Credit After Disallowance
Form 8863 Education Credits
Form 8880 Credit for Qualified Retirement Savings Contributions
Form 8881 Credit for Small Employer Pension Plan Startup Costs
Form 8885 Health Coverage Tax Credit
Form 8888 Direct Deposit of Refund
Form 8889 Health Savings Account
Form 8903 Domestic Production Activities Deduction
Form 8910 Alternative Motor Vehicle Credit
Form 8911 Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit
Form 8917 Tuition and Fees Deduction
Form 8919 Uncollected Social Security and Medicare Tax on Wages
Form 8936 Qualified Plug-in Electric Drive Motor Vehicle Credit
Form 8938 Statement of Specified Foreign Financial Assets
Form 8941 Credit for Small Employer Health Insurance Premiums
Form 8949 Sales and Other Dispositions of Capital Assets
Form 8958 Allocation of Community Property Amounts
Form 8959 Additional Medicare Tax
Form 8960 Net Investment Income Tax
Form 8962 Premium Tax Credit
Form 8965 Health Coverage Exemptions
Form 9465 Installment Agreement Request
Form 14039 Identity Theft Affidavit
Form SS-4 Application for Employer Identification Number
Form W-2 Wages and Tax Statement
Form W-2G Certain Gambling Winnings
Form W-4 Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate
Schedule 8812 Child Tax Credit
Schedule F Profit or Loss from Farming
Schedule H Household Employment Taxes
Schedule J Income Averaging for Farmers and Fishermen
Schedule R Credit for Elderly or Disabled
Schedules K-1 (Form 1041) Estates and Trusts
Schedules K-1 (Form 1065) Partner's Share of Income, Credits, Deductions
Schedules K-1 (Form 1120S) Shareholder's Share of Income, Credits, etc
Don't see the form you're looking for?
Change the filter above to view forms for different products.

Compare TurboTax Basic CD/Download to our other products
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.